Gentler ways of living

Haus im Spiegel

Along with nutrition, living has the greatest impact on the environment. Thus consumers can have a major influence on their personal environmental impact by being aware about their living habits.

The choice of a location for your home is the first important decision. People who opt to live in apartments or houses in a city, do not usually consume additional productive land. The distances they have to travel to the workplace are usually shorter and the journeys can be made using public transport. The same applies for shopping and leisure activities. In contrast, if people require more space and the distances they travel– possibly also by car – are longer, living in green areas does not always equate with being ‘green’.

The choice of an apartment or house is the second most important decision. A large part of the Swiss housing stock was constructed in the post-war period. Little attention was paid to energy consumption until the 1980s, and it was only in the 1990s that energy-efficient construction became a conscious objective with the implementation of the Minergie low-energy consumption standard for buildings. The energy requirements of the cantonal building regulations have also been gradually tightened up since then. If you move into a new building, you can generally expect lower energy costs. When moving into older buildings, people can also find out whether windows and doors have been replaced with more energy-efficient versions and whether the façade insulation has been upgraded. Moreover, single-family detached homes usually consume more energy than multiple dwelling units. And people who would like to upgrade their buildings themselves can obtain support from the federal and cantonal authorities, for example under the provisions of the Buildings Programme.

Construction clients can also influence the selection of building materials. In recent years, Swiss wood experience a major boost as a building material. It is Switzerland’s most important renewable raw material, requires very little grey energy, stores CO2 and thus protects the climate. However, numerous other building materials are now also produced in a way that conserves natural resources as much as possible. Construction clients now have a wide choice of resource-conserving products for building and insulation materials, for the materials used in the construction of roofs and façades, and for paints and floor coverings.

People’s space requirements have a considerable influence on their environmental impact. The space required by Swiss people has increased steadily over many decades. However, it has been possible to halt this trend in the towns and cities, and even reverse it in the major cities. Whatever the location, the same principle applies: the more square metres used, the greater the environmental impact. So when children move away from home, for example, parents could consider whether a smaller home would not be sufficient for their needs.

Energy consumption is often defined for decades through the choice of heating system. Oil-powered heating generates huge emissions of the greenhouse gas CO2. For this reason, it is already banned in some countries, for example Denmark. Natural gas heating systems offer a more climate-friendly substitute because they emit less CO2. Fossil fuels can be avoided completely using a heat pump. However, it is usually only possible for house owners and not tenants to select their own heating system.

People can now reduce their footprints through their choice of energy supplier. Energy companies now supply electricity from renewable sources, in most cases for a small premium on top of the standard price. House owners can install solar systems on their roofs. Some communal energy companies also offer tenants the option of participating in the use of solar-powered systems.

When it comes to energy, in particular, residents have a major influence on consumption. This starts with the purchase of household appliances and electronic devices. The fridge, washing machine and dishwasher account for 43 percent of the electricity consumption of the average household. Lighting consumes a further 14 percent – the use of LED bulbs also has an impact on electricity consumption – and  consumer electronics and computers consume a further 10 percent. Hence it is worth taking a look at the energy labels on such appliances and devices.

A little more thought when it comes to individual behaviour can achieve a lot. The yoghurt in the fridge does not have to be cooled down to zero degrees. The washing machine and dishwasher do not have to be run when half empty. The television can be switched off when nobody is watching it. All appliances and devices do not have to be on ‘stand by’ and all lights to not have to be on at all time. Networked solutions now exist with which can be used to control some or all of the household electrical systems and devices.

The greatest impact can be achieved with heating. There is no need to heat your home to a temperature of 24 degrees Celsius in winter. If you life in a ‘Minergie’ building, you can rely on the automatic ventilation system. Otherwise; short strong blasts of fresh air are better than leaving windows open or tilted for longer periods of time. Hot water consumption is also in the hands of residents: in general, if you are more aware about the way you live, you can limit your environmental consumption without diminishing your quality of life and living conditions.

Last modification 13.08.2015

Top of page

Links:

Minergie: Website of the association (German/French/Italian)
Sustainable Construction Network Switzerland (NNBS):
Website of the association (German/French)
bauenschweiz: Website of the organization Dachorganisation der Schweizer Bauwirtschaft (German/French)
Implenia: Website (German/French)
Losinger Marazzi:
Website  (German/French)
FOEN:
Indicator Buildings meeting the Minergie-P® standard
FOEN:
Burgunder in Bümpliz (BE): Die autofreie Siedlung (German/French/Italian)
FOEN: Kalkbreite in der Stadt Zürich: Die 2000-Watt-Siedlung
ETH:
House of Natural Resources
FOEN:
Storymap: Swiss wood in buildings and objects
schweizerholz.ch:
Website (under construction)
Magazin Umwelt (FOEN):
Schöner wohnen mit Biodiversität (German/French/Italian)
FOEN:
Klimaschonendes Bauen: Auch die grauen Emissionen zählen (German/French/Italian)

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Warum_Gruene_Wirtschaft/ressourcenverbrauch-beeinflussen-als-konsument/sanfter-wohnen.html

Réussir la mutation verte du logement

Haus im Spiegel

Le logement a l’impact le plus important sur l’environnement après l’alimentation. On peut donc agir efficacement sur son empreinte écologique personnelle en prêtant attention à son logement et à ses habitudes de vie.

Le choix de l’emplacement est la première décision importante. Si l’on opte pour un appartement ou une maison de ville, on n’empiète généralement pas sur les surfaces cultivées. Le trajet pour aller au travail est normalement plus court et il est facile de prendre les transports publics. Il en va de même pour les achats et les loisirs. Se mettre au vert n’est pas nécessairement écologique si l’on occupe un espace plus grand et si le trajet pour aller au travail augmente et, en plus, doit être fait en voiture.

Le choix du logement est la deuxième décision importante. Une grande partie du parc immobilier suisse a été construit après la deuxième guerre mondiale. Jusque dans les années 1980, la consommation d’énergie était absente des réflexions. Il a fallu attendre les années 1990 pour que l’efficacité énergétique fasse son apparition dans la construction, par exemple avec les bâtiments Minergie. Les prescriptions cantonales dans ce domaine sont d’ailleurs devenues progressivement plus strictes. Lorsque l’on emménage dans un bâtiment neuf, on peut donc normalement tabler sur des coûts énergétiques faibles. Mais si l’on opte pour un bâtiment ancien, on peut vérifier si les fenêtres et les portes ont été assainies et si une isolation extérieure a été rajoutée sur les façades. À noter que les maisons individuelles sont généralement plus gourmandes en énergie que les appartements. Et si vous voulez assainir vous-mêmes votre logement, vous pouvez bénéficier du soutien de la Confédération et des cantons, par exemple dans le cadre du programme Bâtiments.

Les maîtres d’ouvrage peuvent agir sur le choix des matériaux. Le bois suisse, par exemple, suscite un fort engouement comme matériau de construction depuis plusieurs années. Il s’agit de la plus importante matière première renouvelable de Suisse : elle consomme peu d’énergie grise, stocke du CO2 et a ainsi un effet bénéfique sur le climat. Mais un grand nombre d’autres matériaux sont désormais fabriqués de façon à préserver au maximum les ressources naturelles. Aujourd’hui, les maîtres d’ouvrage ont un large choix de matériaux de construction et d’isolation, de produits pour les toits et les façades, de peintures et de revêtements de sol respectueux des ressources.

L’espace occupé a un impact considérable sur la charge écologique. Cela fait des décennies que l’espace d’habitation des Suisses ne cesse d’augmenter. Cette tendance a cependant pu être stoppée en grande partie dans les villes, voire inversée dans les grandes villes. Il n’en reste pas moins que plus on occupe d’espace, plus l’impact environnemental est important. Une fois les enfants partis, les parents peuvent se demander si un logement plus petit ne serait pas suffisant.

Le choix du chauffage conditionne souvent la consommation d’énergie pour les dizaines d’années à venir. Le chauffage au mazout émet de grandes quantités de CO2, un gaz à effet de serre. Il est d’ailleurs déjà interdit dans certains pays, comme le Danemark. Le chauffage au gaz naturel est une solution de rechange moins nocive pour le climat parce qu’émettant moins de CO2. Une pompe à chaleur permet même de se passer totalement de combustibles fossiles. Mais le choix du système de chauffage est en général laissé à la seule appréciation des propriétaires.

On peut aussi réduire son empreinte écologique en choisissant bien son électricité. Les entreprises d’électricité proposent du courant issu de sources renouvelables, en général moyennant un supplément modeste par rapport au prix standard. Les propriétaires de maison individuelle peuvent installer des panneaux solaires. Quelques entreprises communales d’approvisionnement énergétique proposent aussi aux locataires de participer au développement de l’énergie solaire.

Chacun peut agir sur sa consommation d’énergie. Cela commence avec l’achat des appareils ménagers et électroniques. Le réfrigérateur, le lave-linge et le lave-vaisselle engloutissent 43 % de la consommation totale d’électricité d’un ménage moyen. L’éclairage en absorbe 14 %, ce qui montre bien l’impact que peut avoir l’utilisation de lampes LED sur la consommation. L’électronique de loisir et les ordinateurs, enfin, représentent 10 % de la consommation totale. Cela vaut la peine de lire les étiquettes-énergie !

Un comportement un peu plus attentif peut changer beaucoup de choses. Il est inutile de conserver les yoghourts à 0° au réfrigérateur. On peut attendre que le lave-vaisselle et le lave-linge soient pleins pour les mettre en route. À quoi bon laisser le téléviseur allumé lorsque personne n’est dans la pièce ? Les appareils électriques n’ont pas tous besoin d’être en veille, ni les lampes électriques allumées en permanence. Il existe à l’heure actuelle de multiples solutions pour gérer une partie voire la totalité des appareils électriques de la maison.

Le chauffage reste le poste principal de réduction de l’impact environnemental. Pas besoin de chauffer son logement à 24 °C en plein hiver. Dans un bâtiment Minergie, on peut se reposer sur la ventilation automatique ; dans les autres cas, mieux vaut aérer en grand rapidement plutôt que de laisser les fenêtres entrouvertes pendant longtemps. C’est également nous qui maîtrisons notre consommation d’eau chaude. En résumé : en faisant un peu attention, on peut réduire son impact sur l’environnement sans perdre en qualité de vie ni en confort d’habitation.

Dernière modification 11.08.2015

Début de la page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Warum_Gruene_Wirtschaft/ressourcenverbrauch-beeinflussen-als-konsument/sanfter-wohnen.html