Public and private transport must join forces

© Mobility Genossenschaft

Nowhere is comfort and convenience a greater obstacle to environmentally-friendly behaviour than in the area of mobility. However, shared mobility concepts promise both convenience and greater sustainability. They can make a particularly big difference when they incorporate clever interfaces with public transport.

Yvonne von Hunnius, 24.2.2016

In 2014 alone, the Swiss population spent a total duration of over two years sitting in traffic on national roads, that is roads operated by the federal authorities. Traffic tailbacks are not just a source of stress and inconvenience: the environmental impacts they generate are enormous. Transport consumes more energy than all households or industry, and over 95 percent of its energy requirements are met using oil-based products. As a result, with its share of around 40 percent of emissions, no other sector emits more greenhouse gases in Switzerland than transport. Hence the aim is to make mobility more environmentally friendly with the help of alternative models.

Digitisation as a driver of change“

If any country in Europe can succeed in making the transition to green mobility, it’s Switzerland,” says Jörg Beckmann. He is the Director of the Mobility Academy, a think-tank for mobility established by Switzerland’s mobility organisation Touring Club Schweiz (TCS). Beckmann is optimistic because Switzerland is environmentally aware and affluent, and would be able to build on its highly developed public and private transport systems. “Nonetheless, it is still a major challenge as we are facing a huge transformation,” says Beckmann. One of the key tracks here is deprivatisation, which more or less involves the replacement of car ownership with shared car use. Yes, the private car is losing importance as the backbone of mobility and digitisation is providing a strong impetus for this trend. “This is in tune with the values of the young urban generation,” says Beckmann. The “digital natives” think in flat-rate terms: there is no need for a ‘mine’ when ‘yours’ is just a click of an app and a user fee away.

Sharing models can reduce the pressure on the environment

The Achilles heel here is that these models must promise greater efficiency and must not involve any disadvantages for the environment. The risk involved here is clearly demonstrated by the rebound effect: If something is more efficient, will it be used more often? Does the success of Switzerland’s shared mobility generate a greater environmental impact than it alleviates? Every sixtieth Swiss inhabitant is now a customer of the Mobility car-sharing cooperative – an international record. The company provides 2,700 cars for over 120,000 customers in 1,400 locations. However, a study showed that in 2014, all of the users together saved on 8.8 million litres of petrol and around 20,500 tonnes of CO2 emissions. Daniel Matti, one of the co-authors of the study, explains the precise factors that influenced this result in a separate interview. Mobility is currently running a pilot project in Basel involving the provision of 120 shared cars outside of permanent stations. Mobility press officer Patrick Eigenmann says: “We are currently analysing the environmental impacts. It is clear that the more people use these cars, the better as many car sharers are not car owners.” 

© Mobility Genossenschaft

Another shared mobility model targets the usage rate of the private vehicle fleet. For example, private individuals can rent out their cars through the Sharoo platform when they are not using them. Sharoo CEO Carmen Spielmann explains: “Cars stand around unused 23 out of 24 hours per day. At the same time, 45 percent of urban Swiss households no longer have their own car.” Sharoo has attracted 850 cars and 23,000 users since May 2014. According to Spielmann, these vehicles also include almost 100 electric cars and several Tesla e-limousines can be booked using the platform.

© Sharoo

Cities in the mobility spotlight

The Swiss are discovering their penchant for sharing. A current study by Deloitte predicts a rosy future for the so-called sharing economy: 55 percent of those surveyed in Switzerland stated that they planned to use shared mobility platforms in the near future – ten percent more than in the USA. This has not escaped the attention of start-ups in the sector like ParkU, a portal that enables the rental of private parking spaces – 2,400 such spaces are now on offer in Switzerland and the number of registrations is growing by 30 percent per year. If studies are to be believed which indicate that the search for parking accounts for 30 percent of urban traffic, this service could also alleviate the environmental impacts of transport. However, it is also conceivable that the elimination of this source of stress in motoring will make driving in cities more attractive again. The subletting of parking spaces intended for private use also remains a legal grey area in many places.

© ParkU

Cities like Zurich are keeping a sharp eye on the development of shared mobility and the possible rebound effects. They want to reduce the number of cars on the road and are focusing their attention on the modal split, the term used to describe the way in which transport usage is spread across private motor vehicles, public transport and non-motorised transport. Zurich’s public transport system alone is expected to have to convey 30 percent more people in 2020. Shared mobility services can complement public transport in fulfilling this mammoth task, particularly at off-peak times. Moreover, as Stefan Hackh, Director of Communications at the City of Zurich civil engineering authority notes: “It has been demonstrated that Mobility carsharing reduces the distances travelled using private transport and boosts those travelled using public transport.” Zurich is also focusing strongly on bicycles: it is intended to expand the city’s public bike rental system from the current 300 bikes to 1,500.

SBB wants more connections

The example of Zurich clearly demonstrates how crucial the interconnection of services is. The Swiss Federal Railways, SBB, is the lynchpin here. The SBB is already cooperating with Mobility to ensure that carsharing vehicles are available at railway stations and the PubliBike bike-sharing service provides over 1,000 bikes. However, the full potential of this combining of services has not yet been exhausted according to SBB media officer Michelle Rothen. She says: “A new way of thinking is needed that understands mobility as a dynamic and interconnected system. More cooperative ventures are an indispensable component of the future mobility system.”

© PubliBike

 A platform that provides customers with information about transport interfaces and on which they can book connecting services is equally indispensable. The app provided by Daimler’s subsidiary Moovel aims to provide such a service in Germany. In Switzerland, the SBB is currently developing a door-to-door journey planner which combines public transport and shared mobility services. A prototype is due to be available for market testing in the second half of 2016. An environmental calculator will also be integrated into this tool. It already calculates the CO2 emissions, energy consumption and travel time compared to other modes of transport in the SBB timetable information service.

Car 2.0 – made in Winterthur

Researchers from the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) firmly believe that the bicycle is the most efficient means of transport. To compensate for its disadvantages in relation to comfort and convenience, they combined the bicycle with the advantages of an electric car and created a new mobility solution called the Bicar. The Bicar weighs just 70 kilograms and is many times more efficient than a regular car as a result. The plan is to combine shared Bicars with public transport and make them available at railway stations, for example. Thomas Sauter-Servaes, Director of the ZHAW course in transport systems says: “With the Bicar we incorporate the sharing trend, reduce energy consumption and emissions, improve area efficiency, and offer safe and pleasurable driving over short distances.” According to Sauter-Servaes, 50 percent of urban car journeys involve distances of up to five kilometres – thanks to the Bicar, you can leave your car at home. Moreover, public transport services on peripheral routes run far below capacity – with clever interface management, the Bicar could boost public transport. The scientists succeeded in enrolling the city of Winterthur for a field test with 20 Bicars. However, partners with substantial capital resources are still needed to advance the project to market readiness.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 11.03.2016

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Oeffentlicher-und-privater-Verkehr-muessen-zusammenwachsen.html

Il faut conjuguer transports publics et transports privés

© Mobility Genossenschaft

En matière de mobilité plus que dans tout autre domaine, la commodité prime souvent sur le comportement écoresponsable. Les solutions d’autopartage allient pourtant confort et respect de l’environnement. C’est leur interconnexion avec les transports publics qui fera toute la différence.

Par Yvonne von Hunnius, 24.2.2016

Rien qu’en 2014, les Suisses ont passé l’équivalent de plus de deux années dans des embouteillages sur les routes nationales du pays. Les bouchons ne mettent pas seulement à rude épreuve les nerfs des automobilistes, ils nuisent aussi grandement à l’environnement. Le secteur des transports consomme davantage d’énergie que l’ensemble des ménages ou que l’industrie, et tire plus de 95 % de sa consommation des produits pétroliers. Il est à lui seul responsable de près de 40 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre en Suisse. Mais de nouveaux modèles apparaissent, qui promettent une mobilité plus respectueuse de l’environnement.

La révolution numérique comme moteur du changement

« Si un pays européen est capable de réussir la transition énergétique dans le domaine des transports, c’est la Suisse », affirme Jörg Beckmann, directeur de l’Académie de la mobilité, un laboratoire d’idées fondé par le Touring Club Suisse (TCS). Jörg Beckmann se dit optimiste, la Suisse étant selon lui un pays écoresponsable et prospère, pouvant s’appuyer sur un réseau exemplaire de transports, tant collectifs qu’individuels. « Le défi à relever est néanmoins de taille, car il s’agit d’une transformation en profondeur », poursuit-il. L’un des principaux leviers de cette transformation est la priorité donnée à l’usage sur la propriété. Dans le domaine de la mobilité, cela signifie que l’utilisation partagée d’une voiture prend le pas sur la possession d’un véhicule individuel. Une tendance amplifiée par la révolution numérique. « Elle fait écho aux valeurs des jeunes urbains », explique Jörg Beckmann. Les natifs de l’ère numérique pensent en termes de « forfaits » : ils renoncent facilement à posséder eux-mêmes s’il suffit de quelques clics dans une application pour utiliser la propriété d’autrui.

Des modèles de partage bons pour l’environnement

La difficulté consiste à proposer des modèles plus efficaces sans que l’environnement n’en fasse les frais. L’effet rebond illustre bien ce risque : dès qu’un produit ou service devient plus efficace, il est davantage utilisé. Le succès de la société suisse Mobility, pionnière de l’autopartage, ferait-il donc plus de mal que de bien à l’environnement ? Une personne sur 60 en Suisse est déjà enregistrée chez Mobility – un record mondial. Sur 1400 sites, la société met 2700 véhicules à la disposition de plus de 120 000 clients. Une étude a d'ailleurs révélé qu’en 2014, le recours à ce service a permis d'économiser 8,8 millions de litres de carburants et de réduire de 20 500 tonnes les émissions de CO2. Daniel Matti, co-auteur de cette étude, explique dans une interview comment ils sont arrivés à ce résultat. À l’heure actuelle, Mobility mène à Bâle un projet pilote impliquant 120 voitures en libre service non liées à une station fixe. Patrick Eigenmann, porte-parole de Mobility : « Nous sommes en train d’analyser l’impact du projet sur l’environnement. Mais une chose est sûre, plus les utilisateurs de ce service sont nombreux, mieux c’est, car beaucoup d’entre eux renoncent à posséder leur propre voiture. » 

© Mobility Genossenschaft

Un autre modèle de partage s’intéresse au potentiel du parc de voitures privées. La plateforme Sharoo permet ainsi à des particuliers de louer leur véhicule lorsqu’ils ne s’en servent pas. Carmen Spielmann, CEO de Sharoo, en décrit le principe : « D’un côté, la plupart des voitures sont inutilisées 23 heures sur 24. De l’autre, 45 % des ménages urbains de Suisse ne possèdent plus de voiture. » Lancé en mai 2014, Sharoo comptabilise déjà 850 automobiles et 23 000 utilisateurs. Selon Carmen Spielmann, la flotte compterait même une centaine de voitures électriques, dont plusieurs berlines de la marque Tesla.

© Sharoo

Les villes en première ligne

Les Suisses découvrent le goût du partage. Une récente étude Deloitte prédit ainsi à l’économie collaborative un avenir radieux : 55 % des personnes interrogées en Suisse déclarent qu’elles auront recours dans un avenir proche à une plateforme d’économie du partage – c’est 10 % de plus qu’aux Etats-Unis. Des start-up du secteur de la mobilité, comme ParkU, ont anticipé les changements. Ce portail, qui permet de sous-louer des places de parking privées, propose déjà 2400 emplacements en Suisse, et le nombre d’inscrits progresse de 30 % par an. Un tel service est susceptible de préserver l’environnement si l’on en croit des études attribuant 30 % du trafic urbain à la recherche d’une place de stationnement. Mais en réduisant le stress lié à cette recherche, il pourrait aussi faire renaître l’attrait pour la voiture en ville. De plus, un certain flou juridique entoure encore en maints endroits la sous-location de places de stationnement destinées à un usage personnel.

© ParkU

Des villes comme Zurich scrutent avec attention le développement de telles offres et leurs effets rebond éventuels. Désireuses de réduire le nombre de voitures, elles surveillent de près la répartition modale, c’est-à-dire les parts respectives des transports motorisés individuels, des transports publics et de la mobilité douce. En 2020, les transports publics zurichois compteront probablement 30 % d’usagers de plus qu’aujourd’hui - un défi monumental. Les offres de partage pourraient venir compléter les transports publics aux heures creuses, ou jouer un rôle encore plus important, comme le croit le responsable de la communication des ponts et chaussées de la ville de Zurich, Stefan Hackh : « Il est avéré que le recours à Mobility limite les trajets individuels et favorise l’usage des transports en commun. » Zurich mise par ailleurs également sur le vélo : le système officiel de prêt en libre service comptera 1500 vélos à l’avenir contre 300 aujourd’hui.

Les CFF veulent accentuer la mise en réseau

L’exemple de Zurich montre l’importance de l’interconnexion des offres. En la matière, les CFF constituent en Suisse le pivot central. Aujourd’hui déjà, ils coopèrent avec Mobility pour proposer la location de voitures en libre service dans les gares. Le système PubliBike propose quant à lui plus de mille vélos. Mais le potentiel n’est pas encore épuisé, d’après la porte-parole des CFF Michelle Rothen : « Les mentalités doivent évoluer afin que la mobilité soit envisagée comme un système global dynamique et interconnecté. La mobilité de demain passera nécessairement par le développement d’autres coopérations. »

© PubliBike

Tout aussi indispensable semble la mise en place d’une plateforme permettant d’obtenir des informations sur toutes les interconnexions, voire de réserver directement les différents services. En Allemagne, l’application de la société Moovel, filiale de Daimler, s’y emploie. En Suisse, les CFF sont en train de développer un planificateur de voyage multimodal de porte à porte. Le prototype sera testé sur le marché au second semestre 2016. Il intégrera également un éco-comparateur. En attendant, le calculateur d’itinéraire actuel des CFF permet déjà de déterminer les émissions de CO2, la consommation d’énergie et la durée de voyage pour différents moyens de transport.

Automobile 2.0 made in Winterthour

Les chercheurs de la Haute École des Sciences appliquées de Zurich (ZHAW) en sont convaincus : le moyen de transport le plus efficace est le vélo. Afin de palier ses inconvénients en matière de confort, ils lui ont adjoint certains atouts de la voiture électrique pour créer une nouvelle solution de mobilité, le Bicar. Son poids de 70 kg le rend nettement plus efficace qu’une voiture ordinaire. L’objectif est de combiner les transports publics et les Bicars en libre service en proposant ces derniers dans les gares. Le directeur de la filière Systèmes de transports de la ZHAW, Thomas Sauter-Servaes, l’assure : « Le Bicar s’inscrit dans la tendance du partage, réduit la consommation d’énergie et les émissions, optimise l’utilisation de l’espace et offre un plaisir de conduite sécurisé sur de courtes distances. » Toujours selon Thomas Sauter-Servaes, 50 % des trajets automobiles en ville sont effectués sur une distance inférieure ou égale à cinq kilomètres – trajets pour lesquels le Bicar remplacerait avantageusement la voiture. Certaines lignes secondaires de transports publics pourraient également améliorer leur taux de remplissage grâce à une implantation ciblée de stations de Bicars. Un test grandeur nature impliquant vingt Bicars doit être réalisé en partenariat avec la ville de Winterthour. La ZHAW est encore à la recherche d’investisseurs pour commercialiser son invention.

Commentaires

*
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Ne sera pas publiée.

Accéder à la nétiquette et les principes rédactionnels. Vos données seront enregistrées pendant 60 jours sur le serveur de l’Administration fédérale pour que nous puissions traiter votre commentaire.

Dernière modification 11.03.2016

Début de la page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Oeffentlicher-und-privater-Verkehr-muessen-zusammenwachsen.html