Sustainable investment in the ascendant

Six Boerse

Switzerland is among the world’s most important financial centres. Its pioneers identified the trend for sustainable investments at an early stage and launched the first important products of this nature. The widespread impact that was hoped for has yet to materialise, however. Thanks to current initiatives, this could be set to change.

By Yvonne von Hunnius, 25.08.2015

People who invest money put it to work for them. But where exactly does it work? If an investment contributes to greater resource efficiency or fairness in the economy, it pays a double dividend. Thus the concept of sustainable investment is simple and appealing. It ultimately promises both financial and idealistic yields in the ecological or social sense. And according to Sabine Döbeli, Head of Corporate Sustainability Management at the Vontobel private bank: “Studies show that there are no financial losses in terms of the return on investment with classical sustainable investments.” Both private and institutional customers benefit from it. Ecological structural change needs capital and the Swiss financial centre is looking for a new profile. In this post-financial-crisis period, loud and clear calls are being made for the financial market to see itself as a service-provider for the real economy. Many experts have already identified sustainable investment as a potential key focus of activity for the Swiss financial centre – particularly as it is a precondition and cornerstone of the transformation to a green economy. However, the corresponding investment volume remains at a very low level.

Cautious Swiss actors
In late 2014, sustainable funds, mandates and structured products in Switzerland totalled CHF 71.3 billion – which represents around four percent of the total market. The growth rates are optimistic: from 2013 to 2014 the sustainable investment market in Switzerland grew by 26 percent. However, this does not conceal the fact that the steps being taken by financial world around Geneva and Zurich are hesitant. Financial advisors, in particular, often baulk at the complexity of the criteria associated with sustainable investment and criticise them as difficult to convey to customers. Switzerland is not the only place where such an image is emerging: although other leading financial sectors like Wall Street and London are getting involved, they are not weighing in with a particularly heavy commitment.

Switzerland could assume a leading role
This could be set to change in Switzerland. “Our financial centre is predestined to assume a leading role in sustainable finance – hardly any new state incentives or regulations would be needed for this,” Sabine Döbeli. As CEO of the network Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF), which was founded in 2014, she has succeeded in attracting the support of major sector players like UBS and Credit Suisse as well as niche actors. Her credo: financial expertise in Switzerland exists alongside environmental know-how and responsible entrepreneurship.

Doebeli

Sabine Döbeli, Head of Corporate Sustainability Management at Vontobel Private Banking, CEO of the network Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF) which was established in 2014.

Moreover, the SSF is also participating with representatives of the financial market, research and the federal authorities in an international study on a sustaianble financial system organised by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). In the context of this study, under the lead of the FOEN, examples of best practice and pioneering Swiss financial products are being introduced to the international debate on a more sustainable global financial market.

Financial pioneers with a spirit of innovation
Financial actors in Switzerland had already displayed a green innovative spirit at an early stage. The first family of global sustainable indices, the Dow Jones Sustainability Indices, originated in Switzerland in 1999. Investment specialist RobecoSAM evaluates the sustainability practices of some of the world’s biggest companies for these indices. Switzerland has also established itself as the world’s leading microfinance centre with asset managers like responsAbility, Symbiotics, BlueOrchard and Bamboo Finance. The Zurich-based experts from responsibility expect the global microfinance market to grow by 20 percent in the current year. Another example is the first eco-efficiency fund Oeko Sar, which was launched by the Sarasin bank in 1994. A crucial factor here was the shift in perspective from thematic to intersectoral pooling.

A lot is also happening at the moment: the UBS manages an energy infrastructure fund which is linked with the objectives of the Energy Strategy 2050. The aim is to motivate investors to invest in the energy transition. The Zurich company Susi Partners has launched an Energy Efficiency Fund (EEF) for institutional investors: the fund capital migrates to the energy retrofitting of buildings and a percentage of the cost savings is returned over the years. This approach cleverly incorporates the long-term perspective.

Climate mathematics provide new impetus
Product innovations are essential. But what pleases sustainable finance expert Sabine Döbeli almost more is the trend for a more wide-ranging impact: “I can see that sustainability factors with fixed processes are being increasingly incorporated into regular portfolio management. Various banks are in the process of integrating sustainability factors into their financial analyses. A defined process for this has existed at Vontobel for four years and banks like J. Safra Sarasin and the Zürcher Kantonalbank are also making efforts in this direction,” she reports. In this way, standards relating to environmental and social issues as well as management issues are inceasingly becoming part of business processes. This represents an important step towards a sustainable financial system.

The fact that climate is becoming a megatrend, not least for institutional investors, is providing further impetus for these positive developments. This was demonstrated by the decision of the international insurance concern Axa Group in late May 2015 to sell its interests in coal companies, which were valued at CHF 500 million. This makes Axa the first global financial institution to become part of the so-called divestment movement. The company is ‘de-investing’ to divert capital into alternative energies. The precondition for this climate-friendly investment behaviour is the successful establishment of greater transparency in relation to greenhouse gas emissions which are associated with the investments and shareholdings.

Sustainable investments and their rules

With sustainable investments, criteria like social, ecological and ethical sustainability factors also apply in addition to the classical yardsticks of profitability, liquidity and security. The following methods are the main ones that can be identified in the design of sustainable investments:

  1. Integration: sustainable selection criteria are integrated here into the general portfolio management of investments through fixed processes.
  2. Best-in-class: providers integrate a sector’s top companies into their portfolios.
  3. Norm-based screening: providers ensure that companies do not contravene any international norms through the application of selective principles. For example, they exclude companies involved in the manufacture, storage and supply of controversial weapons.
  4. Topicality: products are developed that focus on a particular topic.
  5. Principles of impact investing: with products in this category, greater attention is usually paid with intention to the divers social aims of an investment than the financial ones.

UN facilitates global debate

As part of its long-term commitment to sustainable finance, in early 2014 the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) initiated an international study on the topic. It involves soliciting the views of societal actors and the design and development of a sustainable financial system. A number of countries including Switzerland are participating voluntarily in this “UNEP Inquiry into the Design of a Sustainable Financial System” and are initiating a debate on the topic: they gather experience, good examples and ideas in relation to the finance system and its relationship with current ecological, social and societal challenges. The aim is to identify the major obstacles that the financial system can pose for a green economy – the plan is to derive recommendations for the future from this information. The UNEP Inquiry is based in Geneva. Switzerland is represented on its Advisory Council by the Director of the FOEN Bruno Oberle. Under the lead of the FOEN, the Swiss team for the inquiry published an initial report in May and debated it at a symposium in Bern. Based on this, the Swiss team is now developing concrete recommendations for financial market actors and the federal authorities.

Financial market reform in Switzerland

The aim of the work currently being carried out on financial market reform is to establish greater transparency for customers. In particular, the new Financial Services Act (Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz, FIDLEG) and Financial Institutes Act (Finanzinstitutsgesetz, FINIG) aim, inter alia, to improve investor protection in accordance with international standards. Hence the FIDLEG deals with the conditions, under which financial services are provided and offered. Customers should be provided with as much information as possible so that they can make well-founded investment decisions; financial advisors shall be obliged to complete mandatory education and training. The draft legislation was submitted for consultation in autumn 2014. No binding requirements were formulated with regard to the level at which information should be provided on environmental and social criteria. In this regard, the Federal Council refers, in particular, to the voluntary undertakings of the financial institutions. The final version of the legislation is expected to enter into force from 2017.

Comments

28.05.2016
Hugues Mottard, Genève

Forest Finance Suisse est membre de Swiss Sustainable Finance et de Geneva Sustainable Finance. Nos rendements dépassent les 7% par année depuis plus de 20 ans.   

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 04.07.2016

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Nachhaltige-Anlage-im-Aufwind.html

Les investissements durables ont le vent en poupe

Six Boerse

La Suisse fait partie des principales places financières mondiales. Certains de ses acteurs, dotés d'un esprit pionnier, ont été parmi les premiers à percevoir l’intérêt pour les placements durables et à développer des instruments ad hoc. Cette tendance peine toutefois à se généraliser. De nouvelles initiatives pourraient changer la donne.

Par Yvonne von Hunnius, 25.08.2015

Quand on place de l’argent, on dit qu’on le fait travailler. Mais à quoi travaille-t-il exactement ? Les investissements qui contribuent à améliorer l’efficacité de l’utilisation des ressources ou l’équité dans l’économie sont doublement payants. Le concept de placement durable est aussi simple que séduisant : il promet un rendement financier, mais il fait aussi fructifier des valeurs écologiques et sociales. Et les deux sont compatibles, affirme Sabine Döbeli, responsable du développement durable à la Banque Vontobel : « Des études montrent que les rendements des placements durables classiques ne sont pas moins bons. » Ils sont accessibles aux clients privés comme aux investisseurs institutionnels. En effet, la mutation verte de l’économie a besoin de capitaux et la place financière suisse veut se réorienter. En ces lendemains de crise financière, des voix s’élèvent pour demander que les marchés financiers se recentrent sur les services à l’économie réelle. Cela fait des années que beaucoup d’experts des placements durables voient dans cette spécialité une possibilité de reconversion pour la place financière suisse, d’autant qu’elle est à la fois la condition et le fondement indispensable pour avancer sur la voie d’une économie verte. Mais le volume des investissements durables reste très faible.

Des acteurs suisses prudents
À la fin de 2014, le volume total des fonds, mandats et produits structurés durables s’élevait à 71,3 milliards de francs en Suisse, soit environ 4 % du total du marché. La croissance du marché des placements durables a toutefois de quoi susciter l’optimisme puisqu’il a progressé de 26 % en Suisse entre 2013 et 2014. Mais il ne faut pas que l’arbre cache la forêt : le monde des finances à Genève et Zurich ne se risque qu’à petits pas dans cette voie. Les conseillers financiers, pour commencer, sont souvent réticents face à la complexité des critères appliqués, qu’ils trouvent difficiles à expliquer aux clients. Et la situation n’est pas très différente ailleurs : d’autres places financières classées dans le top mondial, comme Wall Street ou la City, se sont également engagées dans la voie de la durabilité, mais avec une certaine retenue.

La Suisse pourrait montrer la voie

En Suisse, les choses pourraient changer. « Notre place financière est prédestinée à jouer un rôle de leader dans les finances durables, une ambition qui pourrait se concrétiser sans qu’il y ait besoin de beaucoup d’incitations ou de réglementations de la part des pouvoirs publics », avance Sabine Döbeli. En sa qualité de directrice du réseau Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF), créé en 2014, elle est parvenue à rallier à cette vision à la fois de grosses pointures comme UBS et Credit Suisse et des acteurs de niche. Son credo : la Suisse est un lieu de convergence entre l’expertise financière, le savoir-faire en matière d’environnement et l’entreprenariat responsable.

Doebeli

Sabine Döbeli, responsable du développement durable à la Banque Vontobel, directrice du réseau Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF) fondé en 2014.

Le réseau SSF participe en outre – avec des représentants des marchés financiers, de la communauté scientifiques et de la Confédération – à une étude internationale sur un système de financement durable conduite par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUE). Emmené par l'OFEV, le groupe suisse participe activement à l'étude en donnant des exemples de bonnes pratiques et en présentant les produits financiers pionniers développés en Suisse.

Des financiers d’avant-garde
Très tôt, les acteurs financiers suisses ont fait preuve d’esprit d’innovation dans le domaine de l’économie verte. C’est en Suisse qu’a été conçue en 1999 la première famille d’indicateurs du développement durable à l’échelle mondiale, les Dow Jones Sustainability Indices. Pour les établir, le spécialiste en investissements RobecoSAM évalue les pratiques en matière de développement durable des plus grandes entreprises mondiales. La Suisse s’est également positionnée comme premier centre mondial de microfinance avec les gestionnaires de fortune responsAbility, Symbiotics, BlueOrchard et Bamboo Finance. Les experts de responsAbility tablent sur une croissance de 20 % du marché mondial de la microfinance cette année. On peut encore mentionner le premier fonds axé sur l’efficacité environnementale, Oekosar, lancé en 1994 par la Banque Sarasin. Toutes ces initiatives partagent une caractéristique essentielle : elles ont abandonné une vision thématique au profit d’une convergence intersectorielle.

Les choses continuent de bouger. UBS gère un fonds spécialisé dans les infrastructures énergétiques en lien avec les objectifs de la Stratégie énergétique 2050, qui a pour but d’encourager les investisseurs à placer des fonds dans le tournant énergétique. La société zurichoise Susi Partners a créé un fonds pour la promotion de l’efficacité énergétique (FEE) destiné aux investisseurs institutionnels : le capital finance des assainissements énergétiques et un pourcentage des économies réalisées grâce à ces assainissements est reversé au fonds les années suivantes. Une démarche qui intègre astucieusement l’aspect du développement durable.

Des idées nouvelles grâce à la thématique du climat
Il est essentiel de proposer des produits innovants. Mais ce qui réjouit presque plus la spécialiste Sabine Döbeli, c’est d’observer que l’approche durable se généralise : « Je constate que la durabilité est de plus en plus prise en compte dans les processus ordinaires de gestion des portefeuilles. Plusieurs banques sont en train d’enrichir leurs analyses financières avec des aspects du développement durable. Chez Vontobel, nous avons mis en place un processus fixe à cet effet il y a quatre ans. Et des banques comme J. Safra Sarasin ou la Banque cantonale zurichoise déploient aussi des efforts dans ce sens. » Ainsi des normes ayant trait à l’environnement, au social et à la gouvernance d’entreprise sont de plus en plus fréquemment intégrées aux processus d'affaires, ce qui constitue un pas important vers un système financier durable.

Cette tendance positive se renforce car le climat est une thématique qui prend de l’ampleur, et les investisseurs institutionnels ne sont pas les derniers concernés. C’est ce qu’a montré, fin mai 2015, la décision prise par le groupe d’assurances international Axa de vendre ses participations dans des centrales à charbon, estimées à 500 millions de francs. Axa est ainsi la première institution financière au monde à s’engager dans le mouvement de désinvestissement visant à rediriger des capitaux vers les énergies alternatives. Pour développer ces comportements en faveur du climat, il est indispensable d’améliorer la transparence concernant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre associées aux placements financiers et aux participations dans les entreprises.

Les placements durables et leurs règles

En plus des critères habituels tels que la rentabilité, la liquidité et la sécurité, les placements durables s’intéressent aussi aux aspects sociaux, écologiques et éthiques. Il existe plusieurs méthodes pour tenir compte de ces critères supplémentaires. En voici les principales :

  1. Intégration : des procédures sont mises en place pour intégrer des critères de sélection durables dans l’activité générale de gestion des portefeuilles de placement.
  2. « Best in class » : les intermédiaires financiers font figurer dans leurs portefeuilles les meilleures entreprises de chaque secteur.
  3. « Norm based screening » : les intermédiaires financiers appliquent des principes de sélection pour s’assurer que les entreprises qu’ils intègrent dans leurs portefeuilles ne violent pas de normes internationales. Par exemple, ils excluent les entreprises actives dans la fabrication, le stockage ou la livraison d’armes controversées.
  4. Vision thématique : des offres sont développées autour d’un thème, par exemple l’énergie.
  5. « Impact Investment » : ce type d’investissements accorde plus d’importance à certains objectifs sociaux qu’aux objectifs purement financiers.

Un débat mondial grâce à l’ONU

Début 2014, le Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement (PNUE) a lancé une enquête internationale dans le cadre de son engagement en faveur de la finance durable, qui a débuté il y a plusieurs années déjà. Des acteurs de la société civile sont interrogés sur la conception et la mise en place d’un système financier international durable. Plusieurs pays participent volontairement à cette enquête, comme la Suisse avec la Swiss Team, et lancent un débat au niveau national fin de récolter des expériences, des exemples de bonnes pratiques et des idées concernant le système financier et son rapport avec les défis écologiques, sociaux et sociétaux actuels. Il s’agit d’identifier les principaux obstacles à l’avènement de l’économie verte que le système financier peut receler et d’en déduire des recommandations pour l’avenir. L’enquête du PNUE sur la conception d’un système financier durable a son siège à Genève. La Suisse est représentée au sein du conseil consultatif de l’enquête par M. Bruno Oberle, directeur de l’OFEV. La Swiss Team, placée sous la direction de l’OFEV, a publié un premier rapport en mai et organisé un symposium à Berne pour en discuter. Elle travaille actuellement sur les résultats du symposium pour élaborer des recommandations concrètes à l’attention des acteurs des marchés financiers et de la Confédération.

Réforme du marché financier suisse

Les travaux actuels relatifs à la réforme du marché financier tendent à une plus grande transparence vis-à-vis des clients. La loi sur les services financiers (LSFin) et la loi sur les établissements financiers (LEFin), en particulier, visent à renforcer la protection des investisseurs conformément aux normes internationales. Ainsi, la LSFin règle les conditions concernant la fourniture de services financiers et l'offre d'instruments financiers. Les clients doivent être informés de la manière la plus complète possible pour pouvoir prendre une décision de placement en toute connaissance de cause. Quant aux conseillers à la clientèle, ils sont tenus de suivre une formation et un perfectionnement. Les projets de loi ont été envoyés en consultation en automne 2014 ; ils ne contiennent aucune exigence contraignante quant à la publication des critères environnemen­taux et sociaux. Le Conseil fédéral renvoie à ce sujet à l'engagement volontaire des instituts financiers. L’entrée en vigueur des textes est prévue pour 2017.

Commentaire

28.05.2016
Hugues Mottard, Genève

Forest Finance Suisse est membre de Swiss Sustainable Finance et de Geneva Sustainable Finance. Nos rendements dépassent les 7% par année depuis plus de 20 ans.  

*
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Ne sera pas publiée.

Accéder à la nétiquette et les principes rédactionnels. Vos données seront enregistrées pendant 60 jours sur le serveur de l’Administration fédérale pour que nous puissions traiter votre commentaire.

Dernière modification 04.07.2016

Début de la page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Nachhaltige-Anlage-im-Aufwind.html