Market power as a lever for change

2015-10-30_IKEARothenburg Cut Out
© Ikea

Furniture concern IKEA is renowned for cheap goods but also for the democratisation of design. A less well known fact about IKEA is that it is also investing billions in its efforts to democratise sustainability – an approach that pays off for the Swedish concern too.  

Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

For Lorenz Isler a tour of the IKEA store in Spreitenbach is a tour of green design and the industry of tomorrow. “As IKEA sees it, sustainable management is the only solution if you want to be successful in 50 years time,” says Isler, Sustainability Manager of IKEA Switzerland. IKEA, the second biggest furniture company in the world, adopted its “People & Planet Positive” sustainability strategy in 2012. Stricter regulations for IWAY, IKEA’s code of conduct for suppliers, were also introduced at the time and the company subsequently parted ways with some of its partners.

Powerful levers at work
At 13 million, the number of people who visit IKEA’s nine furniture outlets in Switzerland exceeds the country’s population. A total of 716 million people throughout the world pop into a branch of IKEA every year. This volume enables impressive economies of scale. According to its own data, in 2013 IKEA sold 12.3 billion LED light bulbs, which enabled customers save around EUR 80 million (CHF 87 million) in energy costs compared to the use of normal light bulbs. And IKEA is the first retailer to switch to selling LED bulbs exclusively. “Based on the volume, we have given our suppliers investment security and have now managed to halve the price of the most popular LED light bulb,” says Lorenz Isler.

2015-10-30_ikea_lorenzisler_2
Lorenz Isler, Sustainability Manager of IKEA Switzerland during a tour of the IKEA shop in Spreitenbach, Switzerland.
© Yvonne von Hunnius

Investments must pay
A study on IKEA’s CO2 footprint revealed that it is mainly accounted for by raw material extraction and the use of IKEA products by its customers. IKEA aims to redouble its efforts here through initiatives for the sustainable use of raw materials in production processes and awareness-raising among its customers. The latter strategy is clearly demonstrated by the numerous signs about energy efficiency displayed in IKEA stores, particularly in the lighting departments. However, IKEA is also pointing the finger at itself. Between 2009 and 2015, the concern invested EUR 1.5 billion in renewable energies. Solar power systems are installed on the roofs of all of its branches in Switzerland. At 9,500 square metres in area, the biggest of these systems in Rothenburg generates 1.2 million kilowatts annually, which corresponds to 50 percent of the furnishing retailer’s own energy consumption or that of 400 households.

The possibility of incorporating a price for CO2 into investment decisions is also being considered within the company. The aim is to make all operations belonging to the IKEA industry CO2 neutral by 2020 – in the last three years alone, the CO2 emissions per cubic metre generated by the transport of goods have been reduced by 13 percent. “And IKEA does nothing without carrying out detailed calculations on the rates of return,” says Isler. So these measures pay off.  

Ikea Rothenburg
At 9,500 square metres, IKEA’s biggest solar power system can be found in Rothenburg, Switzerland – it produces 1.2 million kilowatts annually, which corresponds to 50 percent of the furnishing giant’s consumption.
© Ikea

Focus on labels
IKEA is a major consumer. The company uses one percent of the wood produced in the world and 0.6 percent of the cotton. As a co-founder of the FSC label for sustainable forest management, IKEA has set itself the aim of ensuring that half of all its wood products have the FSC label or are produced using recycled wood by 2017 – the plan is to reach 100 percent by 2020. With regard to cotton, IKEA launched the “Better Cotton” initiative with the environmental organisation WWF in 2004. Today, 190,000 farmers are part of the initiative and, according to IKEA’s estimates, they are producing in a way that ensures that 50 percent less water and pesticides and 30 percent less chemicals are used.

Product design with clear specifications
On the tour of the IKEA store in Spreitenbach, Lorenz points to Sinnerlig – a dining table with a cork top. 

2015-10-30_SinnerligCork1
The sustainable raw material cork is used as an alternative to wood in the furniture belonging to IKEA designer Ilse Crawford’s Sinnerlig collection.
© Ikea

Designers at the company’s Swedish headquarters are constantly on the lookout for good alternatives to wood, cotton and plastic, and for ways of improving the products, he reports. So they use of cork and Lyocell, the latter is a cotton substitute produced from cellulose fibre. Moreover, Billy, the smash-hit shelving system has become 30 percent lighter over the years. In a concern like IKEA, standardised processes are effective. The designers collect points for sustainable criteria using a so-called “Product Sustainability Score Card”. If a product exceeds a certain threshold, it qualifies as particularly sustainable. Up to now, fewer than 50 percent of IKEA’s products have been in this category and the aim is to increase this proportion to 90 percent by 2020. By doing this, IKEA aims to offer a clear rebuttal to those who argue that environmental awareness is the exclusive preserve of more affluent consumers.

About IKEA:
The concern, which was established in Sweden by Ingvar Kamprad, offers around 9,500 products in 315 furniture outlets located in 27 countries throughout the world. The country organisations are closely connected to the mother company through a franchise system. The concern is led today by its CEO Peter Agnefjäll. In 2014, IKEA recorded a turnover of EUR 28 billion, of which 1.46 million was accounted for by food sales. The concern has 147,000 employees. IKEA operates the entire value-added chain from the product range strategy and product development to production, distribution, and retail. Approximately 59 percent of IKEA’s production is based in Europe.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 12.11.2015

Top of page

IKEA – a pioneer with room to improve: Interview with Thomas Breu

A sustainability expert from the University of Bern assesses IKEA’s commitment as comprehensive but also identifies some critical points...  

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Marktmacht-als-Hebel-des-Wandels.html

Le pouvoir du marché comme levier du changement

2015-10-30_IKEARothenburg Cut Out
© Ikea

Si le géant de l’ameublement IKEA fait référence pour ses produits bon marché et son design démocratique, nous savons moins qu’il investit également des milliards dans le développement durable. Une démarche payante pour le groupe suédois.

Par Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

Visiter le magasin IKEA de Spreitenbach avec Lorenz Isler est une véritable immersion dans la conception écologique et l’industrie de demain. « IKEA n’a d’autre choix que de miser sur la gestion durable si le groupe veut encore avoir du succès dans 50 ans », explique le responsable du développement durable chez IKEA Suisse. En 2012, le leader mondial a mis en place sa propre stratégie de développement durable « People & Planet Positive » et durci les règles de conduite IWAY applicables à ses fournisseurs – ce qui l’a conduit à se séparer de plusieurs partenaires.

Actionner des leviers puissants
Avec leurs 13 millions de visiteurs par an, les neuf magasins IKEA de Suisse attirent plus de clients que le pays ne compte d’habitants. La fréquentation mondiale de l’enseigne s’élève à 716 millions de clients par an. Cette démesure permet des effets d’échelle impressionnants : selon ses propres statistiques, IKEA a vendu 12,3 milliards de luminaires LED en 2013, permettant à sa clientèle de réduire sa facture d’énergie de 87 millions de francs par rapport à l’utilisation de lampes ordinaires. IKEA serait le premier commerce de détail à vendre uniquement des LED. « Un tel volume nous a permis de garantir à nos sous-traitants la sécurité des investissements et de diviser par deux le prix de la LED la plus vendue », explique Lorenz Isler.

2015-10-30_ikea_lorenzisler_2
Lorenz Isler, responsable du développement durable chez IKEA Suisse, lors de la visite du magasin IKEA de Spreitenbach.
© Yvonne von Hunnius

Rentabiliser les investissements
Une étude sur l’empreinte carbone d’IKEA montre qu’elle résulte majoritairement de l’extraction des matières premières et de l’utilisation des produits par les acheteurs. IKEA souhaite s’impliquer davantage dans ce domaine en prenant des initiatives visant à favoriser la gestion durable des matières premières dans le processus de production et à sensibiliser les clients. Les nombreux panneaux d’information sur l’efficacité énergétique au rayon des luminaires illustrent les efforts déployés. Entre 2009 et 2015, le groupe a investi 1,5 milliard d’euros dans les énergies renouvelables. En Suisse, les toitures de tous ses magasins sont ainsi équipées d’installations solaires. La plus vaste (à Rothenburg) mesure 9500 m² et produit 1,2 million de kilowatts par an, ce qui correspond à 50 % de la consommation du magasin ou à la consommation de 400 ménages.

IKEA étudie le moyen d’intégrer le prix du carbone dans ses décisions d’investissement et souhaite que tous les sites d’IKEA Industry soient neutres en CO2 d’ici à 2020. Ces trois dernières années, le transport de marchandises a déjà permis de réduire de 13 % les émissions de CO2 par m3. « Et IKEA ne fait jamais rien sans un calcul de rendement préalable », souligne Lorenz Isler, signifiant que le jeu en vaut la chandelle.

Ikea Rothenburg
La plus grande installation solaire d’IKEA se trouve à Rothenburg. Elle mesure 9500 m² et produit 1,2 million de kilowatts par an, ce qui couvre 50 % de la consommation du magasin et correspond à la consommation de 400 ménages.
© Ikea

Focaliser sur les labels
À lui seul, le groupe IKEA utilise 1 % des ressources mondiales de bois et 0,6 % du coton produit sur la planète. Cofondateur du label FSC pour une gestion durable des forêts, il s’est fixé pour objectif que 50 % de ses produits en bois soient certifiés FSC ou fabriqués à partir de bois recyclé d’ici à 2017, et 100 % d’ici à 2020.  IKEA et le WWF ont également lancé en 2004 l’initiative « Better Cotton » ; elle rallie aujourd’hui 190 000 producteurs de coton qui, selon les estimations du groupe IKEA, utilisent 50 % d’eau et de pesticides et 30 % de produits chimiques en moins. 

Allier design et conscience environnementale
Lors de la visite, Lorenz Isler attire l’attention sur une table Sinnerlig, dont le plateau est en liège.  

2015-10-30_SinnerligCork1
Les meubles IKEA de la série Sinnerlig conçue par Ilse Crawford utilisent une matière première renouvelable – le liège – comme alternative au bois.
© Ikea

Il explique qu’au niveau de la centrale suédoise, les équipes cherchent constamment à améliorer les produits en trouvant des alternatives au bois, au coton et au plastique – par exemple le liège ou la cellulose Lyocell. C’est ainsi que la bibliothèque Billy, le produit phare, est devenue 30 % plus légère au fil des ans. Dans un groupe tel qu’IKEA, la recherche est encadrée par des processus standardisés et les concepteurs doivent se référer à une grille pour évaluer leurs produits sur la base de critères de durabilité. Un produit qui dépasse le seuil indiqué est jugé particulièrement durable. Actuellement, moins de 50 % des produits IKEA entrent dans cette catégorie. L’objectif pour 2020 est d’atteindre 90 %. IKEA entend ainsi opposer des arguments clairs à ceux qui prétendent que la conscience environnementale est une préoccupation de riches.

À propos d’IKEA:
Le Groupe IKEA fondé en Suède par Ingvar Kamprad possède 315 magasins répartis dans 27 pays et propose quelque 9500 produits. Les magasins franchisés sont en étroite relation avec la maison mère. Le directeur actuel du groupe est Peter Agnefjäll. En 2014, IKEA a enregistré un chiffre d’affaires de 28 milliards d’euros, dont 1,46 milliard dans le secteur des produits alimentaires. Le groupe emploie 147 000 collaborateurs. Il contrôle toute la chaîne de création de valeur – stratégie d’assortiment, conception de produit, production, distribution et commerce de détail. Près de 59 % de sa production propre est localisée en Europe.

Commentaires

*
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Ne sera pas publiée.

Accéder à la nétiquette et les principes rédactionnels. Vos données seront enregistrées pendant 60 jours sur le serveur de l’Administration fédérale pour que nous puissions traiter votre commentaire.

Dernière modification 12.11.2015

Début de la page

IKEA est une entreprise pionnière avec un potentiel d’amélioration – Interview avec Thomas Breu

L’expert en développement durable Thomas Breu, de l’Université de Berne, pense que l’engagement d’IKEA est vaste, mais il formule également quelques critiques..

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Marktmacht-als-Hebel-des-Wandels.html