Ricola’s new herb centre combines business with nature

© Ricola.

Ricola’s herbal powers are now stored in Europe’s biggest earth building – the Kräuterzentrum herb centre designed by star architects Herzog & de Meuron. Ricola’s herb processing operations have been centred there since 2014. The pioneering project represented a substantial investment for Ricola. This should be recovered through the building’s low operating costs.

Yvonne von Hunnius, 11.08.2015

This is where they are stored, the mint leaves grown on the soils of Valais glacier moraine. You can literally feel their strong essential oils with every breath you inhale. Before being transported to Laufen in the canton of Basel-Landschaft, they were harvested at an altitude of 1,800 metres by a mountain farming family. Since January of this year, the extract obtained from the leaves has been giving Ricola’s new Glacier Mint sweets their flavour. Ricola’s Communication Manager, Hrvoje Tkalcec, points to the sacks of herbs in the vast warehouse and says: “The new product is selling so well that we need more herbs than our farmers can supply. We are currently in negotiations with another farmer who works on the same glacier moraine.” There is plenty of space available here for his herbs. The new herb centre has formed the heart and soul of Ricola’s herbal sweet and tea manufacture for a year. This is no ordinary building, but Europe’s largest earth structure based on a design by Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron (HdM). It was built using sand, clay and gravel, which originate from the immediate surroundings of the herb centre and were processed to produce rammed earth.

A temporary production site for the Ricola building was established in neighbouring Zwingen and equipped with specially produced machines. These were needed for the prefabrication of façade elements, which weigh 4.6 tonnes.
© Ricola

Herbs – the company’s most valuable asset

Until the new centre was opened, some of the herb processing was carried out directly on the farms but now everything runs through Laufen, the long-established headquarters of Ricola. All of the elderflowers and sage leaves – an annual total of 1.4 tonnes of fresh herbs – are cleaned, dried, cut, stored and mixed here. And the herbs are Ricola’s most valuable asset. They come from over one hundred Swiss farms. All of the farms must cultivate the herbs in accordance with strict organic principles – the use of pesticides and herbicides is forbidden.

© Ricola

The new herb centre should ensure that everything runs even more efficiently than before. Drying can now be carried out using an ingenious new system. For chopping, the herbs go through a complex labyrinth of machines. They then stand waiting in large sacks until they are needed in the sweet factory. As the world’s biggest producer of herbal sweets, strict environmental and quality management is crucial for Ricola. Five billion herbal sweets are dispatched to 50 countries throughout the world from Laufen every year. And each product must keep the company's promise that it does not contain any artificial flavourings. It all starts with the herbs.

© Ricola

Earth provides perfect conditions

Ricola is already renowned for unusual architectural projects in specialist circles. HdM and the family that owns Ricola have already collaborated on seven buildings which have made Laufen into something of pilgrimage site for architects. And these architects will now be joined by colleagues with an interest in earth building. The new herb centre appears to be the perfect project for this sustainable construction material: the herbs need uniform conditions and, thanks to the earth walls, the humidity in the building automatically ranges between 40 and 60 percent. This meant that the building services technology could be reduced to a minimum. Aesthetically, the building aptly reflects the material it is used to store: despite its powerful dimensions of 110 metres in length, 20 metres in width and eleven metres in height, thanks to its earthy colour, the earth façade integrates seamlessly into the lush green landscape.

© Ricola

Gathering experience for the future

Designing an earth building of this size is no easy task. The architects welcomed Martin Rauch on board for the design and implementation of the project. With his company Lehm Ton Erde (“Loam Clay Earth”) in Schlins in Vorarlberg, Rauch is Europe’s leading expert in earth building. A temporary production site for the Ricola building was established in neighbouring Zwingen and equipped with specially produced machines. These were needed for the prefabrication of façade elements, which weigh 4.6 tonnes. The building has a reinforced concrete frame. It took a total of 16 months to complete.

Earth building needs projects like the herb centre to enable the refinement of its production efficiency and the further development of rammed earth building techniques. Although the herb centre cost CHF 16 million to build, it is hoped that savings will be made through its low operating costs. Ricola’s Director of Technology Daniel Bhend, has the following to say in this regard: “The building is a low consumer. However, we will have to collect the data on it based on experience.” The figures on its efficiency will be produced by the future as there is reference structure available as yet. What is already clear is that the exhaust heat from the adjacent production works can be relied on to cover all of the energy needed to dry the herbs and for the air conditioning.

CO2 balance for each cough drop

Ricola has not yet published any environmental reports. This is due to change in the future, however. The company is currently establishing the impacts of its various initiatives with the help of climate protection experts from the myclimate organisation. For example, a seven percent saving on packaging material was recently achieved through the optimisation of the flip-top boxes used by the company. The annual CO2 emissions have been reduced by a total of 1270 tonnes since 2001 thanks to millions of francs of investments. Electricity is obtained from regional wind power, among other sources. In terms of sustainability, at the end of the assessment process it should be able to provide a CO2 balance that is broken down for each individual cough drop. Hrvoje Tkalcec says: “The herb centre represents an important milestone in Ricola’s quest to become more climate-friendly.”

***

The rediscovery of earth building

Over one third of the world’s population live in houses built entirely or partly of earth today. Up to industrialisation, earth building was also standard in Europe. It then fell into almost complete oblivion but is currently undergoing a rebirth. With the new visitors’ centre at the Swiss Ornithological Institute in Sempach, Switzerland’s first three-storey earth building was opened in 2015.

Besuchszentrum der Schweizerischen Vogelwarte
The Swiss Ornithological Institute’s new visitor centre. Switzerland's first three-storey earth building was opened in May 2015.
© Schweizerische Vogelwarte, Lukas Linder

A rammed earth vault was constructed on the ETH Hönggerberg campus in November 2014 for the purpose of gaining new insights into earth building. As was the case with the Ricola herb centre, earth building expert Martin Rauch was also involved in the projects in Sempach and Zurich.

Kuppel  ETH-Campus Hoenggerberg
A vault consisting of elements produced from non-stabilised rammed earth was constructed at the ETH Hönggerberg campus in Zurich in 2014.
© ETH Zürich, Gian Salis

Overall, the advantages of earth as a building material lie in its climate-regulating effect, its good sound-insulation and fire-protection properties, and its lack of pollutants. In addition, earth is suitable for use in very individual designs and can be recycled any number of times. On the other hand, building with earth is very labour-intensive. However, the construction period is considerably reduced today by the pre-fabrication of elements and their installation by crane. In many cases, earth building is combined with the use of reinforced-concrete or timber-framed structural elements.

Ricola and the issue of eco-certification

As a company Ricola is committed to organic standards. However, its products do not carry the Bio Swiss “Knospe” (bud) label, nor do they bear the “Bio-Kräuter” (“organic herb”) designation. Hrvoje Tkalcec explains: “The main reason for this is that the farms are not certified.” Although the 1.4 tonnes of fresh herbs required annually by the company are produced under strict organic conditions at all of its farms, only 70 percent of the farms have the “Knospe” certification. “We cannot and do not want to dictate to the farmers about how they should run the rest of their farms,” says Tkalcec. If the company were to purchase the remaining 30 percent of its herbs from certified organic farms abroad, the “Swissness” of its products would be undermined. This rule does not prevent Ricola from obtaining some of the sugar for its herbal sweet production from abroad, however. Tkalcec explains: “We only use sugar from neighbouring countries if the volume produced in Switzerland is insufficient.”

A family concern with a global reach

In 2014, Ricola’s turnover from the sale of herbal sweets and tea products was CHF 315.9 million and it had a workforce of around 400. Ricola is considered the world’s biggest producer of cough sweets and 90 percent of its total sales are made on over 50 foreign markets. Established by Emil Richterich in Laufen in 1930, the family concern is managed today by the President of the Board Felix Richterich and, according to Ricola, the company is completely self-financing. Despite the current difficulties in relation to the Swiss franc exchange rate, the company expects to record moderate growth this year.

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 15.09.2015

Top of page

Links

Ricola: Website
Herzog & De Meuron: Website
Lehm Ton Erde: Website
myclimate:
Website
Swiss Ornithological Institute in Sempach: Website
ETH Zurich: Website Departement of Architecture
Bio Suisse: Website of the federation of Swiss organic farmers

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Kraeuterzentrum-von-Ricola-verbindet-Natur-und-Wirtschaft.html

Le nouveau Kräuterzentrum de Ricola allie nature et économie

© Ricola.

Depuis 2014, toute la force des herbes Ricola est concentrée dans le plus grand bâtiment en pisé d’Europe – le « Kräuterzentrum » réalisé par le célèbre cabinet d’architectes Herzog & de Meuron – où Ricola centralise tous ses processus de transformation. Ce projet pionnier a constitué pour l’entreprise un investissement substantiel, que le fonctionnement économe du bâtiment doit permettre d’amortir.

Par Yvonne von Hunnius, 11.08.2015

C’est dans le nouveau Kräuterzentrum de Ricola que sont stockées les feuilles de menthe provenant de la moraine glacière du Valais – dont les huiles essentielles imprègnent chaque inspiration avec une force saisissante. Avant d’être acheminées jusqu’à Laufon (BL), elles sont récoltées par une famille de paysans de montagne à 1800 m d’altitude. Leurs extraits donnent un arôme unique au nouveau bonbon "Mente des Glaciers" commercialisé par Ricola depuis le mois de janvier. Dans la gigantesque halle de stockage du Kräuterzentrum, responsable de la communication de Ricola, Hrvoje Tkalcec, présente les sacs d’herbes en évoquant le succès du bonbon à la menthe : « Ce nouveau produit fonctionne si bien que nous avons besoin de plus d’herbes que notre paysan ne peut en livrer. C’est pourquoi nous sommes actuellement en négociation avec un second paysan de montagne de la même moraine glacière. » La halle est bien assez vaste pour stocker également les herbes cultivées par ce paysan. Depuis un an, le nouveau Kräuterzentrum est au cœur de la production de bonbons et d’infusions de Ricola. Ce bâtiment n’a rien d’habituel : il s’agit de la plus grande construction en pisé d’Europe, conçue par le cabinet d’architectes Herzog & de Meuron (HdM). Elle a été bâtie avec du sable, de l’argile et des cailloux provenant directement des alentours.

Pour la construction du bâtiment en terre glaise il était nécessaire de préfabriquer les éléments de façade dont le poids atteint tout de même 4,6 tonnes. La structure porteuse est une ossature en béton armé.
© Ricola

Les herbes sont le bien le plus précieux de Ricola

Avant l’ouverture du nouveau centre, la transformation des herbes s’effectuait pour partie chez les paysans. Désormais, tout se passe à Laufon, le siège historique de Ricola. C’est là que toutes les fleurs de sureau et les feuilles de sauge – soit 1,4 tonne d’herbes fraîches au total – sont nettoyées, séchées, broyées, stockées et mélangées. Ces herbes sont le bien le plus précieux de Ricola. Elles proviennent de plus d’une centaine d’exploitations agricoles suisses, où elles sont cultivées selon des principes écologiques très stricts – sans le moindre pesticide ni herbicide.

© Ricola

Le nouveau Kräuterzentrum veille à rendre cette organisation encore plus efficace : les herbes séchées selon un système sophistiqué traversent un labyrinthe complexe de machines à broyer, puis sont versées dans de grands sacs où elles attendent leur transport jusqu’à l’atelier de fabrication des bonbons. Là, une gestion de l’environnement et de la qualité rigoureuse est décisive pour Ricola, le plus grand fabricant mondial de bonbons contre la toux. Chaque année, cinq milliards de bonbons quittent Laufon à destination de 50 pays étrangers, et chaque produit doit tenir sa promesse : ne contenir aucun arôme artificiel, rien que l’arôme des herbes.

© Ricola

Le pisé crée des conditions parfaites

Dans les milieux spécialisés, l’entreprise Ricola est bien connue pour l’originalité de ses projets d’architecture. Au total, le cabinet HdM et la famille Richterich propriétaire de Ricola ont déjà travaillé ensemble à la réalisation de sept bâtiments, qui ont transformé Laufon en un lieu de pèlerinage pour les architectes. Dorénavant, la ville attirera également les personnes qui s’intéressent aux constructions en pisé. Le nouveau Kräuterzentrum semble être l’objet parfait pour ce matériau de construction durable : les herbes ont besoin de conditions stables, or les murs en glaise régulent eux-mêmes l’humidité de l’air ambiant entre 40 et 60 % – ce qui a d’ailleurs permis de réduire le besoin en technique du bâtiment à son strict minimum. Sur le plan esthétique, l’aspect extérieur de la construction est en harmonie avec son environnement : la façade qui mesure 110 mètres de long, 30 mètres de large et 11 mètres de haut est certes massive, mais ses couleurs de terre s’intègrent parfaitement dans un paysage des plus verdoyants.

© Ricola

Accumuler des expériences pour l’avenir

Planifier une construction en pisé d’une telle envergure n’est pas chose aisée. Pour la conception et la réalisation de son projet, Ricola s’est donc adjoint les services du plus grand expert européen en la matière, Martin Rauch, dont l'entreprise Lehm Ton Erde est installé à Schlins dans le Vorarlberg. Pour le projet spécifique de Laufon, Martin Rauch a créé une unité de production temporaire dans la ville voisine de Zwingen, qu’il a dotée de machines spécialement conçues pour le Kräuterzentrum. Cette présence sur site était nécessaire pour préfabriquer les éléments de façade dont le poids atteint tout de même 4,6 tonnes. La structure porteuse est une ossature en béton armé. Au total, les travaux de construction ont duré 16 mois.

Les spécialistes des bâtiments en pisé ont besoin de projets tels que le Kräuterzentrum pour peaufiner leur technique, la rendre encore plus efficace et développer ce type de constructions. Si le Kräuterzentrum a coûté 16 millions de francs, Ricola compte sur son fonctionnement peu énergivore pour réaliser des économies. « Le bâtiment est un petit consommateur », explique le responsable du département technique de Ricola, Daniel Bhend, « mais nous ne disposons encore d’aucune valeur empirique. » Et comme il n’existe aucun objet auquel comparer le Kräuterzentrum, il faudra attendre encore un peu avant de chiffrer concrètement son efficacité énergétique. Une chose est sûre d’ores et déjà : pour le séchage des herbes et la climatisation, l’entreprise peut compter entièrement sur les rejets de chaleur de l’atelier de production tout proche.

L’empreinte carbone de chaque bonbon

Ricola ne publie encore aucun rapport sur le thème du développement durable, mais entend le faire à l'avenir. Avec le concours des experts en protection climatique de myclimate, l’entreprise évalue actuellement l’impact sur l’environnement de ses différentes initiatives, parmi lesquelles l’optimisation récente de l’emballage des petites boîtes – qui a permis de réduire de 7 % le besoin en matériau d’emballage. Au total, les millions de francs investis par Ricola depuis 2001 lui ont permis de réduire de 1270 tonnes ses émissions annuelles de CO2 et de s’alimenter, entre autres, au moyen d'énergie éolienne produite localement. Dans son rapport de durabilité, l’entreprise prévoit de présenter l’empreinte carbone de chaque bonbon qu’elle fabrique. Selon son porte-parole Hrvoje Tkalcec, « le Kräuterzentrum est une étape importante sur la voie du respect climatique. »

***

Redécouvrir la construction en pisé

Plus d’un tiers de la population mondiale vit aujourd’hui dans des maisons entièrement ou partiellement construites en pisé. Avant l’ère de l’industrialisation, cette technique de construction était également très répandue en Europe. Elle semble aujourd’hui sortir des oubliettes où on l’avait jetée : le nouveau centre de visite de la Station ornithologique de Sempach, ouvert en mai 2015, est le premier bâtiment suisse à trois étages construit en pisé.

Besuchszentrum der Schweizerischen Vogelwarte
© Schweizerische Vogelwarte, Lukas Linder

Sur le campus Hönggerberg de l’EPF de Zurich, un dôme en pisé a été érigé durant le mois de novembre 2014 pour permettre l’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances sur ce type de construction. Tout comme le Kräuterzentrum de Ricola, les projets de Sempach et de Zurich ont été réalisés avec la collaboration de Martin Rauch, grand spécialiste des constructions en pisé.

Kuppel  ETH-Campus Hoenggerberg
© ETH Zürich, Gian Salis

Les avantages de cette terre comme matériau de construction sont principalement son effet climatisant, une bonne protection contre le bruit et contre l’incendie et une absence totale de substances nocives. Par ailleurs, elle peut être modelée selon les besoins du projet et être préparée à volonté. Elle présente toutefois un inconvénient majeur : construire un bâtiment en pisé est un travail extrêmement fastidieux. Heureusement, il est possible aujourd’hui de réduire considérablement la durée des travaux en préfabriquant des éléments et en utilisant une grue pour les mettre en place. Dans certains cas, le projet peut également associer au pisé une ossature en bois ou en béton.

Ricola et le chemin de croix de la certification bio

Bien que Ricola s’engage à respecter des standards biologiques, ses produits ne portent ni le label Bourgeon avec la croix suisse, ni la mention « herbes bio ». L’explication de Hrvoje Tkalcec est la suivante : « Le problème est le manque de certifications des agriculteurs. » Si le volume annuel d’herbes fraîches (1,4 tonne) est produit par tous les exploitants agricoles dans les conditions biologiques, ces derniers ne sont eux-mêmes certifiés Bourgeon qu’à 70 %. « Nous ne pouvons pas et ne voulons pas dicter aux agriculteurs la façon dont ils doivent gérer le reste de leur exploitation », explique-t-il. Et si Ricola achetait les 30 % restants auprès d’agriculteurs étrangers certifiés, c’est l’origine suisse de ses produits qui serait remise en question. Le fait que Ricola achète à l’étranger une partie du sucre nécessaire à la fabrication des bonbons ne semble pas contredire cette règle puisque « Ricola ne se résout à acheter du sucre produit dans les pays voisins que si la quantité disponible en Suisse est insuffisante. »

Une entreprise familiale de portée mondiale

Employant près de 400 collaborateurs, l’entreprise Ricola a réalisé en 2014 avec la vente de ses bonbons et de ses infusions un chiffre d’affaires de 315,9 millions de francs. En tant que leader mondial de la fabrication de bonbons contre la toux, elle réalise 90 % de son chiffre d’affaires dans plus de 50 pays étrangers. L’entreprise familiale fondée en 1930 à Laufon par Emil Richterich est aujourd’hui dirigée par Felix Richterich (président du conseil d’administration) et s'autofinancerait, selon les déclarations de l’entreprise elle-même. Pour l’exercice 2015, Ricola prévoit une légère croissance malgré la situation défavorable du franc suisse.

*
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Ne sera pas publié.

* Accéder à la nétiquette et les principes rédactionnels. Vos données seront enregistrées pendant 60 jours sur le serveur de l’Administration fédérale pour que nous puissions traiter votre commentaire.

Dernière modification 15.09.2015

Début de la page

Links

Ricola: Website
Herzog & De Meuron:
Website
Lehm Ton Erde:
Website
myclimate:
Website
Station ornithologique suisse:
Website
ETH Zürich:
Website du departement architecture
Bio Suisse:
Website de la fédération des entreprises agricoles biologique suisses

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Kraeuterzentrum-von-Ricola-verbindet-Natur-und-Wirtschaft.html