IKEA – a pioneer with room to improve: Interview with Thomas Breu

A sustainability expert from the University of Bern assesses IKEA’s commitment as comprehensive but also identifies some critical points.

Interview: Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

Thomas Breu

Geographer Thomas Breu has been involved in numerous research and implementation projects at national and international levels. He is currently Director of the Centre for Development and Environment at the University of Bern and also leads an international doctoral school in the field of global change and sustainable development.

To what extent do you see IKEA as a pioneer?

Thomas Breu: IKEA’s efforts, particularly in relation to the promotion of new environmentally-friendly technologies like energy-saving light bulbs, have a crucial and pioneering effect. IKEA can be seen as a “populiser”. The first generation of energy-saving light bulbs was launched around 15 years ago. This technology protects the environment but it is difficult to quantify its impact – specifically, due to so-called rebound effects, which reduce gains in efficiency through increased consumption in other areas.

Where does potential still exist regarding the environmental impacts?

It is essential to take into account that given the very considerable distances involved in its supply and distribution chains, IKEA’s mode of production consumes a huge amount of energy. The long distances travelled by the 13 million people who travel to the IKEA shops in the Swiss countryside every year must also be taken into account.

Can you identify any fundamentally critical points?

IKEA’s sustainability strategy adopts the central concerns of the recently adopted UN Agenda 2030 with its 17 Sustainable Development Goals. The contribution to the Action Agenda, which was also adopted by the UN in Addis Ababa in summer 2015, is not specified, however. A central focus of this financing agenda concerns corporate taxation, which is remains highly fragmentary and enables companies to avoid tax through legal measures. Like other multinational firms, IKEA uses legal means to optimise its tax payments in the countries where it operates. As a result, the global community and, in particular, developing countries that are very severely affected by global change are deprived of substantial tax income, which is urgently required to finance the implementation of global and national sustainability strategies.

Critics note that IKEA has made furniture into short-lived consumer goods ...

IKEA basically operates in a very difficult area between price and quality competitiveness. Through its focus on low prices, IKEA has a very stimulating impact on consumption. Compared to high-price goods, its products probably have a shorter lifecycle before being disposed of and thus contribute to the throw-away mentality. On the positive side, IKEA has enabled less affluent families in Europe and America to access furniture and fittings.

In your view, how ambitious are IKEA’s efforts for sustainability?

IKEA has actually set itself an ambitious and comprehensive sustainability strategy which clearly goes beyond a campaign motivated by mere image considerations. To a certain extent it is also exceptional and certainly achieves positive impacts on the current ecological footprint of its operations and in the use of its products. However, there is an almost inevitable fundamental conflict between IKEA’s overall business model and sustainable development in different areas. The measures it has adopted are suitable for improving the existing business model. A precondition for this, however, is the regular independent evaluation of the measures, particularly also in relation to the impacts of production in the countries of origin.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 10.11.2015

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Interview-Thomas-Breu.html

IKEA est une entreprise pionnière avec un potentiel d’amélioration – Interview avec Thomas Breu

L’expert en développement durable Thomas Breu, de l’Université de Berne, pense que l’engagement d’IKEA estvaste, mais il formule également quelques critiques.

Interview : Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

Thomas Breu

Le géographe Thomas Breu a participé à de nombreux projets nationaux et internationaux de recherche et de mise en œuvre. Il est aujourd’hui directeur du Centre pour le développement et l’environnement (CDE) de l’Université de Berne et dirige une école doctorale internationale spécialisée dans le changement planétaire et le développement durable.

En quoi l’entreprise IKEA vous semble-t-elle pionnière ?

Thomas Breu : En engageant des efforts dans la promotion des technologies respectueuses de l’environnement, telles que les lampes à économie d’énergie, IKEA fait office de pionnière et de « vecteur de popularisation ». La première génération de lampes basse consommation a vu le jour il y a une quinzaine d’années. Ce type de lampes contribue à préserver l’environnement, mais il est difficile de savoir dans quelle mesure – notamment en raison du fameux effet rebond, qui tend à compenser les gains d’efficacité par une augmentation de la consommation dans d’autres domaines.

En matière d’impact environnemental, quel potentiel peut encore exploiter IKEA?


Le mode de production d’IKEA, caractérisé par des distances considérables dans les chaînes d’approvisionnement et de distribution, utilise énormément d’énergie. À cela s’ajoutent les longues distances parcourues chaque année par 13 millions de visiteurs suisses pour rejoindre les magasins IKEA installés en pleine campagne.

Avez-vous des critiques à formuler à l’encontre d’IKEA ?

La stratégie de développement durable d’IKEA reprend les préoccupations centrales de l’agenda 2030 récemment adopté par l’ONU et de ses 17 objectifs de durabilité. Mais IKEA ne contribue pas au Programme d’action d’Addis-Abeba adopté par l’ONU à l’été 2015, qui concerne la fiscalité des entreprises et notamment les lacunes qui permettent de contourner l’impôt en toute légalité. Comme d’autres sociétés internationales, le groupe IKEA a recours à des pratiques légales pour optimiser sa fiscalité dans les pays où il est actif. Cette optimisation fait perdre des recettes fiscales considérables à la communauté mondiale et aux pays en développement particulièrement affectés par le changement planétaire – recettes qu’il serait urgent d’investir dans la mise en œuvre des stratégies de développement durable nationales et internationales.

Certains critiquent le fait qu’IKEA a transformé les meubles en des biens de consommation à courte durée de vie ...


IKEA évolue sur un marché hautement concurrentiel, tant au niveau du prix que de la qualité. Sa stratégie de prix bas pousse clairement à la consommation. Comparés aux produits haut de gamme, les produits IKEA ont une durée de vie plus courte et ils contribuent probablement à renforcer la mentalité du tout-jetable. Mais ils ont également pour vertu de permettre à de nombreuses familles peu favorisées, en Europe et en Amérique, d’avoir accès au marché de l’ameublement.
 
Au final, dans quelle mesure les efforts d’IKEA vous paraissent-ils ambitieux ?

IKEA s’est dotée d’une stratégie de développement durable ambitieuse et complète, qui va bien au-delà d’une campagne motivée uniquement par l’image de l’entreprise. Cette stratégie sort de l’ordinaire et elle aura certainement des effets positifs sur l’empreinte écologique de l’entreprise et sur la gestion de ses produits. Il n’empêche qu’IKEA fonctionne avec un modèle économique dont plusieurs aspects sont presque naturellement en conflit avec le développement durable. Si les mesures décidées par IKEA entendent améliorer ce modèle, elles ne pourront porter leurs fruits que si elles font l’objet d’une évaluation régulière et indépendante, portant également sur l’impact de la production dans les pays d’origine.

Commentaires

*
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Ne sera pas publiée.

Accéder à la nétiquette et les principes rédactionnels. Vos données seront enregistrées pendant 60 jours sur le serveur de l’Administration fédérale pour que nous puissions traiter votre commentaire.

Dernière modification 10.11.2015

Début de la page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Interview-Thomas-Breu.html