“Switzerland could be a lot braver!”

Nobody can get by without mobility – but they can manage without a second car, says transport expert Daniel Matti from Interface, a company that provides policy studies and research and consultancy services. He sees potential in the area of collaborative mobility and calls for greater courage on the part of the federal authorities in this area.

Interview: Yvonne von Hunnius, 24.2.2016

A geographer by training, Daniel Matti is Director of Transportation and Spatial Development at the Interface policy studies, research and consultancy provider in Lucerne. He focuses on the areas of mobility, spatial development and demographic change in his work.

How can the Swiss people ensure optimum protection of the environment through their mobility habits?

This is clear to anyone who does the online-check on the Mobility Advisory Service Switzerland website. This platform is funded by public and private partners and it provides around 5,000 individual consultations each year. These consultations demonstrate, for example, the environmental impacts of individual mobility, how much time and money it costs, and what kind of alternatives are available. According to research studies, environmental issues are the most important concern of transport users, followed by issues of cost and time.

And do they really change anything based on the consultations?

In a survey, between five and ten percent of the users of Mobility Advisory Service Switzerland indicated that the consultation helped them with decisions in relation to a fleet and that they decided against running a first or second car. And car ownership is a crucial factor when it comes to mileage. A good example of this is the car sharing energy balance, which we calculated for the first time in 2006 on behalf of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy and recently updated. Thanks to Mobility car-sharing, the equivalent of 8.8 million litres of petrol were saved in 2014. This positive outcome was enabled by the relatively small proportion of Mobility users who, in addition to using carsharing, do not have a car of their own – they make such a difference that energy is ultimately saved.

What kind of people are moving from car ownership to the sharing model?

Often they are people who experience changes in their lives and move house, for example. For this reason, on the Mobility Advisory Service Switzerland website we draw attention to brochures containing information for new residents, for example in the commune of Köniz. It is at such times in life that people reorganize their mobility habits – they tend to stick to existing routines otherwise.

Where do you see major potential for sharing models?

Sharing concepts offer major opportunities, for example, in the coverage of off-peak times in peripheral regions: carsharing or car-pooling can offer the perfect complement to public transport or call-a-bus services. Many of these models are still focusing on urban areas – however, the spread of collaborative mobility services will increase in peripheral regions as soon as the major transport operators like the SBB and Postauto Schweiz develop more activities in this area.

How do you see Switzerland in general – how can mobility here be made more sustainable?

There are three starting points here, in my view. First, greater change is practically impossible without “mobility pricing”, that is a use-based levy to fund infrastructure and services in both private and public transport. This can best be implemented in the area of public transport at present, however it is important not to make public transport less attractive as a result. Second, good framework conditions are needed for collaborative mobility – for example, legal questions remain open and the role of the federal authorities needs to be clarified. We are currently cooperating on National Research Programme 71 “Sharing Economy: Hype or Promise?” which is investigating the energy-efficiency of collaborative mobility. A survey that also aims to research rebound effects is currently starting. Sharing services should enable energy-efficient mobility. Third, the authorities must focus more on pedestrians and cyclists. Non-motorised transport is the poor relation of federal transport policy and an area in which we are not pioneers in Switzerland – even when compared to states with less favourable climate conditions.

So you would make the federal authorities more accountable?

Switzerland has not had a really innovative transport project since the emergence of car sharing. Impetus from the state could get things moving here. Given that price sensitivity is relatively low in Switzerland, we could also be far more innovative and brave. And if we do not rapidly advance innovative concepts with public transport and sharing, we will be overtaken by the development of (fully) automated cars. It is clear to me that a number of appear to be most willing to invest in this area at the moment. But many fail to recognise the major challenges involved. With automated cars, almost all of the limitations relating to car use would be eliminated and mileage could explode – what’s more, at the expense of the environment.  

Federal authorities seek sustainable mobility concepts

Switzerland’s federal department for infrastructure and the environment (DETEC) supports ideas and approaches for future-proof mobility. The DZM (Service Centre for Innovative and Sustainable Mobility) was established for this purpose as part of a pilot scheme. On the completion of its consolidation phase, it shall act as KOMO (Coordination Office for Sustainable Mobility) and become established as the central point of contact for sustainable mobility projects. When it comes to improving the performance and sustainability of the overall transport system, particular emphasis is assigned to the interfaces between different transport modes. Accordingly, actors seeking funding are jointly assessed by experts from the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE), Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE), Federal Roads Office (ASTRA), Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Federal Office of Transport (BAV) and Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH).

Link (in German, French and Italian): www.are.admin.ch

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 26.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Die-Schweiz-koennte-viel-mutiger-sein.html

« La Suisse pourrait faire preuve de plus de courage en matière de mobilité »

La mobilité, personne ne peut s’en passer ; il est en revanche plus facile de renoncer à une deuxième voiture. C’est ce qu’affirme Daniel Matti, expert en transports chez Interface Études politiques Recherche Conseil. Il voit du potentiel dans la mobilité collaborative et invite la Confédération à se montrer plus courageuse dans ce domaine.

Interview: Yvonne von Hunnius, 24.2.2016

Géographe de formation, il dirige le secteur Transport et Espace chez Interface Études politiques Recherche Conseil à Lucerne. Ses thèmes de réflexion principaux sont la mobilité, le développement territorial et l’évolution démographique.

Comment les Suisses peuvent-ils ménager l’environnement sans perdre de leur mobilité ?

Ils peuvent commencer par le test de mobilité que propose la plateforme « Saisir la mobilité suisse ». Cette plateforme est gérée par des partenaires aussi bien publics que privés. Elle donne chaque année quelque 5000 consultations individualisées de mobilité. Elle détermine par exemple les effets de la mobilité individuelle sur l’environnement, calcule le temps et l’argent qu’elle nécessite et propose des solutions de remplacement. Les personnes qui l’ont consultée attachent beaucoup d’importance aux aspects environnementaux, avant les questions d’argent et de temps.

Et vos conseils changent vraiment quelque chose ?

Une enquête a montré que 5 à 10 % des personnes qui ont consulté la plateforme se sont servi des conseils pour choisir un véhicule et ont renoncé à une deuxième voiture, voire à la première. En général, si on parcourt des kilomètres, c’est qu’on possède une voiture. Le bilan énergétique de l’autopartage en est un bon exemple : nous l’avons dressé pour la première fois en 2006 sur mandat de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie et il a récemment été actualisé. Mobility a permis d’économiser l’équivalent de 8,8 millions de litres d’essence en 2014. C’est là un bilan positif qui est obtenu par une fraction relativement faible des utilisateurs de Mobility, ceux qui ne possèdent pas de voiture, mais qui ont un impact tel qu’en fin de compte ils permettent d’économiser de l’énergie.

Qui sont les personnes qui renoncent à leur voiture pour passer à l’autopartage ?

Il s’agit souvent de personnes qui connaissent un changement dans leur vie, comme un déménagement. Ainsi, nous signalons l’analyse de mobilité par exemple dans des brochures pour nouveaux résidents, comme dans la commune de Köniz. C’est justement dans ces moments-là que chacun peut réorganiser sa mobilité – sinon, c’est la routine.

Où voyez-vous encore des potentiels de partage ?

On pourrait par exemple couvrir les heures creuses dans les régions périphériques avec de nouveaux concepts de partage. L’autopartage (carsharing) ou le co-voiturage (carpooling) sont de parfaits compléments aux transports publics ou au système de bus à la demande. En effet, ces offres sont encore trop concentrées dans les villes et les agglomérations. Toutefois, la mobilité collaborative va encore élargir son offre même dans les régions périphériques, dès que les gros transporteurs, comme les CFF et CarPostal Suisse SA, développeront ce type d’activités.

Où se situe la Suisse en termes de mobilité ?

Comment la mobilité peut-elle être conçue de manière plus durable ? Je vois trois éléments de réponse. D’abord, aucun changement radical ne peut se faire sans tarification de la mobilité (mobility pricing), c’est-à-dire une redevance liée à l’utilisation de l’infrastructure et des services dans les transports individuels et dans les transports publics. Pour le moment, seuls les transports publics peuvent la mettre en œuvre, mais il est important qu’ils n’y perdent pas en attractivité. Ensuite, la mobilité collaborative a besoin de bonnes conditions cadres, mais là, il faut résoudre quelques problèmes juridiques et définir le rôle de la Confédération. Actuellement, nous collaborons au projet de recherche PNR 71 « Consommation collaborative : effet de mode ou réelle promesse ? » qui étudie le bilan énergétique de la mobilité collaborative. Ce projet a lancé une vaste enquête pour déterminer aussi les effets de rebond. Les offres de partage sont en effet censées permettre une mobilité efficiente en termes d’énergie. Enfin, les autorités doivent prêter plus d’attention aux piétons et aux cyclistes. La mobilité douce est le parent pauvre de la politique fédérale des transports. C’est un domaine où la Suisse n’est pas à l’avant-garde, même par rapport aux pays qui ont des conditions climatiques moins favorables.

Vous pensez donc que la Confédération devrait s’engager davantage ?

Depuis la percée de l’autopartage, la Suisse n’a plus connu aucun projet de transport vraiment innovant. C’est d’ailleurs un point où des impulsions de l’État pourraient faire bouger les choses. On pourrait donc aussi être plus innovant et plus audacieux parce que, en Suisse, la sensibilité aux prix est relativement faible. De plus, si nous ne développons pas très vite des concepts novateurs avec les transports publics et les prestataires de partage, nous serons dépassés par les progrès des véhicules (entièrement) automatisés. Sur ce point, je décèle chez différents acteurs une grande volonté d’investir, alors que beaucoup méconnaissent les enjeux, qui sont de taille. Des véhicules automatisés font vite tomber toutes les restrictions à l’usage de la voiture et le nombre de kilomètres parcourus pourrait exploser, bien sûr aux dépens de l’environnement.  

La Confédération cherche des stratégies de mobilité durable

Le Département de l’infrastructure et de l’environnement (DETEC) soutient les idées et les approches d’une mobilité du futur. À ce titre, il mène un projet pilote intitulé Centre de services pour une mobilité novatrice et durable. Une fois le projet consolidé, le centre fonctionnera comme Bureau de coordination pour la mobilité durable (COMO) et s’établira en tant que plateforme centrale pour les projets en lien avec la mobilité durable. Il se focalisera sur le domaine des interfaces entre les différents modes de transport pour améliorer la capacité et la durabilité de l'ensemble du système des transports. Les demandes de subventions seront donc évaluées en commun par les responsables techniques des offices fédéraux de l’énergie (OFEN), du développement territorial (ARE), des routes (OFROU), de l’environnement (OFEV), des transports (OFT) et de la santé (OFSP).

Link: www.are.admin.ch

Commentaires

*
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Ne sera pas publiée.

Accéder à la nétiquette et les principes rédactionnels. Vos données seront enregistrées pendant 60 jours sur le serveur de l’Administration fédérale pour que nous puissions traiter votre commentaire.

Dernière modification 08.07.2016

Début de la page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Die-Schweiz-koennte-viel-mutiger-sein.html