Shoulder to shoulder with the natural environment

The concept of a green economy is a modern one. However, due to economic pressures, a sparing approach to scarce resources has always been part of everyday life in the Alpine region. In many cases, what appears to represent an ideal today amounts to the ‘green economy’ of yesteryear.

By Manuela Ziegler, 15.12.2015

p_00063706
Haymaking around 1900, Engadin, Switzerland.
© CC Gemeinfrei

High up on the Alpine pastures, nature appears to have remained unspoiled. However, like many other natural beauties in the Alpine region, the Alpine pasture is, in fact, a cultural landscape formed by humans. The intactness of the Alpine pastures is down to sustainable management, an approach that our ancestors would not necessarily have designated as such. In many cases, adapting individual lifestyles to the scarcity of resources was simply essential for survival.

Natural forest, as if!
Since time immemorial forests were not just a habitat and living space but also part of the basic food supply. They acted pastures for cows and goats.

p_00071942
© BAFU/Markus Bolliger

Overgrazing was not uncommon due to the attempt to increase yields. Soil erosion arose as a result. “The farmers affected by this were forced to restore a natural balance,” says Paul Messerli, a retired cultural geographer of the University of Bern. He also quotes the Grindelwald valley agreement (Taleinungsbrief) of 1404, which became world-renowned thanks to Elinor Ostrom, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics in 2009. Based on this example, the American economist and political scientist showed how the community-based management of scarce common goods like water, pastureland, forests and air can succeed.

In search of balance
The valley agreement studied by Ostrom was an accord between Interlaken Monastery as the landowner and the farmers as land users. The two parties agreed that the number of cows to be allowed to graze on the Alpine pasture in summer should not exceed the number that could be sustained in winter by the fodder produced in the valley. “This strategy aims to strike a balance between the use of the Alpine pasture and valley, and highlights the fact that the reproduction of resources must be taken into consideration in production,” explains cultural geographer Messerli. For as long as our ancestors were unable to leave their locations to find and use new resources, the circular economy was vital for their survival.

Optimum use of terraces
Human interventions in nature did not always require the adoption of a new approach as in the case of the Grindelwald valley agreement. It has been shown that the field terraces near Guarda in the Unterengadin region have been used as productive land since 2000 BC.

Guarda
Guarda, Grisons, Switzerland.
© Schweizer Luftwaffe

“These are an example of how the transformation of nature and long-term land use do not automatically result in the destruction of nature,” says Werner Bätzing, also a retired cultural geographer from the University of Erlangen. The same applies to vineyard terraces as found in Valais, the Aosta Valley and Valtellina. “The steep slopes were stabilized so well and permanently.  At the same time a habitat formed for specialised animals and plants,” says Bätzig.

Suonen irrigation channels under pressure
Bätzing stresses, however, that the Alpine cultural landscapes were generally unstable and required constant ecological stabilisation measures in the course of their use. In his view the principle of balance is too static. Our environmental conditions are changeable. This is demonstrated by the suonen, the irrigation channels found on the slopes of the low-precipitation Rhone valley. This form of agricultural irrigation using mountain and glacier streams has been in operation for at least one thousand years.

1280px-Bisse_de_Montorge_(4)
Suone in Valais, Switzerland.
© Pelerin CC BY-SA 3.0

But for how much longer? The globalised economy does not call a halt at the overexploitation of water resources. According to the predictions  of National Research Project NFP61 on the topic of sustainable water management, which is led by hydrologist Christian Leibundgut, global energy scarcity, climate change and continuous economic growth could lead to conflicts regarding the use of water in future. The aim of the research is to balance economic, social and ecological considerations in the context of water use.

Switzerland’s forests are changing
However, sustainable management is extremely complex in the context of global trade flows. This is demonstrated by the example of Swiss forests. For centuries they were the country’s most important energy source. They were threatened with collapse in the 19th century due to the demand for wood from a rapidly expanding population. “The pressure on the forests did not decline until the large-scale import of foreign energy sources. This also paved the way for sustainability,” says Martin Stuber, an environmental historian at the University of Bern. This trend proved to have a downside, however, as the income from wood production became increasingly precarious from from the 1960s.

“The forestry sector responded with better access to forest roads, more greater operational efficiency and more technical support,” says the environmental historian. Around one quarter of the Swiss forest is now FSC-certified. Forests also fulfil an important function through their social use as leisure forests and conflicts with economic objectives are not uncommon in urban areas, in particular. Even on a small scale, green management is a big project.

"Suonen" distribute the scarce water

The dry climate of the region of Valais was probably what forced its original inhabitants to irrigate their crops. The possibility of Roman influences are also discussed. The suonen (suoha in old high German, i.e. ditch) run along the northern and southern slopes of the Rhone valley and are supplied with water by the mountain and glacier streams. Most suonen are up to two kilometres in length while the longest is over 30 kilometres long. Their gradient was crucial to their functioning. The channels, which were traditionally built in wood, run through the soil but in some cases were cut into stone or walled. Their course is stabilised by laterally erected stone slabs. Building and maintaining the Suonen was a dangerous task. Many of them are still in operation today for sprinkler irrigation. They also assumed a secondary function as hiking paths.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 15.12.2015

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Auf-Tuchfuehlung-mit-der-natuerlichen-Umwelt.html

En symbiose avec l’environnement naturel

Le concept d’économie verte est moderne. Mais dans l’arc alpin, du fait de la pression économique, les ressources ont toujours été rares et utilisées avec modération : le caractère idyllique d’aujourd’hui est souvent le résultat de l’« économie verte » d’hier.

Par Manuela Ziegler, 15.12.2015

p_00063706
La fenaison en Engadine vers 1900.
© CC Gemeinfrei

Ici, sur l’alpe, la nature semble être restée virginale. Mais les alpages, comme de nombreuses autres beautés de la nature dans l’espace alpin, sont en fait des paysages culturels façonnés par l’homme. S’ils semblent être restés intacts, c’est grâce à un mode de gestion durable, que nos ancêtres ne voyaient pas nécessairement ainsi : ils étaient simplement obligés, pour survivre, d’adapter leur mode de vie aux faibles ressources dont ils disposaient.

Des forêts tout sauf naturelles
Si la forêt a de tout temps été un milieu naturel, elle a aussi constitué une source de nourriture, en servant par exemple de pâturage pour les vaches et les chèvres.

p_00071942
© BAFU/Markus Bolliger

Il n’était toutefois pas rare que, pour augmenter le rendement, on en arrive à un surpâturage, conduisant à l’érosion des sols. « Ceux qui vivaient là étaient obligés de rétablir l’équilibre naturel », explique Paul Messerli, géographe culturel émérite à l’Université de Berne. Et de citer la lettre d’unification de la vallée de Grindelwald (Taleinungsbrief), datée de 1404, qu’Elinor Ostrom, prix Nobel d’économie en 2009, a fait connaître dans le monde entier. Cette Américaine, économiste et politologue, a défini les conditions d’une saine gestion collective des biens communs limités, tels que pâturages, forêts, eau et air.

En quête d’équilibre
La lettre étudiée par Ostrom est un accord entre le couvent d’Interlaken, propriétaire des terres, et les paysans qui les exploitent. Les deux parties avaient convenu de ne pas laisser pâturer sur l’alpe plus de vaches qu’il n’était possible d’en nourrir durant l’hiver avec le fourrage récolté en fond de vallée. « Cette stratégie vise à établir un équilibre entre l’exploitation des alpages et l’exploitation de la vallée ; elle montre que l’on ne peut pas envisager la production sans penser à la régénération des ressources », estime Messerli. L’économie circulaire a été vitale pour nos ancêtres tant qu’ils n’ont pas pu quitter leur lieu de vie pour chercher de nouvelles ressources.

Une utilisation optimale des terrasses
Il n’a cependant pas toujours été nécessaire de corriger le cours des interventions humaines dans la nature. Des études ont notamment montré que les champs en terrasses de Guarda, en Basse-Engadine, sont utilisés comme surfaces productives depuis 2000 av. J.-C.

Guarda
Guarda, Canton des Grisons.
© Schweizer Luftwaffe

« Ces exemples prouvent que les modifications de la nature et un usage prolongé ne sont pas toujours synonymes de destruction de la nature », affirme Werner Bätzing, lui aussi géographe culturel émérite, mais à l’Université d’Erlangen. Il en va de même pour les vignobles en terrasses situés en Valais, dans le val d’Aoste et en Valteline. « On a stabilisé les pentes raides le mieux possible, de façon à ce qu’elles tiennent longtemps et, ce faisant, on a créé un habitat qui a attiré des animaux et des végétaux particuliers », précise Bätzig.

Les bisses sous pression
Bätzing insiste toutefois sur le fait que les paysages culturels alpins, par nature instables, ont régulièrement dû être stabilisés. Il juge par ailleurs que le principe d’équilibre est trop statique, car nos conditions environnementales sont changeantes. Il cite l’exemple des bisses, ces rigoles d’amenée d’eau creusées sur les flancs de la vallée du Rhône, où les précipitations sont peu abondantes. Grâce aux ruisseaux de montagne et aux torrents glaciaires, ce type d’irrigation des surfaces agricoles fonctionne depuis au moins un millier d’années.

1280px-Bisse_de_Montorge_(4)
Un bisse en Valais.
© Pelerin CC BY-SA 3.0

Mais pour combien de temps encore ? La question des ressources en eau n’arrête pas la marche de l’économie mondialisée. L’épuisement des ressources énergétiques mondiales, les changements climatiques et la croissance économique pourraient à l’avenir provoquer des conflits autour de l’usage de l’eau, selon les prévisions du programme national de recherche PNR61 sur la gestion durable de l’eau, dirigé par Christian Leibundgut, hydrologue. Les recherches menées dans le cadre de ce programme ont pour but d’intégrer les considérations économiques, sociétales et écologiques dans la gestion de l’eau, sans privilégier les unes par rapport aux autres.

La forêt suisse se transforme
Les flux commerciaux mondiaux rendent la gestion durable extrêmement complexe, comme l’illustre en particulier la forêt suisse. Pendant des siècles, celle-ci a constitué la source d’énergie la plus importante du pays. Puis, au 19e siècle, elle s’est retrouvée sous pression en raison de l’augmentation de la population et de ses besoins en bois. « Il a fallu l’apport à grande échelle d’une énergie extérieure, comme le pétrole ou le gaz naturel, pour sauver la forêt et ouvrir la voie à la durabilité », rappelle Martin Stuber, historien de l’environnement à l’Université de Berne. Ce fut un tournant majeur, mais qui a eu pour revers, depuis les années 1960, de précariser le secteur forestier.

« L’économie forestière a réagi en améliorant les dessertes et l’organisation du travail et en se mécanisant », indique l’historien. Un quart des forêts suisses ont obtenu depuis le label FSC. Il reste la composante sociétale de l’usage de la forêt pour les loisirs, qui entre parfois en conflit avec les objectifs économiques, surtout à proximité des villes. À petite échelle aussi, l’économie verte reste un grand projet.

Les bisses distribuent les rares ressources en eau

Il est probable que le climat sec du Valais obligeait déjà les premiers habitants du pays à irriguer leurs surfaces agricoles. Des influences romaines ne sont pas non plus à exclure. Les bisses courent sur les versants nord et sud de la vallée du Rhône, alimentés par les ruisseaux de montagne et les torrents glaciaires. Beaucoup atteignent à peine deux kilomètres, alors que le plus long dépasse la trentaine. Utilisant la gravité pour acheminer l’eau, ces canaux à faible pente, traditionnellement en bois, passent dans la terre, mais ont parfois dû être creusés dans le rocher ou soutenus par des murs. Des dalles de pierre dressées sur les côtés stabilisent leur cours. Leur construction et leur entretien étaient dangereux. De nombreux bisses fonctionnent encore aujourd’hui pour l’irrigation par arrosage, et certains connaissent une seconde vie en tant que sentiers de randonnée.

Commentaires

*
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Sera publié avec votre commentaire.
*
Ne sera pas publiée.

Accéder à la nétiquette et les principes rédactionnels. Vos données seront enregistrées pendant 60 jours sur le serveur de l’Administration fédérale pour que nous puissions traiter votre commentaire.

Dernière modification 15.12.2015

Début de la page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Auf-Tuchfuehlung-mit-der-natuerlichen-Umwelt.html