Switzerland gets going with the recycling of construction waste

Between 70 and 80 million tonnes of construction materials are needed every year throughout Switzerland. Around 10 percent of this requirement – 9.3 million tonnes – is met by recycled building materials. However, considerable potential still exists in this area. The advantages are obvious.

“The digital transformation is the new green economy”

Swiss innovations can make a major contribution to increasing the resource efficiency of the global economy. Ruedi Noser, a member of the upper house of the Swiss parliament, the Council of States, appeals for greater courage... more

How a Zurich start-up facilitates climate-friendly portfolios

Climate change could generate billions in costs for investors. However, concrete information about this is very scarce. Zurich start-up Carbon Delta collects the corresponding data and process them for use by portfolio managers... more

Sustainability has become a matter for the bosses

Sustainability and resource efficiency have become drivers of innovation for many companies. As the Swiss Green Economy Forum showed, this process gives rise to new products, services and business models. Considerable unexploited potential still exists in this area... more

Im Lenz.PNG

Sustainable Neighbourhoods: Models for Tomorrow’s Switzerland

The Swiss population is growing but the available living space remains the same. How can Switzerland prevent the negative impacts of this development? Sustainable neighbourhoods show how this can be done, and are in greater demand... more

seilbahn Portland2

Beating the traffic in gondola lifts – a possible solution for Switzerland?

Cities are discovering the advantages of cable railways for themselves. They add a resource-conserving option to the modal transport mix and fill gaps in the network. Cable railway projects are sprouting up all over the world and the debate surrounding their use... more

When resource efficiency generates innovation

The best innovations are those from which the economy, consumers and the environment benefit. The hydroculture greenhouse in Oftringen in the canton of Aargau has clearly set itself this objective... more

Every product has an optimal life cycle

Buy, use, throw away – the cycle that drives the consumer society turns ever faster. People who try to slow down this dynamic see... more

Screenshot-Video Feldschloesschen

Video: Brewing beer and protecting resources? A visit to a large brewery in Switzerland

Beer is very popular in Switzerland. Brewed from pure water, hops and malt, it contains only natural ingredients... play video

Shoulder to shoulder with the natural environment

The food trade is an integral part of our everyday lives. Moreover, food accounts for over 25 percent of Switzerland’s environmental impacts. The WWF’s environmental rating system aims to demonstrate how
the sector’s biggest players are working to protect the environment... more

p_00063706

Shoulder to shoulder with the natural environment

The concept of a green economy is a modern one. However, due to economic pressures, a sparing approach to scarce resources has always been part of everyday life in the Alpine region. In many cases, what appears to represent an ideal today amounts to the ‘green economy’ of yesteryear... more

COP21 Paris

Companies reduce their CO2 emissions

The international community will strive to find solutions for reducing CO2 emissions at the 21st United Nations climate conference, which takes place... more

Protecting the climate over lunch

Eating is a question of taste. But CO2 doesn’t have a taste. The clever combining of ingredients can help to achieve significant reductions in emissions of this harmful climate gas. Restaurant... more

Kanada

Green economy on the up and up

More and more countries and companies are focusing on resource  efficiency, the circular economy and sustainability. Along with ecological motives, economic factors also play a prominent role here.  Resource conservation pays off: sustainable products and services go down well with consumers... more

Digitisation spurs on resource efficiency

If we want to save on natural resources, we must measure, record and regulate their consumption. According to scientist and practitioner Maurice Jutz, vast potential exists here for the optimisation of products and processes and it can also be exploited through digitisation.

Companies make progress in sustainability

The issue of sustainability has gained ground in companies in Switzerland. A study by the Federal Office for the Environment reveals that large companies are open to sustainability-related measures, while SMEs need more support... more

Hull Separator_Schalenseparator_22964

Global food production is being revolutionised in Uzwil

Global food production is being revolutionised by the technology designed here: Bühler, a Uzwil-based process technology company, has machines that grind grains and coffee or produce breakfast cereals. Each generation... more

Terasse hotel Belvoir

Resource conservation a matter of quality

Swiss hotels are making greater efforts to reconcile efficiency, quality and sustainability while also deriving economic benefits from the associated measures. This is demonstrated by the second monitoring report on sustainability in the hotel trade by the Swiss Hotel Association, hotelleriesuisse... more

Symbolbild Farbe Umweltetikette

How voluntary action is motivating an entire sector

The paint ecolabel shows how much consideration is given to environmental, health and quality factors in the manufacture of certain types of paints and varnishes. This makes it easier for consumers to compare products and... more

On the way to decarbonisation

The big retailers may lead the field but smaller actors also have good opportunities... more

2015-10-30_IKEARothenburg Cut Out

Market power as a lever for change

Furniture concern IKEA is renowned for cheap goods but also for the democratisation of design. A less well known fact about IKEA is that it is also investing billions in its efforts to democratise sustainability... more

Material cycle innovations

Products made from raw materials that can be reused repeatedly? It works, according to the representatives of the Cradle-to-Cradle movement. And the first products... more

The circular economy as a solution to the resource crisis

Serious conflicts will arise if the economy does not rethink its approach to resources. Experts from all over the world firmly believe that the solution could lie in a circular economy... more

Six Boerse

Sustainable investment in the ascendant

Switzerland is among the world’s most important financial centres. Its pioneers identified the trend for sustainable investments at an early stage and launched the first important products of this nature.... more

Daniel Aebli, der Leiter von Stahl Gerlafingen, Christoph Zeltner, Leiter Qualität und Umwelt von Stahl Gerlafingen

“We are Switzerland’s biggest recycling operation”

Switzerland’s biggest recycling company is part of one of the oldest industrial sectors in the world: Stahl Gerlafingen produces over 600,000 tonnes of recycling steel from scrap metal every year. This material cycle... more

“We must privatise profit and risk"

For a future worth living in, we would need to take the market economy seriously, says co-founder of the Cradle-to-Cradle movement, Michael Braungart. He wants... more

Landscape: a plus for holidays in Switzerland

Switzerland’s tourism capital lies in its landscape. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO has quantified the value of the landscape for tourism alone at around CHF 70 billion... more

Grow

For an economy that meets future needs and conserves resources

A strong Swiss franc, a low interest environment, international competition and, on top of all that, a green economy – is that not asking too much? This is an entirely reasonable question... more

Step by step towards a sustainable world

The world still has quite a way to go to achieve sustainability. With the GAPFRAME, an instrument is now available that can measure the sustainability gap that remains to be closed by all countries. Also it demonstrates the relevant action fields for businesses and government. The method, which was developed in Lausanne, is based on the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)... more

Digital ideas make for a more sustainable economy

Digitisation is shaking up the economy – and benefiting natural resources in particular. The precise measurement and regulation of consumption is a key focus here. Switzerland is leading the way in this digital transformation to greater efficiency.

The fight against hunger requires innovation

The world's population is growing – a food crisis is plausible. Food production technology is underestimated as a solution, says Philipp Aerni, Director of the Center for Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability (CCRS) at the University of Zurich... more

suitanable finance2

The time is ripe for sustainable investments

Sustainable finance products as a growth strategy? A broad-based expert report identifies considerable potential in this area and proposes measures to help make financial market actors more customer-oriented and environmentally-friendly... more

Spargel

Only buy asparagus when it’s in season

Despite the fact that the asparagus season is not yet over, the vegetable has disappeared from most shops by the end of June. To prevent late asparagus from being wasted... more

Portrait Cyril Dion

Sustainable business can be fun

The César-winning French documentary film Tomorrow, which is directed by actor Mélanie Laurent and activist Cyril Dion, shows people living by alternative economic models. Their drive and energy makes them beacons of hope in the battle against a global collapse... more

ETH Kuppel

Swiss education is plotting its course to sustainability

Many actors are promoting the themes of sustainable development and resource conservation in university and vocational education. Priority is often given to a... more

Public and private transport must join forces

Nowhere is comfort and convenience a greater obstacle to environmentally-friendly behaviour than in the area of mobility. However, shared mobility concepts promise both ... more

“Switzerland could be a lot braver!”

Nobody can get by without mobility – but they can manage without a second car... more

Thalmann

On the way to decarbonisation

An economy that is free from dependence on oil, coal and gas... more

Thomas Breu

IKEA – a pioneer with room to improve: Interview with Thomas Breu

A sustainability expert from the University of Bern assesses IKEA’s commitment as comprehensive but also identifies some critical points... more

Climate protection has to taste good

Since 2013, 110 canteens and staff restaurants operated by SV Schweiz have set themselves ambitious CO2 goals with the ONE TWO WE climate programme. But “enjoyment must always be the top priority,” says the SV Group’s Chief Marketing Officer Peter Lutz... more

“If air travel is a must, CO2 compensation must be paid.”

A journey by aeroplane is such a costly item in terms of the CO2 holiday accounts that taking the train is always a better option. But what should we do if this is not possible? more

USM

How efficiency generates green innovation

A solution should be simple and provide the greatest possible benefit. Ecodesign expert Rainer Züst is not a great believer in rules... more

Ricola’s new herb centre combines business with nature

Ricola’s herbal powers are now stored in Europe’s biggest earth building – the Kräuterzentrum herb centre designed by star architects Herzog & de Meuron. Ricola’s herb processing operations have been centred there since 2014. The pioneering project... more

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret.html

La Suisse avance dans le recyclage des déchets de chantier

Chaque année, la Suisse consomme 70 à 80 millions de tonnes de matériaux de construction, dont seulement 10 % environ (9,3 millions de tonnes) proviennent de matériaux recyclés. Ce secteur présente donc un grand potentiel de développement – et de nombreux atouts.

« La révolution numérique est la nouvelle économie verte. »

L’innovation suisse peut contribuer de façon déterminante à augmenter l’efficacité des ressources utilisées par l’économie dans le monde entier. Le conseiller aux États zurichois Ruedi Noser plaide pour une attitude plus courageuse face aux innovations. Selon lui, il faut se départir de ses œillères... plus

Comment une start-up zurichoise entend rendre les portefeuilles compatibles avec le climat

Le changement climatique pourrait coûter des milliards aux investisseurs. Pourtant, il existe encore très peu de données concrètes sur le sujet. Pour pallier ce manque, la start-up zurichoise Carbon Delta a commencé à compiler et à analyser des données... plus

Le développement durable, un enjeu majeur dans le monde de l’entreprise

Pour beaucoup d’entreprises, le développement durable et l’efficacité dans l’utilisation des ressources sont devenus des moteurs de l’innovation : ils poussent à concevoir de nouveaux produits, services et modèles d’affaires, comme l’a montré le Swiss Green Economy Forum... plus

Im Lenz.PNG

Quartiers durables : une solution pour la Suisse de demain ?

La population de la Suisse croît, mais pas les zones constructibles. Comment la Suisse peut-elle éviter les retombées négatives d’une telle évolution ? Les quartiers durables montrent l’exemple et rencontrent un succès sans précédent... plus

seilbahn Portland2

Des télécabines pour échapper aux embouteillages : pourquoi pas en Suisse ?

Les villes découvrent l’intérêt des télécabines : c’est un moyen de transport peu gourmand en ressources, qui complète le mix modal en comblant les lacunes dans le réseau. Des projets voient le jour dans des villes du monde entier tandis qu’en Suisse, pays emblématique du transport à câbles... plus

Quand l’efficacité des ressources pousse l’innovation

Les meilleures innovations sont celles qui profitent à la fois à l’économie, aux consommateurs et à l’environnement. C’est ce même objectif que poursuivent les exploitants de la nouvelle serre de culture hydroponique à Oftringen... plus

Screenshot-Video Feldschloesschen

Vidéo : Brasser la bière et préserver les ressources ? Visite d’une grande brasserie

En Suisse, la bière est une boisson très prisée: en 2014, le consommateur moyen en a bu 56 litres... Regarder la vidéo

p_00063706

En symbiose avec l’environnement naturel

Le concept d’économie verte est moderne. Mais dans l’arc alpin, du fait de la pression économique, les ressources ont toujours été rares et utilisées avec modération : le caractère idyllique d’aujourd’hui est souvent le résultat de l’économie verte d’hier... plus

Paris Cop21

Les entreprises réduisent leurs émissions de CO2

Les efforts pour réduire les émissions de CO2 sont l’un des thèmes abordés dans le cadre de la 21e Conférence des parties de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (COP21) qui... plus

« Nous devons privatiser les profits et les risques. »

Pour que notre avenir vaille la peine d’être vécu, il faut prendre l’économie de marché au sérieux, affirme le cofondateur du mouvement « cradle to cradle », Michael Braungart. Il veut... plus

Agir pour le climat pendant la pause de midi

Manger est une question de goût ; le CO2, lui, n’en a pas. Dommage, car beaucoup d’émissions nocives pour le climat peuvent être évitées si l’on choisit mieux le contenu de son assiette ! Des établissements... plus

Le paysage : un atout pour attirer les vacanciers en Suisse

Le capital touristique de la Suisse réside dans son paysage. Selon le Secrétariat d’État à l’économie (SECO), la valeur du paysage pour le tourisme se chiffre à quelque 70 milliards de francs... plus

USM

Efficacité énergétique et innovation verte

Une solution doit être simple et offrir la plus grande utilité possible. L’expert en écoconception Rainer Züst ne fait pas grand cas des directives... plus

Kanada

L’économie verte a le vent en poupe

De plus en plus de pays et d’entreprises misent sur l’efficacité des  ressources, l’économie circulaire et la durabilité. Les motivations sont écologiques, mais aussi et surtout économiques : l’utilisation efficace des ressources est rentable, et les produits et services durables sont  appréciés des consommateurs... plus

La numérisation au service de l’efficacité des ressources

Si l’on veut économiser les ressources naturelles, il faut recenser, mesurer et réglementer leur utilisation. L’optimisation des produits et des processus renferme un grand potentiel, que la numérisation permet d’exploiter, affirme le scientifique Maurice Jutz.

Les entreprises avancent sur la question du développement durable

Le thème du développement durable s’est invité dans les entreprises suisses. Selon une étude de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement, les grandes entreprises sont ouvertes à des mesures dans ce domaine ; les PME, en revanche, ont encore besoin de soutien... plus

Hull Separator_Schalenseparator_22964

À Uzwil, on révolutionne l’alimentation mondiale

Ce qui se conçoit ici révolutionne la production mondiale de denrées alimentaires : les machines du groupe Bühler, spécialisé dans l’industrie agroalimentaire et basé à Uzwil (Saint-Gall), moulent des céréales, du café et produisent des céréales pour le petit déjeuner. Chaque nouvelle génération de procédés technologiques... plus

Terasse hotel Belvoir

Préserver les ressources pour assurer la qualité

Les hôtels cherchent de plus en plus à concilier efficience, qualité et durabilité et à en  dégager un bénéfice économique. C’est la conclusion du deuxième rapport de monitoring  du développement durable  dans l’hôtellerie suisse publié en mai 2016... plus

Symbolbild Farbe Umweltetikette

Quand engagement volontaire rime avec efficacité environnementale

L’Étiquette environnementale indique dans quelle mesure les peintures et les vernis destinés à différentes applications respectent l’environnement, la santé et les normes de qualité. Elle facilite la comparaison entre les produits. Elle a aussi ... plus

Il faut conjuguer transports publics et transports privés

En matière de mobilité plus que dans tout autre domaine, la commodité prime souvent sur le comportement écoresponsable. Les solutions d’autopartage allient pourtant confort et... plus

À la recherche de la durée de vie optimale d'un produit

Acheter, utiliser, jeter : tel est le cycle de consommation de notre société... plus

Thalmann

Sur la voie de la décarbonisation

Interview avec Philippe Thalmann :
Une économie sans pétrole, charbon ou gaz naturel... plus

2015-10-30_IKEARothenburg Cut Out

Le pouvoir du marché comme levier du changement

Si le géant de l’ameublement IKEA fait référence pour ses produits bon marché et son design démocratique, nous savons moins qu’il investit également des milliards dans le développement durable... plus

Innovations dans le cycle des matières

Des produits issus de matières premières réutilisables à l’infini ? C’est possible, affirment les tenants du « cradle to cradle » (C2C). D’ailleurs, la Suisse est pionnière... plus

L’économie circulaire pourrait être la solution

Si l’économie ne repense pas son rapport aux ressources, de graves conflits sont inéluctables. Des experts du monde entier en sont certains : l’économie circulaire pourrait être la solution... plus

Six Boerse

Les investissements durables ont le vent en poupe

La Suisse fait partie des principales places financières mondiales. Certains de ses acteurs, dotés d'un esprit pionnier, ont été parmi les premiers à percevoir l’intérêt pour les placements durables et à développer des instruments ad hoc... plus

Daniel Aebli, der Leiter von Stahl Gerlafingen, Christoph Zeltner, Leiter Qualität und Umwelt von Stahl Gerlafingen

«Nous sommes la plus grande entreprise de recyclage de Suisse»

La plus grande entreprise suisse de recyclage, Stahl Gerlafingen, travaille dans l’une des plus vieilles branches de l’industrie mondiale. Elle produit annuellement plus 600 000 tonnes d’acier recyclé à partir de ferraille, apportant ainsi... plus

Grow

Pour une économie sobre en ressources et porteuse d'avenir

Le franc fort, les taux d'intérêt bas, la pression liée à la concurrence internationale et maintenant l'économie verte – la coupe est-elle pleine ? Cette question est justifiée... plus

Pas à pas vers un monde durable

Le monde a encore du chemin à parcourir avant d’atteindre la durabilité. Désormais, cet écart peut être mesuré grâce à GAPFRAME, un instrument conçu à Lausanne, qui met en lumière les champs d’action possibles pour les pays et les entreprises. La méthodologie qu’il applique repose sur les 17 Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) définis par l’ONU. plus

Des idées numériques pour une économie plus durable

La numérisation est en train de transformer l’économie. La bonne nouvelle est que cela permettra de préserver des ressources naturelles. Comment ? En mesurant et en ajustant la consommation avec précision. Les Suisses sont à l’avant-garde de cette révolution numérique... plus

L’innovation au service de la lutte contre la faim

La population mondiale augmente et une crise alimentaire s’annonce. Face à cette perspective, les possibilités qu’offre le domaine technique de la production alimentaire sont largement sous-estimées, juge Philipp Aerni, directeur du Center for Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability (CCRS)... plus

suitanable finance2

Les temps sont mûrs pour les placements durables

Inclure des produits financiers durables dans une stratégie de croissance? Un rapport d'experts bien étayé y voit un grand potentiel. Il propose des mesures pour mieux sensibiliser les acteurs du marché financier aux questions environnementales et aux besoins de leurs clients...plus

Spargel

Les asperges s’achètent en saison!

Fin juin, les asperges ont déjà pratiquement disparu des étalages alors que la saison en Suisse est loin d’être terminée. Pour éviter que les dernières asperges récoltées soient jetées... plus

Portrait Cyril Dion

Des modèles alternatifs pour sauver le monde ?

Récompensé par un César, le documentaire « Demain » réalisé par l’actrice Mélanie Laurent et le militant Cyril Dion montre des personnes pratiquant des modèles économiques alternatifs. Leur énergie apporte un souffle d’espoir dans la lutte contre un effondrement du système mondial... plus

ETH Kuppel

La formation suisse prend la voie du développement durable

De nombreux acteurs sont favorables à l’intégration dans l’enseignement supérieur et la formation professionnelle du développement durable et de la préservation des ressources ; on voit même des actions concertées... plus

« La Suisse pourrait faire preuve de plus de courage en matière de mobilité »

Interview avec Daniel Matti: La mobilité, personne ne peut s’en passer ; il est en revanche plus facile de renoncer à une deuxième voiture ... plus

Pour que l’environnement ne fasse pas les frais de nos achats

Le commerce de produits alimentaires est étroitement lié à notre quotidien. En effet, l’alimentation est responsable de plus de 25 % des atteintes à l’environnement causées en Suisse. La notation environnementale réalisée par le WWF analyse l’engagement écologique des principaux acteurs du secteur... plus

«Nous voulons fixer une date butoir»

Interview avec Jenniffer Zimmermann: Les grands détaillants ont une longueur d’avance, mais les ... plus

Thomas Breu

IKEA est une entreprise pionnière avec un potentiel d’amélioration – Interview avec Thomas Breu

L’expert en développement durable Thomas Breu, de l’Université de Berne, pense que l’engagement d’IKEA estvaste, mais il formule également quelques critiques... plus

Protection du climat doit rimer avec plaisir gustatif

Chez SV Suisse, 110 cantines et restaurants d’entreprise ont adopté en 2013 le programme ONE TWO WE, qui fixe des objectifs ambitieux en matière de CO2. Mais le plaisir gustatif doit toujours passer avant, précise Peter Lutz, responsable du marketing chez SV Group... plus

« Si vous devez prendre l’avion, compensez au moins vos émissions de CO2 »

Un voyage en avion alourdit tellement le compte des émissions de CO2 des vacances que le train est toujours un meilleur choix. Alors que faire lorsque la destination visée n’est pas accessible par le rail... plus

Le nouveau Kräuterzentrum de Ricola allie nature et économie

Depuis 2014, toute la force des herbes Ricola est concentrée dans le plus grand bâtiment en terre glaise d’Europe – le « Kräuterzentrum » réalisé par le célèbre cabinet d’architectes Herzog & de Meuron – où Ricola centralise tous ses processus de transformation. Ce projet pionnier... plus

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/fr/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret.html