Gentler ways of living

Haus im Spiegel

Along with nutrition, living has the greatest impact on the environment. Thus consumers can have a major influence on their personal environmental impact by being aware about their living habits.

The choice of a location for your home is the first important decision. People who opt to live in apartments or houses in a city, do not usually consume additional productive land. The distances they have to travel to the workplace are usually shorter and the journeys can be made using public transport. The same applies for shopping and leisure activities. In contrast, if people require more space and the distances they travel– possibly also by car – are longer, living in green areas does not always equate with being ‘green’.

The choice of an apartment or house is the second most important decision. A large part of the Swiss housing stock was constructed in the post-war period. Little attention was paid to energy consumption until the 1980s, and it was only in the 1990s that energy-efficient construction became a conscious objective with the implementation of the Minergie low-energy consumption standard for buildings. The energy requirements of the cantonal building regulations have also been gradually tightened up since then. If you move into a new building, you can generally expect lower energy costs. When moving into older buildings, people can also find out whether windows and doors have been replaced with more energy-efficient versions and whether the façade insulation has been upgraded. Moreover, single-family detached homes usually consume more energy than multiple dwelling units. And people who would like to upgrade their buildings themselves can obtain support from the federal and cantonal authorities, for example under the provisions of the Buildings Programme.

Construction clients can also influence the selection of building materials. In recent years, Swiss wood experience a major boost as a building material. It is Switzerland’s most important renewable raw material, requires very little grey energy, stores CO2 and thus protects the climate. However, numerous other building materials are now also produced in a way that conserves natural resources as much as possible. Construction clients now have a wide choice of resource-conserving products for building and insulation materials, for the materials used in the construction of roofs and façades, and for paints and floor coverings.

People’s space requirements have a considerable influence on their environmental impact. The space required by Swiss people has increased steadily over many decades. However, it has been possible to halt this trend in the towns and cities, and even reverse it in the major cities. Whatever the location, the same principle applies: the more square metres used, the greater the environmental impact. So when children move away from home, for example, parents could consider whether a smaller home would not be sufficient for their needs.

Energy consumption is often defined for decades through the choice of heating system. Oil-powered heating generates huge emissions of the greenhouse gas CO2. For this reason, it is already banned in some countries, for example Denmark. Natural gas heating systems offer a more climate-friendly substitute because they emit less CO2. Fossil fuels can be avoided completely using a heat pump. However, it is usually only possible for house owners and not tenants to select their own heating system.

People can now reduce their footprints through their choice of energy supplier. Energy companies now supply electricity from renewable sources, in most cases for a small premium on top of the standard price. House owners can install solar systems on their roofs. Some communal energy companies also offer tenants the option of participating in the use of solar-powered systems.

When it comes to energy, in particular, residents have a major influence on consumption. This starts with the purchase of household appliances and electronic devices. The fridge, washing machine and dishwasher account for 43 percent of the electricity consumption of the average household. Lighting consumes a further 14 percent – the use of LED bulbs also has an impact on electricity consumption – and  consumer electronics and computers consume a further 10 percent. Hence it is worth taking a look at the energy labels on such appliances and devices.

A little more thought when it comes to individual behaviour can achieve a lot. The yoghurt in the fridge does not have to be cooled down to zero degrees. The washing machine and dishwasher do not have to be run when half empty. The television can be switched off when nobody is watching it. All appliances and devices do not have to be on ‘stand by’ and all lights to not have to be on at all time. Networked solutions now exist with which can be used to control some or all of the household electrical systems and devices.

The greatest impact can be achieved with heating. There is no need to heat your home to a temperature of 24 degrees Celsius in winter. If you life in a ‘Minergie’ building, you can rely on the automatic ventilation system. Otherwise; short strong blasts of fresh air are better than leaving windows open or tilted for longer periods of time. Hot water consumption is also in the hands of residents: in general, if you are more aware about the way you live, you can limit your environmental consumption without diminishing your quality of life and living conditions.

Last modification 13.08.2015

Top of page

Links:

Minergie: Website of the association (German/French/Italian)
Sustainable Construction Network Switzerland (NNBS):
Website of the association (German/French)
bauenschweiz: Website of the organization Dachorganisation der Schweizer Bauwirtschaft (German/French)
Implenia: Website (German/French)
Losinger Marazzi:
Website  (German/French)
FOEN:
Indicator Buildings meeting the Minergie-P® standard
FOEN:
Burgunder in Bümpliz (BE): Die autofreie Siedlung (German/French/Italian)
FOEN: Kalkbreite in der Stadt Zürich: Die 2000-Watt-Siedlung
ETH:
House of Natural Resources
FOEN:
Storymap: Swiss wood in buildings and objects
schweizerholz.ch:
Website (under construction)
Magazin Umwelt (FOEN):
Schöner wohnen mit Biodiversität (German/French/Italian)
FOEN:
Klimaschonendes Bauen: Auch die grauen Emissionen zählen (German/French/Italian)

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Warum_Gruene_Wirtschaft/ressourcenverbrauch-beeinflussen-als-konsument/sanfter-wohnen.html

Sanfter wohnen

Haus im Spiegel

Wohnen hat nebst der Ernährung die grösste Auswirkung auf die Umwelt. Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten können deshalb ihre persönliche Umweltbelastung durch ein bewusstes Wohnen stark beeinflussen.

Die Wahl des Standorts ist die erste wichtige Entscheidung. Wer sich für eine Wohnung oder ein Haus in der Stadt entscheidet, verbraucht meist kein zusätzliches Kulturland. Auch der Arbeitsweg wird in der Regel kürzer und kann oft mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr zurückgelegt werden. Das gleiche gilt für die Einkäufe und für die Freizeitaktivitäten. Wohnen im Grünen dagegen muss nicht immer grün sein, wenn der eigene Platzbedarf dadurch steigt und der Anfahrtsweg – womöglich mit dem eigenen Auto – sich verlängert.

Die Wahl der Wohnung oder des Hauses bildet die zweite wichtige Entscheidung. Ein grosser Teil des Schweizer Gebäudebestandes wurde in den Nachkriegsjahrzehnten errichtet. Bis in die 1980er Jahre hinein wurde auf den Energieverbrauch kaum geachtet. Erst seit den 1990er Jahren wurde etwa mit den Minergiebauten gezielt energieeffizient gebaut. Auch die kantonalen Bauvorschriften wurden seither im Energiebereich schrittweise verschärft. Wer in ein neues Gebäude einzieht, kann also in der Regel mit niedrigeren Energiekosten rechnen. Aber auch bei älteren Gebäuden kann man darauf achten, ob die Fenster und Türen energetisch saniert und ob nachträglich die Fassaden stärker isoliert worden sind. Zudem verbrauchen Einfamilienhäuser in der Regel mehr Energie als Mehrfamilienhäuser. Und wer sein Gebäude selber sanieren will, der kann auf Unterstützung von Bund und Kantonen etwa im Rahmen des Gebäudeprogramms rechnen.

Bauherrschaften haben zudem auch Einfluss auf die Wahl der Baumaterialien. So hat Schweizer Holz in den vergangenen Jahren einen grossen Aufschwung als Baumaterial erlebt. Es ist der wichtigste nachwachsende Rohstoff in der Schweiz, benötigt wenig graue Energie, speichert CO2 und schützt damit das Klima. Aber auch zahlreiche andere Baumaterialien werden inzwischen in einer Weise hergestellt, welche die natürlichen Ressourcen möglichst schont. Die Bauherrschaften haben bei den Bau- und Dämmstoffen, bei den Materialien für Dach und Fassade, bei den Farben und Bodenbelägen inzwischen eine grosse Auswahl an ressourcenschonenden Produkten.

Der eigene Platzbedarf hat einen erheblichen Einfluss auf die Umweltbelastung. Während vielen Jahrzehnten hat der Platzbedarf der Schweizerinnen und Schweizer stetig zugenommen. Inzwischen konnte dieser Trend in den Städten weitgehend gestoppt und in den grossen Städten sogar umgekehrt werden. Weiterhin gilt aber: Je mehr Quadratmeter in Anspruch genommen werden, desto grösser ihre Umweltbelastung. Wenn etwa die Kinder aus dem Haus sind, können es sich die Eltern überlegen, ob ihnen auch eine kleinere Wohnung genügt.

Mit der Wahl des Heizungssystems wird der Energieverbrauch oft für Jahrzehnte festgeschrieben. Die Ölheizung stösst massiv das Treibhausgas CO2 aus. In einigen Ländern wie etwa Dänemark sind sie deshalb bereits verboten. Erdgasheizungen bilden bereits einen klimafreundlicheren Ersatz, weil sie weniger CO2 ausstossen. Mit einer Wärmepumpe kann sogar ganz auf fossile Energieträger verzichtet werden. Allerdings steht die Wahl des Heizsystems in der Regel nur den Besitzern offen.

Auch beim Strombezug kann der eigene Fussabdruck inzwischen verringert werden. Die Energieunternehmen liefern Strom aus erneuerbaren Quellen, meist für einen kleinen Aufschlag auf den Standardpreis. Hauseigentümer können sich eine eigene Solaranlage auf das Dach setzen. Einige kommunale Energieunternehmen bieten auch Mietern Beteiligungen an Solaranlagen an.

Gerade bei der Energie haben die Bewohner einen grossen Einfluss auf den Verbrauch. Das beginnt schon beim Kauf der Haushaltsgeräte und der Elektronik. So verbrauchen Kühlschrank, Waschmaschine und Geschirrspüler 43 Prozent des gesamten Stroms in einem durchschnittlichen Haushalt. Die Beleuchtung verbraucht weitere 14 Prozent – der Einsatz von LED-Lampen hat also einen Einfluss auf den Stromverbrauch. Unterhaltungselektronik und Computer verbrauchen weitere 10 Prozent. Hier lohnt sich ein Blick auf die Energieetikette.

Ein bisschen mehr Aufmerksamkeit für das eigene Verhalten kann viel bewirken. Der Joghurt im Kühlschrank muss nicht auf 0 Grad hinuntergekühlt werden. Die Waschmaschine und der Geschirrspüler müssen nicht halbleer laufen. Der Fernseher kann ausgestellt werden, wenn niemand im Zimmer ist. Nicht alle Geräte müssen ständig auf „stand by“ laufen, nicht jedes Licht muss ständig brennen. Inzwischen gibt es vernetzte Lösungen, mit denen einige oder alle mit Strom betriebenen Geräte und Anlagen im Haushalt reguliert werden können.

Die grösste Wirkung kann allerdings bei der Heizung erzielt werden. Im Winter muss nicht auf 24 Grad geheizt werden. Wer in einem Minergiegebäude wohnt, kann sich auf die automatische Lüftung verlassen. Sonst gilt: Rasches und starkes Lüften ist besser als offene oder gekippte Fenster über eine lange Zeit. Auch der Verbrauch von Warmwasser liegt in der Hand der Bewohner. Generell gilt: Wer bewusster wohnt, kann seinen Umweltverbrauch einschränken, ohne an Wohn- und Lebensqualität einzubüssen.

Letzte Änderung 17.07.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Warum_Gruene_Wirtschaft/ressourcenverbrauch-beeinflussen-als-konsument/sanfter-wohnen.html