2015 Elections: Is Parliament Ready for Serious Dialogue with Science?

By Thierry Courvoisier, 17.09.2015

Thierry Courvoisier: President of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) and of the association of Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, Professor
of Astrophysics at the University of Geneva.

(Foto: Metas)

Unlike man-made laws, the laws of nature cannot be adapted to accommodate societal developments. For this reason, researchers often face the difficult task of informing politicians about the consequences of the laws of nature. Examples of this include biodiversity loss, the approaching exhaustion of some resources and climate change. These problems need solutions which cannot always be adopted on a consensual basis and often run counter to short-term interests.

These topics assume a special place in the political debate. As long as short-term interests prevent us from finding real solutions they will not disappear. Take the example of biodiversity, which guarantees the variety of life and thus makes a fundamental and crucial contribution to ensuring that this planet remains habitable for us humans. In the report “State of Biodiversity in Switzerland 2014”, which was recently published by 35 scientific institutes in Switzerland and coordinated by the Swiss Academy of Sciences’ Biodiversity Forum, the researchers come to a sobering conclusion: “Biodiversity has suffered further significant decline in Switzerland in recent decades and the trend continues.” This example is typical of many other policy fields in the area of sustainable development: despite active policy responses and occasional progress, the downward trend continues. This also applies to climate policy. As demonstrated by the report Klimaziele und Emissionsreduktion (“Climate targets and emissions reduction”), the planned 20 percent reduction in Switzerland’s greenhouse gas emissions by 2020 does not represent an adequate contribution to the attainment of the two-degree goal. Society must learn from these failures. To achieve progress we need close cooperation between science and society.

Switzerland is fortunate in having a participative democracy. Extreme care is taken here to weigh up and balance different interests. The role of researchers in this system with its quest to conserve a delicate balance is difficult by definition: despite the fact that they have access to knowledge that is of relevance to the future, they are merely a political plaything. The knowledge they provide is often not listened to or relativised on the basis of emphatically adopted short-term interests. To facilitate the disemmination of knowledge, the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences intensively engage in dialogue with the political arena. Because the researchers do not represent any of their own interests in this dialogue, they are not involved in the actual weighing up and balancing of interests. And they cannot and should not be part of the actual political arena: independence is an important precondition for scientific policy consultancy.

Because the researchers themselves are not political actors in the strict sense, they need politicians in all parties who understand the principles of the laws of nature and through whom they can enable the introduction of scientific issues into the societal debate. Science is anything but an easy dialogue partner. It very rarely provides simple solutions. Physical and ecological measurements, and the conclusions drawn from them, are always accompanied by uncertainties and a lively scientific debate. Researchers endeavour to overcome these difficulties. They communicate the results of research through reports, fact sheets, submissions to legislative proceedings and meetings with politicians. The status of the available knowledge and the options for  action and their possible consequences are communicated, open questions are investigated, and political concerns and questions are dealt with. In many cases, science does not propose any clear options but refers to alternative scenarios and probabilities. For politicians, being willing to listen to science means engaging in an intensive and open dialogue with science. This alone enables the development of fact-based policies.

With the 2015 elections we have an opportunity to elect more politicians who have the courage, independence and perseverance to seriously incorporate the information provided by science into political decisions. But how can voters find the candidates who are willing to listen to science? The Academies of Arts and Sciences and the Swiss National Science Foundation have launched the ScienceDebate project to this end. In cooperation with the online electoral support application smartvote, we offer information which will help voters to assess how a party or its candidates deal with scientific information. The information provided does not provide any clear answers – not to mention voting recommendations. However, it gives voters a basis for their important choice so that the uncomfortable truths can lead to the necessary and often uncomfortable solutions – and not to an uncomfortable world.

For more information, visit ScienceDebate: www.sciencedebate.ch.

Editor's note: Individual contributions may reflect an author's personal perspective. Over time, the spectrum of political views will be reflected in the variety of the contributions published. Editorial principles  

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 22.09.2015

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Meinungen/Meinungsbeitrag_Courvoisier.html

Wahlen 2015: Parlament bereit für ernsthaften Dialog mit Wissenschaft?

Von Thierry Courvoisier, 17.9.2015

Thierry Courvoisier: Präsident der Schweizerischen Akademie der Naturwissenschaften (SCNAT) sowie des Verbunds der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz, Professor für Astrophysik an der Universität Genf.

(Foto: Metas)

Die Gesetze der Natur lassen sich – im Unterschied zu den vom Menschen gemachten Gesetzen – nicht den Entwicklungen der Gesellschaft anpassen. Forschende stehen deshalb oft vor der schwierigen Aufgabe, Politikerinnen und Politiker über die Folgen der Naturgesetze zu informieren. Beispiele sind der Verlust der Biodiversität, das nahe Ende der Verfügbarkeit einiger Ressourcen oder der Klimawandel. Diese Probleme brauchen Lösungen, die nicht immer einvernehmlich getroffen werden können und die oft kurzfristigen Interessen entgegenstehen.

Diese Themen besetzen einen besonderen Platz in der politischen Debatte. Sie werden  nicht von der Bühne verschwinden, so lange kurzfristige Interessen echte Lösungen verhindern. Nehmen wir als Beispiel die Biodiversität, den Garanten für die Vielfalt des Lebens und damit die entscheidende Grundlage dafür, dass dieser Planet für uns Menschen bewohnbar bleibt. Im soeben von 35 wissenschaftlichen Institutionen der Schweiz veröffentlichten Bericht «Zustand der Biodiversität in der Schweiz 2014», dessen Erarbeitung das Forum Biodiversität der Akademie der Naturwissenschaften (SCNAT) koordiniert hat, ziehen die Forschenden jedoch einen ernüchternden Schluss: «Die Biodiversität in der Schweiz ist in den letzten Jahrzehnten weiter stark zurückgegangen und dieser Trend ist ungebrochen.» Dieses Beispiel steht für viele weitere Politikfelder der nachhaltigen Entwicklung: Trotz aktiver Politik und punktueller Fortschritte, hält der Abwärtstrend  an. Das gilt auch für die Klimapolitik. Die geplante Reduktion der Treibhausgas-Emissionen der Schweiz um 20 Prozent bis 2020 ist kein adäquater Beitrag zum 2-Grad-Ziel, wie der Bericht «Klimaziele und Emissionsreduktion» darlegt. Die Gesellschaft muss aus diesen Fehlschlägen Lehren ziehen. Um voranzukommen, bedarf es einer engen Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft.

Die Schweiz hat glücklicherweise eine partizipative Demokratie. Interessen werden darin äusserst sorgfältig austariert. In diesem System mit seinem Streben nach dem Erhalt eines empfindlichen Gleichgewichts ist die Rolle von Forschenden aber per Definition schwierig: Obwohl sie über zukunftsrelevantes Wissen verfügen, sind sie doch nur ein Spielball der Politik. Das Wissen, das sie einbringen, wird oft nicht gehört oder im Sinne der mit grossem Nachdruck eingebrachten, kurzfristigen Interessen relativiert. Um die Vermittlung des Wissens zu erleichtern, engagieren sich die Akademien der Wissenschaften deshalb stark im Dialog mit der Politik. Da die Forschenden in diesem Dialog keine eigenen Interessen vertreten, sind sie allerdings nicht im eigentlichen Sinn am Austaurieren der Interessen beteiligt. Und sie können und sollen nicht Teil der eigentlichen Politik-Arena sein: Unabhängigkeit ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für wissenschaftliche Politkberatung.   

Da die Forschenden selbst keine politischen Akteure im engeren Sinne sind, brauchen sie Politikerinnen und Politiker aller Parteien, welche die Grundzüge der Naturgesetze verstehen und mit denen sie die wissenschaftlichen Fragen in die gesellschaftliche Debatte einfliessen lassen können. Die Wissenschaft ist dabei alles andere als ein einfacher Gesprächspartner. Denn Wissenschaft liefert höchst selten einfache Lösungen. Physikalische und Ökologische Messungen und die daraus gezogenen Schlussfolgerungen sind immer begleitet von Unsicherheiten und einer regen wissenschaftlichen Debatte. Die Forschenden bemühen sich, diese Schwierigkeiten zu meistern. Sie kommunizieren die Ergebnisse über Berichte, Factsheets, Stellungnahmen in Gesetzgebungsverfahren und in Treffen mit Politikerinnen und Politikern. Dabei werden der Stand des Wissens und Handlungsoptionen und deren mögliche Konsequenzen kommuniziert, offene Fragen angesprochen und die Anliegen und Fragen aus der Politik aufgenommen. Oft schlägt die Wissenschaft keine klaren Optionen vor, sondern spricht von alternativen Szenarien und von Wahrscheinlichkeiten. Ein «offenes Ohr für die Wissenschaft» zu haben bedeutet für Politikerinnen und Politiker also, sich auf einen intensiven und offenen Dialog mit der Wissenschaft einzulassen. Nur so ist eine faktenbasierte Politik möglich.

Bei den Wahlen 2015 haben wir nun die Chance, mehr Politikerinnen und Politiker zu wählen, die den Mut, die Unabhängigkeit und die Ausdauer haben, um die Aussagen der Wissenschaft ernsthaft in die politischen Entscheidungen miteinzubeziehen. Wie aber finden Wählerinnen und Wähler die Kandidierenden mit einem offenen Ohr für die Wissenschaft? Die Akademien der Wissenschaften und der Schweizerische Nationalfonds haben dazu das Projekt ScienceDebate lanciert. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Online-Wahlhilfe smartvote bieten wir Informationen, damit Wählerinnen und Wähler einschätzen können, wie eine Partei bzw. ihre Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten mit Aussagen der Wissenschaft umgehen. Diese Informationen liefern keine eindeutigen Antworten und sind damit weit davon entfernt, Wahlempfehlungen zu sein. Aber sie vermitteln den Wählerinnen und Wählern ein Bild, eine Grundlage für ihre wichtige Wahl. Damit die unbequemen Wahrheiten zu den notwendigen, oft unbequemen Lösungen führen – und nicht zu einer unbequemen Welt.

Mehr Informationen auf www.sciencedebate.ch.

Hinweis der Redaktion: Einzelne Beiträge stellen die persönliche Sichtweise einer Autorin oder eines Autors dar. Das politische Meinungsspektrum wird über die Zeit und die Vielzahl der Beiträge abgebildet. Redaktionelle Grundsätze

Kommentare

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 22.09.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Meinungen/Meinungsbeitrag_Courvoisier.html