Innovation as a driving force of the sustainable economy

By Ernst A. Brugger, 19.06.2015

Ernst A. Brugger

Ernst A. Brugger: Founder and Chairman of BHP – Brugger und Partner AG; Chairman of BlueOrchard SA, Lausanne Hospitality Consulting, Precious Woods Holding, sanu future learning ag, SV Group AG ; board member of other companies, for example BG Bonnard & Gardel Holding S.A. and Energie 360º.

According to all of the rankings, the Switzerland has one of the five best economies in the world. Competitiveness and, hence also, innovative capacity are high, the labour market works efficiently and, although the recent currency shock understandably prompted complaints, it mainly gave rise to further increases in performance – and this situation prevails despite the fact that our country has comparatively few valuable natural resources.

Or, perhaps, for this very reason? The lack of natural resources was and is one of the main driving forces of Switzerland’s success: it prompts a more efficient use of resources. According to the available comparative statistics, the Swiss economy is among the global leaders when it comes to energy, water and raw-materials efficiency. Swiss innovations for more sustainable materials, energy-saving systems and intelligent construction systems are conquering markets throughout the world. The Swiss economy’s “green cluster” is growing at an above-average rate and rapidly achieving significant export success.

Entrepreneurial self-interest is one of the most important drivers of this dynamic: the more efficient use of resources generates cost leadership, more innovative processes provide competitive advantages, sustainable products and services strengthen customer relations, and the resulting positive image attracts the top experts and partners. For example: the SV Group, one of the leading Swiss companies for employee and student catering introduced the “One Two We” programme in 2013 with a view to achieving significant reductions in the environmental impact of its restaurants. Without reducing the quality of the service provided to customers, the menus now feature fewer air-transported goods, fewer products from greenhouses heated using fossil fuels, less meat, less energy consumption and less waste. This protects the climate and environment, is healthy, and makes economic sense.

Sustainability essentially means the capacity and desire for innovation. This can be stimulated through innovation-friendly conditions and future-oriented research and education at our universities and within the dual education system, which offers a lot of potential. The current debate about a new generation of innovation parks in Switzerland represents an enormous opportunity for sustainable innovation processes and products and, hence also, for increasing Switzerland’s international competitiveness.

And global demand is growing at a two-digit rate. The global demand for intelligent resource-efficient solutions in the infrastructure sector is particularly impressive. Record numbers of infrastructure programmes are being authorised in China, India and Brazil. The Chinese “export programme” in the infrastructure sector will reach an unprecedented level over the next ten years and should be boosted by the new Asian “World Bank”. The decision by the Chinese leadership to develop its own rapid urbanisation process using intelligent resource-efficient solutions is creating strong demand for sustainable systems, products and services.

The green economy is a sustainable economy. It is growing faster than ever at global level. The challenges involved are becoming opportunities for companies with pioneering business models. Switzerland’s market share must be increased in the interest of business and the economy.

Editor's note: Individual contributions may reflect an author's personal perspective. Over time, the spectrum of political views will be reflected in the variety of the contributions published. Editorial principles 

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 15.09.2015

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Meinungen/Meinungsbeitrag_Brugger.html

Innovation als Triebfeder für die nachhaltige Wirtschaft

Von Ernst A. Brugger, 19.06.2015

Ernst A. Brugger

Ernst A. Brugger: Gründer und Verwaltungsratspräsident der BHP – Brugger und Partner AG; Verwaltungsratspräsident der BlueOrchard SA, von Lausanne Hospitality Consulting, der Precious Woods Holding, der sanu future learning ag, der SV Group AG sowie Verwaltungsratsmitglied weiterer Unternehmungen wie BG Bonnard & Gardel Holding S.A. und Energie 360º.

Gemäss allen Rankings ist die Schweizer Wirtschaft eine der fünf besten der Welt. Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und damit Innovationskraft sind hoch, der Arbeitsmarkt funktioniert effizient, der kürzlich erlittene Währungsschock provoziert zwar verständliche Klagen, vorwiegend jedoch weitere Leistungssteigerungen. Und dies, obwohl unser Land vergleichsweise wenig hochwertige natürliche Ressourcen besitzt.

Oder vielleicht deshalb? Die Kargheit an natürlichen Ressourcen war und ist nämlich eine der wichtigsten Antriebsfedern für den schweizerischen Erfolg: sie bewirkt einen effizienteren Umgang mit Ressourcen. Soweit vergleichbare Statistiken vorliegen, befindet sich die schweizerische Wirtschaft bezüglich Energie-, Wasser- und Rohstoffeffizienz in der weltweiten Spitzengruppe. Schweizerische Innovationen für nachhaltigere Materialien, energiesparende Systeme und intelligente Bausysteme erobern weltweit Märkte. Der „grüne Cluster“ der schweizerischen Wirtschaft wächst überdurchschnittlich rasch mit markantem Exporterfolg.

Wichtigste Antriebsfeder dieser Dynamik ist unternehmerisches Eigeninteresse: effizienterer Einsatz von Ressourcen schafft Kostenführerschaft, innovativere Verfahren begründen Wettbewerbsvorteile, nachhaltige Produkte und Dienstleistungen stärken Kundenbeziehungen und ein daraus resultierendes gutes Image zieht beste Fachleute und Partner an. Ein Beispiel: Die SV-Group, eines der führenden Schweizer Unternehmen für Personalgastronomie, hat 2013 das Programm http://www.one-two-we.ch/de eingeführt, um die Umweltbelastung in den Restaurants markant zu senken. Bei gleichem Genuss für die Kundinnen und Kunden kommen die Menus mit weniger Flugwaren, weniger Produkten aus fossil beheizten Gewächshäusern, weniger Fleisch, weniger Energieverbrauch und weniger Abfall aus. Das schont Klima und Umwelt, ist gesund und rechnet sich auch wirtschaftlich.

Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet im Kern Innovationsfähigkeit und -wille. Dieser kann stimuliert werden durch innovationsfreundliche Rahmenbedingungen und zukunftsgerichtete Forschung und Ausbildung an unseren Hochschulen wie auch im potentialreichen dualen Ausbildungssystem. Die aktuelle Diskussion um eine neue Generation von Innovationsparks in der Schweiz bedeutet eine enorme Chance für nachhaltige Innovationsprozesse und -produkte – und damit zur Steigerung der internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweiz.

Und die weltweite Nachfrage wächst zweistellig. Besonders eindrücklich ist der globale Bedarf nach intelligenten, ressourceneffizienten Lösungen im Infrastrukturbereich. In China, Indien und Brasilien liegen bewilligte Infrastruktur-programme in Rekordhöhe vor. Das chinesische „Exportprogramm“ im Infrastrukturbereich erreicht für die nächsten 10 Jahre eine bisher nie gesehene Grössenordnung und dürfte durch die neue asiatische „Weltbank“ verstärkt werden. Die Entscheidung der chinesischen Führung, den eigenen, rasanten Urbanisierungsprozess vermehrt mittels intelligenter, ressourceneffizienter Lösungen zu gestalten, schafft starke Nachfrage für nachhaltige Systeme, Produkte und Dienstleistungen.

Grüne Wirtschaft ist nachhaltige Wirtschaft. Sie wächst international schneller denn je. Die Herausforderungen werden zu Chancen für Unternehmen mit zukunftsbildenden Geschäftsmodellen. Der Marktanteil der Schweiz müsste im unternehmerischen und volkswirtschaftlichen Eigeninteresse zunehmen.

Hinweis der Redaktion: Einzelne Beiträge stellen die persönliche Sichtweise einer Autorin oder eines Autors dar. Das politische Meinungsspektrum wird über die Zeit und die Vielzahl der Beiträge abgebildet. Redaktionelle Grundsätze

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 15.09.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Meinungen/Meinungsbeitrag_Brugger.html