Future-proofing: an obligation

By Antoinette Hunziker-Ebneter, 02.03.2016

Antoinette Hunziker-Ebneter

Antoinette Hunziker-Ebneter is CEO and founding partner of the sustainable asset management company Forma Futura Invest, Zurich.

In terms of sustainability, the Swiss financial centre is in a good place: the range of sustainable investments on offer is broad. However, greater transparency is needed if it is to succeed as a responsible financial centre in the long term.

The sustainability obligation is our responsibility. Scarce resources, climate change, social inequalities: the challenges we face are pressing and this is why we must act now. For this reason the thinking in many areas of life is changing today – for example, in education and the labour market, company foundations, consumer behaviour and nutrition, and, last but not least, living and mobility. As individuals, we assume responsibility in our everyday lives by forming our own well-founded opinions and by making informed decisions.

A responsible approach to finance and money is part of this zeitgeist. Anyone who recalls the excesses of the finance industry in recent years will find it difficult to associate this sector with sustainability. However, the successful transition to a responsible approach to the environment and society in the context of a future-proof economic system is equally inconceivable without the involvement of the financial sector.

Financial service providers in Switzerland recognised this shift at an early stage and developed a corresponding range of sustainable investments. Combined with its commitment to the Weissgeldstrategie  (‘clean money strategy’), the finance industry has a solid basis for the development of a sustainable financial centre.

It is crucial that the financial system serve the needs of the real economy and society so that the transformative power of money as a means of promoting a sustainable quality of life can be exploited. A future-proof financial system must recall its primary role as a supplier and must not become an end in itself.

Taking the entire value-added chain into account

A sustainable financial centre can only emerge through the involvement of all actors. Hence it is the responsibility of the financial intermediaries to enable the allocation of financial resources in a way that supports a future-proof economic system – not only in the case of investments but also in the areas of lending and due diligence for company mergers.

An economic system can only be future-proof if companies take account of all costs arising along the entire value-added chain in the pricing process and thus create congruence between price and value. This is not the case when personal profit takes priority and ecological and social cost implications are externalised, that is imposed on the general public.

More and more investors are also actively demanding this kind of allocation. Hence, the recently launched “Swiss Foundation Code 2015”, which formulates governance guidelines for foundations, recommends that sustainability should be a target for asset management – along with the payment of funds. The current wave of disinvestments away from fossil fuels among major pension funds is evidence of this trend.

It remains to be hoped that the finance industry will recognise its favourable starting position and actively use it to create a sustainable financial centre. To do justice to the title ‘sustainable’, the efforts must go far beyond the provision of sustainable investments. As actors who are aware of their responsibilities, market participants must make all of their transactions traceable; transparency is required, above all, in relation to bank balance sheets. In addition, the power relations of all actors must be revealed and incentive systems formulated with a long-term direction that serve the interests of social objectives. If the state also provides a binding and effective policy framework which can be implemented simply and accountably by all actors, there is a good chance that Switzerland will be able to position itself credibly as a sustainable financial centre.

This contribution was first published on “Die Volkswirtschaft – Plattform für Wirtschaftspolitik”, a website for economic policy.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 02.03.2016

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Meinungen/Meinungsbeitrag_Antoinette-Hunziker-Ebneter.html

Zukunftsfähigkeit verpflichtet

Von Antoinette Hunziker-Ebneter, 02.03.2016

Antoinette Hunziker-Ebneter

Antoinette Hunziker-Ebneter ist CEO und Gründungspartnerin der nachhaltigen Vermögensverwaltung Forma Futura Invest AG, Zürich.

Der Schweizer Finanzplatz steht punkto Nachhaltigkeit gut da: Das Angebot an nachhaltigen Anlagen ist breit. Um sich jedoch langfristig erfolgreich als verantwortungsvoller Finanzstandort zu behaupten, muss die Transparenz erhöht werden.

Die Verpflichtung zur Nachhaltigkeit ist unsere Verantwortung. Knappe Ressourcen, Klimawandel, soziale Ungleichheiten: Die Herausforderungen sind dringlich, weshalb gehandelt werden muss. Heute gibt es deshalb ein Umdenken in vielen Lebensbereichen – im Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarkt, bei Firmengründungen, ebenso beim Konsumverhalten und bei der Ernährung und nicht zu vergessen auch beim Wohnen und bei der Mobilität. Als Individuen übernehmen wir in unserem Alltag Verantwortung, indem wir uns eigene, qualifizierte Meinungen bilden und informierte Entscheide treffen.

Zu diesem Zeitgeist gehört ebenso ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit Geld. Wer an die Exzesse der Finanzindustrie in den vergangenen Jahren denkt, kann sich schwerlich vorstellen, diesen Sektor mit Nachhaltigkeit in Verbindung zu bringen. Allerdings ist die erfolgreiche Transformation zu einem verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit Umwelt und Gesellschaft in einem zukunftsfähigen Wirtschaftssystem ohne den Finanzsektor ebenso undenkbar.

Finanzdienstleister in der Schweiz haben diesen Fortschritt früh erkannt und ein entsprechendes Angebot an nachhaltigen Anlagen entwickelt. Gepaart mit dem Bekenntnis zur Weissgeldstrategie verfügt die Finanzindustrie über ein solides Fundament für die Gestaltung eines nachhaltigen Finanzplatzes.

Entscheidend ist, dass das Finanzsystem der Realwirtschaft und der Gesellschaft dient, damit Geld seine transformative Kraft als Gestaltungsmittel zur Förderung nachhaltiger Lebensqualität entfalten kann. Ein zukunftsfähiges Finanzsystem muss sich wieder seiner Grundversorgungsfunktion besinnen und darf nicht zum Selbstzweck verkommen.

Gesamte Wertschöpfungskette beachten

Ein nachhaltiger Finanzplatz kann nur im Zusammenspiel sämtlicher Akteure entstehen. So haben es die Finanzintermediäre in der Hand, eine Allokation der finanziellen Ressourcen zu ermöglichen, die ein zukunftsfähiges Wirtschaftssystem unterstützen – nicht nur bei Vermögensanlagen, sondern ebenso bei der Kreditvergabe und in der Sorgfaltsprüfung bei Firmenzusammenschlüssen.

Zukunftsfähig kann ein Wirtschaftssystem einzig sein, wenn die Unternehmen sämtliche Kosten entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette in den Preisbildungsprozess mit einbeziehen und so eine Kongruenz zwischen Preis und Wert schaffen. Nicht gegeben ist dies, wenn der persönliche Profit vorgeht und dabei ökologische und soziale Kostenfolgen externalisiert, also der Allgemeinheit aufgebürdet werden.

Eine solche Allokation wird vermehrt auch aktiv von Investoren eingefordert. So empfiehlt der kürzlich lancierte „Swiss Foundation Code 2015“, welcher Gouvernanz-Richtlinien für Stiftungen aufstellt: Nachhaltigkeit soll auch bei der Vermögensbewirtschaftung erzielt werden – zusätzlich zur Auszahlung von Fördergeldern. Davon zeugt die aktuelle Desinvestitionswelle weg von fossilen Energieträgern bei grossen Vorsorgeeinrichtungen.

Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass die Finanzindustrie die günstige Ausgangslage erkennt und aktiv zur Gestaltung eines nachhaltigen Finanzplatzes nutzt. Denn um dem Prädikat „nachhaltig“ gerecht zu werden, müssen die Anstrengungen deutlich über ein Angebot an nachhaltigen Anlagen hinausgehen: So sollen Markteilnehmer als verantwortungsbewusste Akteure all ihre Transaktionen nachvollziehbar machen, und insbesondere bei den Bankbilanzen ist Transparenz gefragt. Zudem müssen die Machtverhältnisse aller Akteure offengelegt und langfristig formulierte, an gesellschaftlichen Zielen orientierte Anreizsysteme geschaffen werden. Sorgt der Staat ausserdem für einen verbindlichen und wirksamen ordnungspolitischen Rahmen, der sich von allen Akteuren einfach und zahlbar umsetzen lässt, stehen die Chancen gut, dass sich die Schweiz glaubwürdig als nachhaltiger Finanzplatz positionieren kann.

Dieser Beitrag ist zuerst erschienen in „Die Volkswirtschaft – Plattform für Wirtschaftspolitik“.

Kommentare

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 02.03.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Meinungen/Meinungsbeitrag_Antoinette-Hunziker-Ebneter.html