Companies reduce their CO2 emissions

COP21 Paris
© Arnaud BOUISSOU, CC0 1.0.

The international community will strive to find solutions for reducing CO2 emissions at the 21st United Nations climate conference, which takes place from 30 November to 11 December in Paris. The private sector is also called on to contribute. An increasing number of Swiss companies acknowledge that the effort involved is worthwhile. Decarbonisation is also on the agenda in the financial sector.

Szilvana Spett, 1.12.2015

The Farmer cereal bars, instant coffee and stock cubes found on the shelves of Switzerland’s largest supermarket chain Migros all originate from the factories of Haco AG. The company’s subsidiary in Gümligen in the canton of Bern processes coffee, mixes dry ingredients and packages them. These processes use a lot of energy – coffee production is particularly energy intensive. To increase its energy efficiency and reduce CO2 emissions, the company replaced its steam boiler and updated its roasting plant. Thanks to over 30 large and small measures, the company is now saving on over 16,000 megawatt hours of heat and electricity. And Haco AG is not alone in this.

EnAW and act help save on CO2 emissions

In their search for efficiency measures, Haco and many other companies seek advice from the Energy Agency of the Swiss Private Sector (EnAW), which is funded by the business associations. Experts from the EnAW work with the companies to identify savings potential and compile a catalogue of measures. Based on the CO2 Act, companies in certain sectors are eligible for the refunding of their CO2 levies if they commit to an emissions reduction target. According to Armin Eberle, Managing Director of the EnAW, more and more companies are deciding to commit to such target agreements. Hence, the EnAw already provides consultancy services on behalf of the federal authorities to over 3,500 participating companies, which account for almost half of the emissions generated by the private sector. act, Cleantech-Agentur Schweiz (Swiss Cleantech Agency), also offers consultancy services for companies in addition to the EnAW.

Voluntary support for SMEs

Small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) can also approach the Swiss Climate Foundation if they need help. The Foundation is funded by major service companies, which voluntarily make the finance available that they have been refunded through the CO2 levy to support SMEs in saving energy and adopting innovative climate-protection solutions. For example, thanks to the support of the Swiss Climate Foundation, Plaston AG in Widnau, canton of Solingen, was able to replace two of its plastic injection moulding machines with more energy-efficient equipment and now saves on 380 kilowatt hours of electricity per year. The company produces plastic packaging and casings and also air treatment appliances.

The technology is available

Innovative technologies are also needed for decarbonisation measures that make a major contribution to the green economy. Switzerland has a lot to offer in this area. As Philippe Thalmann, Professor at the ETH Lausanne, states in a separate interview it performs particularly well in the areas of solar power and hydropower. Switzerland is also far ahead of the field in the development of technologies for controlling room temperature. Landis+Gyr, a company based in Zug, supplies its intelligent energy management solutions to customers all over the world. ABB and Leclanché are among the leading global companies for batteries. And although Switzerland has not had any breakthrough of its own in the area of electric cars, Brusa AG, one of the most important global providers of electronics for electromobility is based in Sennwald in St Galler Rheintal.

Decarbonisation reaches the financial sector

Decarbonisation is also attracting increasing interest in the financial sector. If all of the global reserves of coal, oil and gas cannot be extracted, the companies that own these reserves will lose value. Companies that produce large volumes of CO2 would also be affected. Carbon risks also include new costs due to regulations (levies, limit values), liability risks, reputation risks and cost increases due to a decline in demand. As a result, global investors are under pressure to get out of investments in CO2-intensive companies. This so-called divestment movement is gaining in importance. The Rockefeller Foundation announced its divestment from fossil fuels in autumn 2014. A number of renowned American universities, pension funds and the French insurance group Axa have followed its lead.

Swiss financial centre also affected

The Federal Office for the Environment recently published a study which assesses the risks for the Swiss financial centre associated with risks in CO2-intensive companies. The study shows that Switzerland’s equity funds market alone finances a good 52.2. million tonnes of CO2 equivalents in emissions generated abroad. This corresponds approximately to Switzerland’s total emissions in 2013. With their foreign equity investments, pension funds currently finance around 6.4 tonnes of CO2 emissions per insured person. According to the study, a future increase in the cost of emissions could cost the Swiss equity market up to CHF 6.75 billion.

Publica, Switzerland’s biggest pension fund which manages assets totalling CHF 37.7 billion also participated in the study. According to the company, it has already been analysing this topic for some time now. It has also exchanged information with foreign investors and is currently examining the necessary measures. Zürcher Kantonalbank is also taking this matter very seriously. In September 2015, it was the first Swiss bank to sign the Montreal Carbon Pledge, through which institutional investors undertake to measure and publish the CO2 footprint of their investments. It also launched a sustainability indicator for investment funds in 2011. Thus the decarbonisation of the Swiss financial centre is also under way.

 

Oil consumption is falling

Oil consumption in industrialised countries is falling. Around 11.5 million tonnes of oil were used in Switzerland in 2010. Consumption fell to around 10.6 million tonnes in 2011 but rose again to around 11 million tonnes in 2012. In 2013 consumption was around 10.9 million tonnes and it fell to just 9.9 million tonnes in 2014. These data are provided by the Federal Statistical Office. Overall consumption has been declining steadily in Europe too. As the figures from the American Energy Information Administration (EIA) show, whereas around 782 million tonnes of oil were still consumed in 2010, by 2013 consumption had fallen to around 725 million tonnes. Oil consumption is even stagnating in North America. In 2010, 1.2 billion tonnes were still consumed there while in 2013 consumption totalled 1.19 million tonnes. Oil consumption in newly industrialised countries is still increasing, particularly due to the subvention of fossil fuels. This trend is further consolidated by the low oil prices. However, the International Energy Agency assumes that the price of oil will rise again slowly and reach around USD 80 per barrel (159 litres) by 2020. It was less than USD 50 in mid-November 2015.

Hotels save on CO2

Hotels in Graubünden in east Switzerland are working together to reduce CO2 emissions. The Graubünden branch of the Swiss Hotel Association launched the project “Lighthouse – Energy-efficient Hotels Graubünden” in March 2013, the purpose of which is to raise awareness in the hotel sector for measures to reduce energy consumption and CO2 emissions. The aim is to encourage as many hotels as possible to increase their energy efficiency and to demonstrate the associated economic benefits for hotel operations. The commitment of the ‘Lighthouse’ Hotels is binding throughout Switzerland. They aim to save a total of 68 gigawatt hours of fossil-based energy, 26 gigawatt hours of electricity, 18,100 tonnes of CO2 and CHF 22 million by 2020. The Graubünden Swiss Hotel Association’s project was the winner of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy’s 2015 “Watt d’Or” award in the society category.

Video by the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications DETEC. YouTube, 30.11.2015 www.uvek.admin.ch/klima.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 21.12.2015

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Unternehmen-senken-CO2-Ausstoss.html

Unternehmen senken CO2-Ausstoss

COP21
© Arnaud BOUISSOU, CC0 1.0.

An der 21. UNO-Klimakonferenz, welche vom 30. November bis am 11. Dezember in Paris stattfindet 2015, ringen die Staaten nach Lösungen, den CO2-Ausstoss zu vermindern. Dabei ist auch die Wirtschaft gefordert. Immer mehr Schweizer Unternehmen erkennen, dass sich dies rechnet. Auch in der Finanzwirtschaft wird Dekarbonisierung ein Thema.

Von Szilvana Spett, 1.12.2015

Farmerriegel, lösliche Kaffees oder Volg-Bouillonwürfel auf den Regalen von Migros kommen alle aus den Fabriken der Haco AG. Das Unternehmen in Gümligen BE verarbeitet Kaffee, vermengt trockene Rohstoffe und verpackt sie anschliessend. Dabei wird viel Energie verbraucht – vor allem die Kaffeeproduktion ist energieintensiv. Um seine Energieeffizienz zu steigern und den CO2-Ausstoss zu senken, hat das Unternehmen die Dampfkessel ersetzt und die Röstanlage erneuert. Mit mehr als 30 kleineren und grösseren Massnahmen spart das Unternehmen nun jährlich über 16.000 Megawattstunden Wärme und Strom. Damit ist die Haco AG nicht allein.

EnAW und act helfen CO2 einsparen

Haco und viele andere Unternehmen lassen sich auf der Suche nach Effizienzmassnahmen von der Energie-Agentur der Wirtschaft (EnAW) beraten, die von den Wirtschaftsverbänden getragen wird. Die Experten der EnAW helfen, Einsparpotenziale aufzudecken, und legen gemeinsam mit den Unternehmen einen Massnahmenkatalog fest. Unternehmen gewisser Branchen erhalten ihre CO2-Abgaben gemäss CO2-Gesetz zurück, wenn sie sich auf ein Einsparziel verpflichten. Laut Armin Eberle, Geschäftsführer der EnAW, entscheiden sich immer mehr Firmen für eine Zielvereinbarung. So betreue die EnAW im Auftrag des Bundes heute bereits über 3500 Teilnehmerfirmen, welche knapp die Hälfte der Emissionen der Wirtschaft repräsentieren. Nebst der EnAW bietet auch die Cleantech-Agentur Schweiz act, Beratungsdienstleistungen für Unternehmen an.  

Freiwillige Unterstützung für KMU

KMU können sich zudem an die Klimastiftung Schweiz wenden, wenn sie Hilfe brauchen. Die Stiftung wird von grossen Dienstleistungsunternehmen getragen. Diese stellen freiwillig Mittel bereit, die sie aus der CO2-Abgabe zurückerstattet erhalten, um KMU beim Energiesparen und bei innovativen Lösungen zum Klimaschutz zu unterstützen. So konnte etwa die Plaston AG aus Widnau SG dank der Unterstützung der Klimastiftung zwei ihrer Kunststoff-Spritzgiessmaschinen durch energieeffiziente Geräte ersetzen und spart nun jährlich 370 Kilowattstunden Strom. Das Unternehmen  stellt Kunststoffverpackungen und -verschalungen sowie Luftbehandlungsgeräte her.

Technologie ist vorhanden

Für die Dekarbonisierung, welche einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu einer Grünen Wirtschaft leistet, braucht es auch innovative Technologien. Die Schweiz hat in diesem Bereich viel zu bieten. Dabei glänzt sie insbesondere in den Bereichen Photovoltaik und Wasserkraft, sagt Philippe Thalmann, Professor an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Lausanne im gesonderten Interview. Jedoch liegt sie auch in der Entwicklung von Technologien zur Steuerung der Raumtemperatur weit vorne. Die Zuger Landis+Gyr bietet ihre intelligenten Energiemanagementlösungen weltweit an. ABB und Leclanché sind unter den weltweit führenden Unternehmen für Batteriespeicher. Und auch wenn die Schweizer bisher noch keinen Durchbruch bei den Elektroautos geschafft haben: Mit der Brusa AG sitzt einer der wichtigsten Zulieferer weltweit in Sennwald im St. Galler Rheintal.

Dekarbonisierung erreicht die Finanzwirtschaft

Die Dekarbonisierung erreicht zunehmend auch die Finanzwirtschaft. Denn wenn nicht alle globalen Reserven an Kohle, Öl und Erdgas gefördert werden können, verlieren auch jene Unternehmen an Wert, welche diese Reserven besitzen. Betroffen wären auch Unternehmen, die CO2-intensiv produzieren. Unter Kohlenstoffrisiken werden auch Kosten durch Regulierungen (Abgaben, Grenzwerte usw), Haftungsrisiken, Reputationsrisiken oder Kosten durch Nachfragerückgang verstanden. Entsprechend stehen Anleger weltweit unter Druck, sich von Investitionen in CO2-intensive Unternehmen zu trennen. Diese sogenannte Devestitionsbewegung gewinnt an Geschwindigkeit. So hat die Rockefeller-Stiftung bereits im Herbst 2014 das Ende der Investitionen in fossile Energieträger verkündet. Renommierte amerikanische Universitäten, Pensionskassen und die französische Versicherungsgruppe Axa sind dem gefolgt.

Auch der Schweizer Finanzplatz ist betroffen

Das Bundesamt für Umwelt hat kürzlich eine Studie veröffentlicht, welche die Risiken für den Schweizer Finanzplatz abschätzt, die mit Investitionen in CO2-intensive Unternehmen verbunden sind. Die Studie zeigt, dass allein der Schweizer Aktienfondsmarkt Emissionen von gut 52,2 Millionen Tonnen CO2-Äquivalente im Ausland finanziert. Das entspricht etwa dem Ausstoss der Schweiz im Jahr 2013. Pensionskassen finanzieren mit ihren ausländischen Aktienanlagen derzeit etwa 6,4 Tonnen CO2 pro versicherter Person. Wenn Emissionen künftig mehr kosten, könnte dies für den Schweizer Aktienfondsmarkt laut der Studie bis zu 6,75 Milliarden Franken kosten.

An der Studie beteiligte sich auch die grösste Schweizer Pensionskasse Publica, die Vermögen in der Höhe von 37,7 Milliarden Franken verwaltet. Nach eigenen Angaben analysiert sie das Thema intern bereits länger. Diesbezüglich habe sie sich auch mit ausländischen Investoren ausgetauscht und prüfe derzeit die nötigen Massnahmen. Auch die Zürcher Kantonalbank nimmt das Thema ernst. Im September 2015 hat sie als erste Schweizer Bank den Montreal Carbon Pledge unterzeichnet, mit dem sich institutionelle Anleger verpflichten, den CO2-Fussabdruck ihrer Investitionen zu messen und zu veröffentlichen. Zudem hat sie 2011 einen Nachhaltigkeitsindikator für Anlagefonds lanciert. Die Dekarbonisierung auch des Finanzplatzes Schweiz hat begonnen.

Der Ölverbrauch geht zurück

Der Mineralölverbrauch in den Industrieländern sinkt. In der Schweiz wurden 2010 noch rund 11,5 Millionen Tonnen Öl verbraucht. 2011 waren es rund 10,6 Millionen Tonnen, 2012 rund 11 Millionen Tonnen, 2013 rund 10,9 Millionen Tonnen und 2014 nur noch 9,9 Millionen Tonnen Öl. Das zeigen die Zahlen des Bundesamts für Statistik. Auch in Europa insgesamt ging der Verbrauch kontinuierlich zurück. Wurden 2010 noch rund 782 Millionen Tonnen Öl verbraucht, sank der Verbrauch bis 2013 auf rund 725 Millionen, wie die Zahlen der amerikanischen Energy Information Administration (EIA) zeigen. Auch in Nordamerika stagniert der Ölverbrauch immerhin. Dort wurden 2010 noch 1,2 Milliarde Tonnen verbraucht, im Jahr 2013 waren es 1,19 Milliarde Tonnen. In den Schwellenländern nimmt der Ölverbrauch derzeit noch zu, die vor allem auch wegen der Subventionierung von fossilen Energieträgern. Diesen Trend könnten die tiefen Ölpreise noch verstärken. Die Internationale Energieagentur geht jedoch davon aus, dass der Preis von Erdöl langsam wieder steigen und bis 2020 rund 80 Dollar pro Fass (159 Liter) erreichen wird. Mitte November 2015 lag er unter 50 Dollar.

Hotels sparen CO2

Die Bündner Hotels spannen bei der Senkung des CO2-Ausstosses zusammen. Die hotelleriesuisse Graubünden hat im März 2013 das Projekt „Leuchtturm – Energieeffiziente Hotels Graubünden“ gestartet, welches die Hotelbranche für Massnahmen zur Reduktion des Energieverbrauchs und des CO2-Ausstosses sensibilisieren soll. Ziel ist, dass so viele Hotels ihre Energieeffizienz steigern. Dabei soll auch der wirtschaftliche Nutzen für Hotelbetriebe aufgezeigt werden. Das Engagement von Leuchtturm-Hotels ist schweizweit verbindlich. Bis 2020 wollen sie gemeinsam 68 Gigawattstunden fossile Energie, 26 Gigawattstunden Strom, 18.100 Tonnen CO2 und 22 Millionen Franken einsparen. Das Projekt der hotelleriesuisse Graubünden wurde 2015 mit dem Watt d`Or Preis in der Kategorie Gesellschaft ausgezeichnet.

Video des  Eidgenössischen Departements für Umwelt, Verkehr, Energie und Kommunikation. YouTube, 30.11.2015 www.uvek.admin.ch/klima.

Kommentare

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 21.12.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Unternehmen-senken-CO2-Ausstoss.html