Sustainable investment in the ascendant

Six Boerse

Switzerland is among the world’s most important financial centres. Its pioneers identified the trend for sustainable investments at an early stage and launched the first important products of this nature. The widespread impact that was hoped for has yet to materialise, however. Thanks to current initiatives, this could be set to change.

By Yvonne von Hunnius, 25.08.2015

People who invest money put it to work for them. But where exactly does it work? If an investment contributes to greater resource efficiency or fairness in the economy, it pays a double dividend. Thus the concept of sustainable investment is simple and appealing. It ultimately promises both financial and idealistic yields in the ecological or social sense. And according to Sabine Döbeli, Head of Corporate Sustainability Management at the Vontobel private bank: “Studies show that there are no financial losses in terms of the return on investment with classical sustainable investments.” Both private and institutional customers benefit from it. Ecological structural change needs capital and the Swiss financial centre is looking for a new profile. In this post-financial-crisis period, loud and clear calls are being made for the financial market to see itself as a service-provider for the real economy. Many experts have already identified sustainable investment as a potential key focus of activity for the Swiss financial centre – particularly as it is a precondition and cornerstone of the transformation to a green economy. However, the corresponding investment volume remains at a very low level.

Cautious Swiss actors
In late 2014, sustainable funds, mandates and structured products in Switzerland totalled CHF 71.3 billion – which represents around four percent of the total market. The growth rates are optimistic: from 2013 to 2014 the sustainable investment market in Switzerland grew by 26 percent. However, this does not conceal the fact that the steps being taken by financial world around Geneva and Zurich are hesitant. Financial advisors, in particular, often baulk at the complexity of the criteria associated with sustainable investment and criticise them as difficult to convey to customers. Switzerland is not the only place where such an image is emerging: although other leading financial sectors like Wall Street and London are getting involved, they are not weighing in with a particularly heavy commitment.

Switzerland could assume a leading role
This could be set to change in Switzerland. “Our financial centre is predestined to assume a leading role in sustainable finance – hardly any new state incentives or regulations would be needed for this,” Sabine Döbeli. As CEO of the network Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF), which was founded in 2014, she has succeeded in attracting the support of major sector players like UBS and Credit Suisse as well as niche actors. Her credo: financial expertise in Switzerland exists alongside environmental know-how and responsible entrepreneurship.

Doebeli

Sabine Döbeli, Head of Corporate Sustainability Management at Vontobel Private Banking, CEO of the network Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF) which was established in 2014.

Moreover, the SSF is also participating with representatives of the financial market, research and the federal authorities in an international study on a sustaianble financial system organised by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). In the context of this study, under the lead of the FOEN, examples of best practice and pioneering Swiss financial products are being introduced to the international debate on a more sustainable global financial market.

Financial pioneers with a spirit of innovation
Financial actors in Switzerland had already displayed a green innovative spirit at an early stage. The first family of global sustainable indices, the Dow Jones Sustainability Indices, originated in Switzerland in 1999. Investment specialist RobecoSAM evaluates the sustainability practices of some of the world’s biggest companies for these indices. Switzerland has also established itself as the world’s leading microfinance centre with asset managers like responsAbility, Symbiotics, BlueOrchard and Bamboo Finance. The Zurich-based experts from responsibility expect the global microfinance market to grow by 20 percent in the current year. Another example is the first eco-efficiency fund Oeko Sar, which was launched by the Sarasin bank in 1994. A crucial factor here was the shift in perspective from thematic to intersectoral pooling.

A lot is also happening at the moment: the UBS manages an energy infrastructure fund which is linked with the objectives of the Energy Strategy 2050. The aim is to motivate investors to invest in the energy transition. The Zurich company Susi Partners has launched an Energy Efficiency Fund (EEF) for institutional investors: the fund capital migrates to the energy retrofitting of buildings and a percentage of the cost savings is returned over the years. This approach cleverly incorporates the long-term perspective.

Climate mathematics provide new impetus
Product innovations are essential. But what pleases sustainable finance expert Sabine Döbeli almost more is the trend for a more wide-ranging impact: “I can see that sustainability factors with fixed processes are being increasingly incorporated into regular portfolio management. Various banks are in the process of integrating sustainability factors into their financial analyses. A defined process for this has existed at Vontobel for four years and banks like J. Safra Sarasin and the Zürcher Kantonalbank are also making efforts in this direction,” she reports. In this way, standards relating to environmental and social issues as well as management issues are inceasingly becoming part of business processes. This represents an important step towards a sustainable financial system.

The fact that climate is becoming a megatrend, not least for institutional investors, is providing further impetus for these positive developments. This was demonstrated by the decision of the international insurance concern Axa Group in late May 2015 to sell its interests in coal companies, which were valued at CHF 500 million. This makes Axa the first global financial institution to become part of the so-called divestment movement. The company is ‘de-investing’ to divert capital into alternative energies. The precondition for this climate-friendly investment behaviour is the successful establishment of greater transparency in relation to greenhouse gas emissions which are associated with the investments and shareholdings.

Sustainable investments and their rules

With sustainable investments, criteria like social, ecological and ethical sustainability factors also apply in addition to the classical yardsticks of profitability, liquidity and security. The following methods are the main ones that can be identified in the design of sustainable investments:

  1. Integration: sustainable selection criteria are integrated here into the general portfolio management of investments through fixed processes.
  2. Best-in-class: providers integrate a sector’s top companies into their portfolios.
  3. Norm-based screening: providers ensure that companies do not contravene any international norms through the application of selective principles. For example, they exclude companies involved in the manufacture, storage and supply of controversial weapons.
  4. Topicality: products are developed that focus on a particular topic.
  5. Principles of impact investing: with products in this category, greater attention is usually paid with intention to the divers social aims of an investment than the financial ones.

UN facilitates global debate

As part of its long-term commitment to sustainable finance, in early 2014 the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) initiated an international study on the topic. It involves soliciting the views of societal actors and the design and development of a sustainable financial system. A number of countries including Switzerland are participating voluntarily in this “UNEP Inquiry into the Design of a Sustainable Financial System” and are initiating a debate on the topic: they gather experience, good examples and ideas in relation to the finance system and its relationship with current ecological, social and societal challenges. The aim is to identify the major obstacles that the financial system can pose for a green economy – the plan is to derive recommendations for the future from this information. The UNEP Inquiry is based in Geneva. Switzerland is represented on its Advisory Council by the Director of the FOEN Bruno Oberle. Under the lead of the FOEN, the Swiss team for the inquiry published an initial report in May and debated it at a symposium in Bern. Based on this, the Swiss team is now developing concrete recommendations for financial market actors and the federal authorities.

Financial market reform in Switzerland

The aim of the work currently being carried out on financial market reform is to establish greater transparency for customers. In particular, the new Financial Services Act (Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz, FIDLEG) and Financial Institutes Act (Finanzinstitutsgesetz, FINIG) aim, inter alia, to improve investor protection in accordance with international standards. Hence the FIDLEG deals with the conditions, under which financial services are provided and offered. Customers should be provided with as much information as possible so that they can make well-founded investment decisions; financial advisors shall be obliged to complete mandatory education and training. The draft legislation was submitted for consultation in autumn 2014. No binding requirements were formulated with regard to the level at which information should be provided on environmental and social criteria. In this regard, the Federal Council refers, in particular, to the voluntary undertakings of the financial institutions. The final version of the legislation is expected to enter into force from 2017.

Comments

28.05.2016
Hugues Mottard, Genève

Forest Finance Suisse est membre de Swiss Sustainable Finance et de Geneva Sustainable Finance. Nos rendements dépassent les 7% par année depuis plus de 20 ans.   

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 04.07.2016

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Nachhaltige-Anlage-im-Aufwind.html

Nachhaltige Anlagen im Aufwind

Six Boerse

Die Schweiz gehört zu den wichtigsten Finanzplätzen der Welt – hier haben Pioniere den Trend zu nachhaltigen Anlagen bereits früh erkannt und wichtige erste Instrumente lanciert. Die erhoffte Breitenwirkung bleibt jedoch aus. Aktuelle Initiativen könnten dies ändern.

Von Yvonne von Hunnius, 25.08.2015

Wer Geld anlegt, lässt es für sich arbeiten. Aber wo genau arbeitet es? Trägt es in der Wirtschaft zu mehr Ressourceneffizienz oder Fairness bei, zahlt sich die Anlage doppelt aus. Dabei ist das Konzept nachhaltiger Anlagen einfach und bestechend. Letztlich verspricht es eine finanzielle ebenso wie eine ideelle Rendite im ökologischen oder sozialen Sinn. Und man könne beides haben, sagt Sabine Döbeli, Leiterin Nachhaltigkeit der Bank Vontobel: „Bei klassischen nachhaltigen Anlagen gibt es keinen finanziellen Renditeverzicht, das belegen Studien.“ Davon profitieren private wie institutionelle Kunden. Der ökologische Strukturwandel braucht Kapital und der Schweizer Finanzplatz sucht nach einem neuen Profil. In diesen Zeiten nach der Finanzkrise ist der Ruf laut, der Finanzmarkt müsse sich wieder stärker als Dienstleister der Realwirtschaft begreifen. Dabei sehen viele Experten im Bereich nachhaltiger Anlagen schon seit Jahren einen möglichen neuen Hauptfokus des Schweizer Finanzplatzes – zumal dies Voraussetzung und Fundament für eine Transformation hin zu einer Grünen Wirtschaft ist. Aber noch befindet sich das entsprechende Anlagevolumen auf sehr niedrigem Niveau.

Vorsichtige Schweizer Akteure
In der Schweiz lag Ende 2014 die Summe an nachhaltigen Fonds, Mandaten und strukturierten Produkten bei 71,3 Milliarden Franken – das macht rund vier Prozent des Gesamtmarkts aus. Die Wachstumszahlen stimmen optimistisch: Von 2013 auf 2014 ist der nachhaltige Anlagemarkt in der Schweiz um 26 Prozent gewachsen. Doch das täuscht nicht darüber hinweg, dass sich die Finanzwelt rund um Genf und Zürich nur in kleinen Schritten im Thema vorantastet. Gerade Berater scheuen oft die Komplexität der Kriterien und kritisieren diese als den Kunden schwer vermittelbar. Dieses Bild zeichnet sich nicht nur in der Schweiz ab: Auch andere globale Top-Finanzplätze wie die Wallstreet oder London spielen zwar mit, legen jedoch nicht volles Gewicht auf dieses Engagement.

Schweiz könnte führende Rolle einnehmen
In der Schweiz könnte sich dies wandeln. „Unser Finanzplatz ist dafür prädestiniert, eine führende Rolle bei nachhaltigen Finanzen einzunehmen – und dazu bräuchte es kaum neue staatliche Anreize oder Regularien“, sagt Sabine Döbeli. Als Geschäftsführerin des 2014 gegründeten Netzwerks Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF) konnte sie für diese Vision Branchengrössen wie UBS und Credit Suisse ebenso wie Nischenspieler gewinnen. Ihr Kredo: In der Schweiz trifft Finanzwissen auf Umwelt-Know-how sowie verantwortliches Unternehmertum.

Doebeli

Sabine Döbeli, Leiterin Nachhaltigkeit der Bank Vontobel, Geschäftsführerin des 2014 gegründeten Netzwerks Swiss Sustainable Finance (SSF).

SSF beteiligt sich zudem zusammen mit Vertretern des Finanzmarktes, der Wissenschaft und des Bundes an einer internationalen Untersuchung des UNO-Umweltprogramms (UNEP) zu einem nachhaltigen Finanzsystem. Unter der Leitung des Bundesamts für Umwelt BAFU werden im Rahmen dieser Untersuchung best practice-Beispiele und Schweizer Pionierfinanzprodukte in die internationale Diskussion um einen nachhaltigeren globalen Finanzmarkt eingebracht.

Finanzpioniere mit Innovationsgeist

Hiesige Finanzakteure haben schon früh grünen Innovationsgeist bewiesen. Aus der Schweiz stammt seit 1999 die erste globale nachhaltige Indexfamilie: die Dow Jones Sustainability Indices. Der Investmentspezialist RobecoSAM bewertet hierfür die Nachhaltigkeitspraktiken der mitunter grössten Unternehmen der Welt. Als weltweit bedeutendstes Mikrofinanz-Zentrum positioniert hat sich die Schweiz mit den Vermögensverwaltern responsAbility, Symbiotics, BlueOrchard und Bamboo Finance. Die Zürcher Experten von responsAbility rechnen mit einem 20-prozentigen Wachstum des globalen Mikrofinanzmarkts im laufenden Jahr. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist der erste Ökoeffizienz-Fonds Oekosar, der 1994 von der Bank Sarasin lanciert wurde. Entscheidend hierbei: der Perspektivenwechsel weg von einer thematischen hin zu einer sektorenübergreifenden Bündelung.

Auch aktuell ist viel in Bewegung: Die UBS hält einen Energieinfrastrukturfonds, der in Zusammenhang mit den Zielen der Energiestrategie 2050 steht. So sollen Anleger dazu motiviert werden, in die Energiewende zu investieren. Die Zürcher Firma Susi Partners hat den Energieeffizienzfonds (EEF) für institutionelle Investoren aufgelegt: Das Kapital wandert in energetische Sanierungen, ein Prozentsatz der dadurch eingesparten Kosten wird über die Jahre hinweg vergütet. Ein Ansatz, der den Aspekt der Langfristigkeit clever integriert.

Klimathematik bringt neue Impulse
Produktinnovationen sind essenziell. Was die Expertin Sabine Döbeli aber fast noch mehr freut, ist eine Tendenz zu mehr Breitenwirkung: „Ich sehe, dass Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte mit festen Prozessen immer stärker ins reguläre Portfoliomanagement einfliessen. Verschiedene Banken sind daran, Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte in die Finanzanalyse zu integrieren. Bei Vontobel gibt es hierfür seit vier Jahren einen definierten Prozess, und beispielsweise Banken wie J. Safra Sarasin oder die Zürcher Kantonalbank unternehmen Bestrebungen in diese Richtung“, sagt sie. So fliessen Standards zu Umwelt- und Sozialfragen wie zu Fragen der Unternehmensführung immer mehr in die Geschäftsprozesse ein. Ein wichtiger Schritt hin zu einem nachhaltigen Finanzsystem.  

Was den positiven Entwicklungen Rückenwind gibt: Das Klimathema wird zum Megatrend – nicht zuletzt für institutionelle Anleger. Das zeigte Ende Mai 2015 die Entscheidung des internationalen Versicherungskonzerns Axa Group, seine Beteiligungen an Kohleunternehmen im Wert von 500 Millionen Franken zu verkaufen. Axa ist somit als erste globale Finanzinstitution Teil der sogenannten Divestment-Bewegung und de-investiert, um beispielsweise das Kapital in alternative Energien fliessen zu lassen. Voraussetzung für dieses klimafreundliche Investitionsverhalten ist, dass mehr Transparenz besteht bezüglich der Treibhausgasemissionen, die in den Geldanlagen und Unternehmensbeteiligungen gebunden sind.

Nachhaltige Anlagen und ihre Regeln

Für nachhaltige Geldanlage gelten neben den klassischen Kriterien wie Rentabilität, Liquidität und Sicherheit auch soziale, ökologische und ethische Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte. Unterscheiden kann man vor allem diese Methoden, um nachhaltige Anlagen zu gestalten:

  1. Integration: Nachhaltige Selektionskriterien sind hierbei in das generelle Portfoliomanagement von Anlagen durch feste Prozesse integriert.
  2. Best-in-Class: Anbieter integrieren die jeweils besten Unternehmen einer Branche in ihre Portfolios.
  3. Norm-based-Screening: Anbieter achten durch Anwendung selektiver Prinzipien darauf, dass Unternehmen keine internationalen Normen verletzen. Beispielsweise schliessen sie Unternehmen aus, die an der Herstellung, Lagerung und Lieferung kontroverser Waffen beteiligt sind.
  4. Themenbezug: Angebote werden rund um ein Thema wie Energie entwickelt.
  5. Impact-Investment-Prinzipien: Bei Produkten dieser Kategorie finden meist diverse soziale Ziele einer Investition bewusst stärkere Beachtung als die finanziellen.

UN ermöglicht eine globale Debatte

Das UNO-Umweltprogramm (UNEP) hat im Rahmen seines langjährigen Engagements zu Sustainable Finance Anfang 2014 eine internationale Untersuchung gestartet. Dabei werden gesellschaftliche Akteure zur Gestaltung und zum Aufbau eines nachhaltigen Finanzsystems befragt. An dieser „UNEP Inquiry into the Design of a Sustainable Financial System“ nehmen verschiedene Länder wie die Schweiz mit dem Swiss Team freiwillig teil und beginnen einen Diskurs über das Thema: Sie sammeln Erfahrungen, gute Beispiele und Ideen in Bezug auf das Finanzsystem und sein Verhältnis zu den aktuellen ökologischen, sozialen und gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen. Man will die grössten Hürden ausfindig machen, die das Finanzsystem für eine Grüne Wirtschaft darstellen kann – daraus sollen Empfehlungen für die Zukunft abgeleitet werden. Sitz der UNEP Inquiry ist Genf. Die Schweiz ist im Steuerungskomitee, dem Advisory Council, mit BAFU-Direktor Bruno Oberle vertreten. Das Swiss Team unter Leitung des BAFU hat im Mai einen ersten Bericht veröffentlicht und an einem Symposium in Bern diskutiert. Darauf aufbauend erarbeitet das Swiss Team nun konkrete Empfehlungen an die Finanzmarktakteure und den Bund.

Finanzmarktreform in der Schweiz

Die aktuellen Arbeiten zur Finanzmarktreform haben mehr Transparenz für Kunden zum Ziel. Insbesondere das Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und das Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG) wollen den Anlegerschutz unter anderem gemäss internationaler Standards verbessern. So geht es beim FIDLEG um die Voraussetzungen, unter denen Finanzdienstleistungen erbracht und angeboten werden. Die Kunden sollen möglichst umfassend informiert werden, damit sie eine fundierte Anlageentscheidung treffen können; für die Kundenberater soll eine Pflicht zur Aus- und Weiterbildung bestehen. Die Vorlage wurde im Herbst 2014 in die Vernehmlassung geschickt. Hier verzichtete man jedoch auf verbindliche Anforderungen, inwieweit auch Informationen zu Umwelt- und soziale Kriterien offenzulegen wären. Der Bundesrat verweist in diesem Zusammenhang insbesondere auf die freiwillige Selbstverpflichtung von Finanzinstituten. Die finale Version soll ab 2017 in Kraft treten.

Kommentar

28.05.2016
Hugues Mottard, Genève

Forest Finance Suisse est membre de Swiss Sustainable Finance et de Geneva Sustainable Finance. Nos rendements dépassent les 7% par année depuis plus de 20 ans.   

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 04.07.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Nachhaltige-Anlage-im-Aufwind.html