Market power as a lever for change

2015-10-30_IKEARothenburg Cut Out
© Ikea

Furniture concern IKEA is renowned for cheap goods but also for the democratisation of design. A less well known fact about IKEA is that it is also investing billions in its efforts to democratise sustainability – an approach that pays off for the Swedish concern too.  

Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

For Lorenz Isler a tour of the IKEA store in Spreitenbach is a tour of green design and the industry of tomorrow. “As IKEA sees it, sustainable management is the only solution if you want to be successful in 50 years time,” says Isler, Sustainability Manager of IKEA Switzerland. IKEA, the second biggest furniture company in the world, adopted its “People & Planet Positive” sustainability strategy in 2012. Stricter regulations for IWAY, IKEA’s code of conduct for suppliers, were also introduced at the time and the company subsequently parted ways with some of its partners.

Powerful levers at work
At 13 million, the number of people who visit IKEA’s nine furniture outlets in Switzerland exceeds the country’s population. A total of 716 million people throughout the world pop into a branch of IKEA every year. This volume enables impressive economies of scale. According to its own data, in 2013 IKEA sold 12.3 billion LED light bulbs, which enabled customers save around EUR 80 million (CHF 87 million) in energy costs compared to the use of normal light bulbs. And IKEA is the first retailer to switch to selling LED bulbs exclusively. “Based on the volume, we have given our suppliers investment security and have now managed to halve the price of the most popular LED light bulb,” says Lorenz Isler.

2015-10-30_ikea_lorenzisler_2
Lorenz Isler, Sustainability Manager of IKEA Switzerland during a tour of the IKEA shop in Spreitenbach, Switzerland.
© Yvonne von Hunnius

Investments must pay
A study on IKEA’s CO2 footprint revealed that it is mainly accounted for by raw material extraction and the use of IKEA products by its customers. IKEA aims to redouble its efforts here through initiatives for the sustainable use of raw materials in production processes and awareness-raising among its customers. The latter strategy is clearly demonstrated by the numerous signs about energy efficiency displayed in IKEA stores, particularly in the lighting departments. However, IKEA is also pointing the finger at itself. Between 2009 and 2015, the concern invested EUR 1.5 billion in renewable energies. Solar power systems are installed on the roofs of all of its branches in Switzerland. At 9,500 square metres in area, the biggest of these systems in Rothenburg generates 1.2 million kilowatts annually, which corresponds to 50 percent of the furnishing retailer’s own energy consumption or that of 400 households.

The possibility of incorporating a price for CO2 into investment decisions is also being considered within the company. The aim is to make all operations belonging to the IKEA industry CO2 neutral by 2020 – in the last three years alone, the CO2 emissions per cubic metre generated by the transport of goods have been reduced by 13 percent. “And IKEA does nothing without carrying out detailed calculations on the rates of return,” says Isler. So these measures pay off.  

Ikea Rothenburg
At 9,500 square metres, IKEA’s biggest solar power system can be found in Rothenburg, Switzerland – it produces 1.2 million kilowatts annually, which corresponds to 50 percent of the furnishing giant’s consumption.
© Ikea

Focus on labels
IKEA is a major consumer. The company uses one percent of the wood produced in the world and 0.6 percent of the cotton. As a co-founder of the FSC label for sustainable forest management, IKEA has set itself the aim of ensuring that half of all its wood products have the FSC label or are produced using recycled wood by 2017 – the plan is to reach 100 percent by 2020. With regard to cotton, IKEA launched the “Better Cotton” initiative with the environmental organisation WWF in 2004. Today, 190,000 farmers are part of the initiative and, according to IKEA’s estimates, they are producing in a way that ensures that 50 percent less water and pesticides and 30 percent less chemicals are used.

Product design with clear specifications
On the tour of the IKEA store in Spreitenbach, Lorenz points to Sinnerlig – a dining table with a cork top. 

2015-10-30_SinnerligCork1
The sustainable raw material cork is used as an alternative to wood in the furniture belonging to IKEA designer Ilse Crawford’s Sinnerlig collection.
© Ikea

Designers at the company’s Swedish headquarters are constantly on the lookout for good alternatives to wood, cotton and plastic, and for ways of improving the products, he reports. So they use of cork and Lyocell, the latter is a cotton substitute produced from cellulose fibre. Moreover, Billy, the smash-hit shelving system has become 30 percent lighter over the years. In a concern like IKEA, standardised processes are effective. The designers collect points for sustainable criteria using a so-called “Product Sustainability Score Card”. If a product exceeds a certain threshold, it qualifies as particularly sustainable. Up to now, fewer than 50 percent of IKEA’s products have been in this category and the aim is to increase this proportion to 90 percent by 2020. By doing this, IKEA aims to offer a clear rebuttal to those who argue that environmental awareness is the exclusive preserve of more affluent consumers.

About IKEA:
The concern, which was established in Sweden by Ingvar Kamprad, offers around 9,500 products in 315 furniture outlets located in 27 countries throughout the world. The country organisations are closely connected to the mother company through a franchise system. The concern is led today by its CEO Peter Agnefjäll. In 2014, IKEA recorded a turnover of EUR 28 billion, of which 1.46 million was accounted for by food sales. The concern has 147,000 employees. IKEA operates the entire value-added chain from the product range strategy and product development to production, distribution, and retail. Approximately 59 percent of IKEA’s production is based in Europe.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 12.11.2015

Top of page

IKEA – a pioneer with room to improve: Interview with Thomas Breu

A sustainability expert from the University of Bern assesses IKEA’s commitment as comprehensive but also identifies some critical points...  

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Marktmacht-als-Hebel-des-Wandels.html

Marktmacht als Hebel des Wandels

2015-10-30_IKEARothenburg Cut Out
© Ikea

Der Einrichtungskonzern Ikea steht für Billigprodukte, aber auch für die Demokratisierung von Design. Was weniger bekannt ist: Ikea investiert Milliarden in seine Bemühungen, auch Nachhaltigkeit zu demokratisieren. Und das zahlt sich für die Schweden sogar aus.

Von Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

Eine Tour durch die Ikea-Filiale in Spreitenbach ist für Lorenz Isler eine Tour des grünen Designs und der Industrie von morgen. „Für Ikea gibt es keine Alternative dazu, nachhaltig zu wirtschaften, wenn man in 50 Jahren noch Erfolg haben will“, sagt Isler, Nachhaltigkeitsmanager von Ikea Schweiz. 2012 hat Ikea als weltgrösster Einrichtungskonzern der Welt seine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie „People & Planet Positive“ verabschiedet. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt wurden auch strengere Regeln des eigenen Verhaltenskodex IWAY für Lieferanten eingeführt – Ikea trennte sich daraufhin von einigen Partnern.

Gewaltige Hebel wirken
Allein in der Schweiz haben die neun Ikea-Einrichtungshäuser jährlich mit 13 Millionen Besuchern rechnerisch mehr Kunden als die Schweiz Einwohner. Weltweit schauen jährlich 716 Millionen Menschen bei Ikea vorbei. Diese Ausmasse ermöglichen beeindruckende Skaleneffekte. 2013 hat Ikea laut Eigenaussagen 12,3 Milliarden LED-Lampen verkauft, wodurch die Kunden rund 80 Millionen Euro (87 Millionen Franken) an Energiekosten im Vergleich zu regulären Lampen eingespart hätten. Und Ikea sei der erste Einzelhändler, der ausschliesslich LED-Lampen verkauft. „Über die Masse haben wir unseren Zulieferern Investitionssicherheit geben und den Preis der populärsten LED-Lampe inzwischen halbieren können“, sagt Lorenz Isler.

2015-10-30_ikea_lorenzisler_2
Lorenz Isler, der Nachhaltigkeitsverantwortliche von Ikea Schweiz, beim Rundgang durch die Ikea-Filiale in Spreitenbach.
© Yvonne von Hunnius

Investitionen müssen lohnen
Eine Studie zum CO2-Abdruck von Ikea hat ergeben: Der grösste Anteil liegt bei der Rohstoffgewinnung und bei der Nutzung der Ikea-Produkte durch die Käuferinnen und Käufer. Hier will Ikea auch verstärkt ansetzen: mit Initiativen zum nachhaltigen Umgang mit Rohstoffen im Produktionsprozess und zur Sensibilisierung von Kunden. Letzteres wird durch die vielen Hinweistafeln auf Energieeffizienz besonders in der Lampenabteilung der Ikea-Filiale deutlich. Den erhobenen Zeigefinger zeigt Ikea jedoch auch sich selbst. Zwischen 2009 und 2015 hat der Konzern 1,5 Milliarden Euro in erneuerbare Energien investiert. In der Schweiz sind auf den Dächern aller Filialen Solaranlagen installiert. Die grösste Anlage mit 9500 Quadratmetern Fläche produziert in Rothenburg 1,2 Millionen Kilowatt, was 50 Prozent des Verbrauchs des Einrichtungshauses oder 400 Haushalten entspricht.

Intern wird geprüft, bei Investitionsentscheiden einen Preis für CO2 miteinzuberechnen. 2020 sollen alle Betriebe der Ikea Industry CO2-neutral werden, in den letzten drei Jahren wurde allein beim Warentransport der CO2-Ausstoss pro Kubikmeter um 13 Prozent gesenkt. „Und Ikea macht nichts ohne fundierte Kalkulation der Rendite“, sagt Isler. Es lohnt sich also.

Ikea Rothenburg
Die grösste Solar-Anlage von Ikea ist mit 9500 Quadratmetern Fläche in Rothenburg zu finden – sie produziert 1,2 Millionen Kilowatt, was 50 Prozent des Verbrauchs des Einrichtungshauses oder 400 Haushalten entspricht.
© Ikea

Fokus auf Labels
Ikea ist ein Grossverbraucher. Das Unternehmen nutzt 1 Prozent des weltweiten Holzes und 0,6 Prozent der weltweiten Baumwolle. Als Mitgründer des FSC-Labels für nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft hat Ikea sich zum Ziel gesetzt, bis 2017 die Hälfte aller Holzprodukte mit FSC-Label oder aus wiederaufbereitetem Holz anzubieten – bis 2020 sollen es 100 Prozent sein. Im Bereich Baumwolle hat Ikea gemeinsam mit der Umweltschutzorganisation WWF 2004 die Initiative „Better Cotton“ lanciert. Heute haben sich 190‘000 Bauern angeschlossen und produzieren Baumwolle so, dass dabei 50 Prozent weniger Wasser, Pestizide und 30 Prozent weniger Chemikalien zum Einsatz kommen. Die Kriterien gelten für die gesamte Ikea-Baumwollproduktion.

Produktdesign mit klaren Vorgaben
Auf der Tour durch die Spreitenbach-Filiale zeigt Lorenz Isler nun auf Sinnerlig – einen Esstisch mit einer Platte aus Kork.

2015-10-30_SinnerligCork1
Bei den Ikea-Möbelstücken aus der Sinnerlig-Kollektion der Designerin Ilse Crawford wird der nachwachsende Rohstoff Kork als Holzalternative eingesetzt.
© Ikea

In der schwedischen Zentrale sei man permanent auf der Suche nach guten Alternativen für Holz, Baumwolle sowie Plastik und verbessere die Produkte, sagt er. So kommen Kork oder Lyocell als Baumwollalternative aus Zellstoff zum Einsatz. Und das Kassenschlager-Regal Billy sei über die Jahre um 30 Prozent leichter geworden. Dabei wirken bei einem Konzern wie Ikea standardisierte Prozesse. Über eine sogenannte Product Sustainability Score Card sammeln die Designer Punkte für nachhaltige Kriterien. Kommt ein Produkt über einen Schwellenwert, gilt es als besonders nachhaltig. Bisher fallen unter 50 Prozent in diese Kategorie, bis 2020 sind 90 Prozent das Ziel. Somit will Ikea denjenigen klare Gegenargumente bieten, die behaupten, Umweltbewusstsein sei nur etwas für Besserverdienende.

Über Ikea
Der in Schweden von Ingvar Kamprad gegründete Ikea-Konzern bietet in 315 Einrichtungshäusern in 27 Ländern der Welt rund 9500 Produkte an. Die Länderorganisationen sind über ein Franchise-System mit dem Mutterunternehmen eng verbunden. Heutiger Konzernchef ist Peter Agnefjäll. Ikea verzeichnete 2014 einen Umsatz von 28 Milliarden Euro, davon 1,46 Milliarden Euro im Bereich Lebensmittel. 147.000 Mitarbeiter arbeiten für den Konzern. Ikea betreibt die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von Sortimentsstrategie und Produktentwicklung bis zu Produktion, Distribution und Einzelhandel. Rund 59 Prozent der eigenen Produktion findet in Europa statt.

Kommentare

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 12.11.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

Ikea ist ein Pionier mit Verbesserungspotenzial – Interview mit Thomas Breu

Der Nachhaltigkeitsexperte Thomas Breu von der Uni Bern schätzt Ikeas Engagement als umfassend ein, sieht jedoch auch kritische Punkte...

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Marktmacht-als-Hebel-des-Wandels.html