Ricola’s new herb centre combines business with nature

© Ricola.

Ricola’s herbal powers are now stored in Europe’s biggest earth building – the Kräuterzentrum herb centre designed by star architects Herzog & de Meuron. Ricola’s herb processing operations have been centred there since 2014. The pioneering project represented a substantial investment for Ricola. This should be recovered through the building’s low operating costs.

Yvonne von Hunnius, 11.08.2015

This is where they are stored, the mint leaves grown on the soils of Valais glacier moraine. You can literally feel their strong essential oils with every breath you inhale. Before being transported to Laufen in the canton of Basel-Landschaft, they were harvested at an altitude of 1,800 metres by a mountain farming family. Since January of this year, the extract obtained from the leaves has been giving Ricola’s new Glacier Mint sweets their flavour. Ricola’s Communication Manager, Hrvoje Tkalcec, points to the sacks of herbs in the vast warehouse and says: “The new product is selling so well that we need more herbs than our farmers can supply. We are currently in negotiations with another farmer who works on the same glacier moraine.” There is plenty of space available here for his herbs. The new herb centre has formed the heart and soul of Ricola’s herbal sweet and tea manufacture for a year. This is no ordinary building, but Europe’s largest earth structure based on a design by Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron (HdM). It was built using sand, clay and gravel, which originate from the immediate surroundings of the herb centre and were processed to produce rammed earth.

A temporary production site for the Ricola building was established in neighbouring Zwingen and equipped with specially produced machines. These were needed for the prefabrication of façade elements, which weigh 4.6 tonnes.
© Ricola

Herbs – the company’s most valuable asset

Until the new centre was opened, some of the herb processing was carried out directly on the farms but now everything runs through Laufen, the long-established headquarters of Ricola. All of the elderflowers and sage leaves – an annual total of 1.4 tonnes of fresh herbs – are cleaned, dried, cut, stored and mixed here. And the herbs are Ricola’s most valuable asset. They come from over one hundred Swiss farms. All of the farms must cultivate the herbs in accordance with strict organic principles – the use of pesticides and herbicides is forbidden.

© Ricola

The new herb centre should ensure that everything runs even more efficiently than before. Drying can now be carried out using an ingenious new system. For chopping, the herbs go through a complex labyrinth of machines. They then stand waiting in large sacks until they are needed in the sweet factory. As the world’s biggest producer of herbal sweets, strict environmental and quality management is crucial for Ricola. Five billion herbal sweets are dispatched to 50 countries throughout the world from Laufen every year. And each product must keep the company's promise that it does not contain any artificial flavourings. It all starts with the herbs.

© Ricola

Earth provides perfect conditions

Ricola is already renowned for unusual architectural projects in specialist circles. HdM and the family that owns Ricola have already collaborated on seven buildings which have made Laufen into something of pilgrimage site for architects. And these architects will now be joined by colleagues with an interest in earth building. The new herb centre appears to be the perfect project for this sustainable construction material: the herbs need uniform conditions and, thanks to the earth walls, the humidity in the building automatically ranges between 40 and 60 percent. This meant that the building services technology could be reduced to a minimum. Aesthetically, the building aptly reflects the material it is used to store: despite its powerful dimensions of 110 metres in length, 20 metres in width and eleven metres in height, thanks to its earthy colour, the earth façade integrates seamlessly into the lush green landscape.

© Ricola

Gathering experience for the future

Designing an earth building of this size is no easy task. The architects welcomed Martin Rauch on board for the design and implementation of the project. With his company Lehm Ton Erde (“Loam Clay Earth”) in Schlins in Vorarlberg, Rauch is Europe’s leading expert in earth building. A temporary production site for the Ricola building was established in neighbouring Zwingen and equipped with specially produced machines. These were needed for the prefabrication of façade elements, which weigh 4.6 tonnes. The building has a reinforced concrete frame. It took a total of 16 months to complete.

Earth building needs projects like the herb centre to enable the refinement of its production efficiency and the further development of rammed earth building techniques. Although the herb centre cost CHF 16 million to build, it is hoped that savings will be made through its low operating costs. Ricola’s Director of Technology Daniel Bhend, has the following to say in this regard: “The building is a low consumer. However, we will have to collect the data on it based on experience.” The figures on its efficiency will be produced by the future as there is reference structure available as yet. What is already clear is that the exhaust heat from the adjacent production works can be relied on to cover all of the energy needed to dry the herbs and for the air conditioning.

CO2 balance for each cough drop

Ricola has not yet published any environmental reports. This is due to change in the future, however. The company is currently establishing the impacts of its various initiatives with the help of climate protection experts from the myclimate organisation. For example, a seven percent saving on packaging material was recently achieved through the optimisation of the flip-top boxes used by the company. The annual CO2 emissions have been reduced by a total of 1270 tonnes since 2001 thanks to millions of francs of investments. Electricity is obtained from regional wind power, among other sources. In terms of sustainability, at the end of the assessment process it should be able to provide a CO2 balance that is broken down for each individual cough drop. Hrvoje Tkalcec says: “The herb centre represents an important milestone in Ricola’s quest to become more climate-friendly.”

***

The rediscovery of earth building

Over one third of the world’s population live in houses built entirely or partly of earth today. Up to industrialisation, earth building was also standard in Europe. It then fell into almost complete oblivion but is currently undergoing a rebirth. With the new visitors’ centre at the Swiss Ornithological Institute in Sempach, Switzerland’s first three-storey earth building was opened in 2015.

Besuchszentrum der Schweizerischen Vogelwarte
The Swiss Ornithological Institute’s new visitor centre. Switzerland's first three-storey earth building was opened in May 2015.
© Schweizerische Vogelwarte, Lukas Linder

A rammed earth vault was constructed on the ETH Hönggerberg campus in November 2014 for the purpose of gaining new insights into earth building. As was the case with the Ricola herb centre, earth building expert Martin Rauch was also involved in the projects in Sempach and Zurich.

Kuppel  ETH-Campus Hoenggerberg
A vault consisting of elements produced from non-stabilised rammed earth was constructed at the ETH Hönggerberg campus in Zurich in 2014.
© ETH Zürich, Gian Salis

Overall, the advantages of earth as a building material lie in its climate-regulating effect, its good sound-insulation and fire-protection properties, and its lack of pollutants. In addition, earth is suitable for use in very individual designs and can be recycled any number of times. On the other hand, building with earth is very labour-intensive. However, the construction period is considerably reduced today by the pre-fabrication of elements and their installation by crane. In many cases, earth building is combined with the use of reinforced-concrete or timber-framed structural elements.

Ricola and the issue of eco-certification

As a company Ricola is committed to organic standards. However, its products do not carry the Bio Swiss “Knospe” (bud) label, nor do they bear the “Bio-Kräuter” (“organic herb”) designation. Hrvoje Tkalcec explains: “The main reason for this is that the farms are not certified.” Although the 1.4 tonnes of fresh herbs required annually by the company are produced under strict organic conditions at all of its farms, only 70 percent of the farms have the “Knospe” certification. “We cannot and do not want to dictate to the farmers about how they should run the rest of their farms,” says Tkalcec. If the company were to purchase the remaining 30 percent of its herbs from certified organic farms abroad, the “Swissness” of its products would be undermined. This rule does not prevent Ricola from obtaining some of the sugar for its herbal sweet production from abroad, however. Tkalcec explains: “We only use sugar from neighbouring countries if the volume produced in Switzerland is insufficient.”

A family concern with a global reach

In 2014, Ricola’s turnover from the sale of herbal sweets and tea products was CHF 315.9 million and it had a workforce of around 400. Ricola is considered the world’s biggest producer of cough sweets and 90 percent of its total sales are made on over 50 foreign markets. Established by Emil Richterich in Laufen in 1930, the family concern is managed today by the President of the Board Felix Richterich and, according to Ricola, the company is completely self-financing. Despite the current difficulties in relation to the Swiss franc exchange rate, the company expects to record moderate growth this year.

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 15.09.2015

Top of page

Links

Ricola: Website
Herzog & De Meuron: Website
Lehm Ton Erde: Website
myclimate:
Website
Swiss Ornithological Institute in Sempach: Website
ETH Zurich: Website Departement of Architecture
Bio Suisse: Website of the federation of Swiss organic farmers

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Kraeuterzentrum-von-Ricola-verbindet-Natur-und-Wirtschaft.html

Neues Kräuterzentrum von Ricola verbindet Natur und Wirtschaft

© Ricola.

Ricolas Kräuterkraft lagert in Europas grösstem Lehmbau – dem Kräuterzentrum der Stararchitekten Herzog & de Meuron. Seit 2014 hat Ricola dort ihre Kräuterverarbeitung zentral untergebracht. Das Pionierprojekt war eine substanzielle Investition für Ricola. Diese soll durch den sparsamen Betrieb des Baus amortisiert werden.

Von Yvonne von Hunnius, 11.08.2015

Hier lagern sie, die Minzenblätter von der Walliser Gletschermoräne. Mit jedem Atemzug nimmt man im neuen Ricola-Kräuterzentrum ihre starken ätherischen Öle wahr. Bevor sie nach Laufen BL transportiert wurden, hat sie eine Bergbauernfamilie in 1800 Metern Höhe geerntet. Seit diesem Januar schenkt ihr Extrakt der neuen Bonbonsorte Gletscherminze ihr Aroma. Der Communication Manager von Ricola, Hrvoje Tkalcec, zeigt auf die Kräutersäcke in der gewaltigen Lagerhalle und sagt: „Die neue Sorte läuft so gut, dass wir mehr brauchen, als unser Bauer liefern kann. Wir sind gerade in Gesprächen mit einem weiteren Bergbauern der gleichen Gletschermoräne.“ Für seine Kräuter hat es hier noch reichlich Platz. Seit einem Jahr ist das neue Kräuterzentrum das Herz der Bonbon- und Teeherstellung von Ricola. Dabei handelt es sich um kein gewöhnliches Gebäude, sondern den grössten Lehmbau Europas mit dem Design der Schweizer Architekten Herzog & de Meuron (HdM). Hergestellt aus den Materialien Sand, Ton und Schotter, die aus der direkten Umgebung des Kräuterzentrums stammen und zu Stampflehm verarbeitet wurden.

Für den Lehmbau wurden Fassadenelemente vorproduziert, die ein Gewicht von 4,6 Tonnen auf die Waage bringen. Die Tragstruktur ist ein Stahlbetonskelettbau.
© Ricola

Kräuter sind das wertvollste Gut

Bis zur Eröffnung des neuen Zentrums fand ein Teil der Kräuterverarbeitung direkt bei den Bauern statt, nun läuft alles über Laufen, den traditionellen Hauptsitz von Ricola. Sämtliche Holunderblüten oder Salbeiblätter – jährlich insgesamt 1,4 Tonnen frische Kräuter – werden hier gereinigt, getrocknet, geschnitten, gelagert und gemischt. Und die Kräuter sind Ricolas wertvollstes Gut. Sie stammen von über hundert Schweizer Landwirtschaftsbetrieben. Alle müssen die Kräuter nach strengen biologischen Grundsätzen anbauen – Pestizide und Herbizide sind tabu.

© Ricola

Das neue Kräuterzentrum soll nun dafür sorgen, dass es noch effizienter weitergeht. Die Trocknung kann nach einem ausgeklügelten System stattfinden. Zum Zerkleinern durchlaufen die Kräuter ein komplexes Maschinen-Labyrinth. In grosse Säcke abgefüllt, warten sie, bis sie in der Bonbonkocherei gebraucht werden. Dabei ist das strikte Umwelt- und Qualitätsmanagement entscheidend für Ricola als den weltweit grössten Hersteller von Hustenbonbons. Von Laufen aus werden jährlich fünf Milliarden Bonbons in 50 Länder der Erde verschickt. Und jedes Produkt muss das Versprechen einhalten, dass es keine künstlichen Aromastoffe enthält. Alles beginnt bei den Kräutern.

© Ricola

Lehm schafft perfekte Bedingungen

Für ausgefallene Architekturprojekte ist Ricola in Fachkreisen schon bekannt. Insgesamt haben HdM und Ricolas Eigentümerfamilie Richterich bereits bei sieben Gebäuden zusammengearbeitet, die Laufen zu einem Pilgerort für Architekten gemacht haben. Jetzt werden diejenigen hinzukommen, die sich für das Bauen mit dem Lehm interessieren. Das neue Kräuterzentrum scheint das perfekte Objekt für dieses nachhaltige Baumaterial zu sein: Die Kräuter brauchen einheitliche Bedingungen und durch die Lehmwände pendelt sich die Luftfeuchtigkeit von selbst auf 40 bis 60 Prozent ein. Dadurch konnte die Haustechnik auf ein Minimum beschränkt werden. Ästhetisch drückt das Gebäude aus, was sich dahinter verbirgt: Die Lehmfassade ist mit einer Länge von 110 Meter, 30 Meter Breite und elf Metern Höhe zwar mächtig, integriert sich in ihrem Erdton aber unaufdringlich in die sattgrüne Landschaft.

© Ricola

Erfahrungen sammeln für die Zukunft

Dabei ist es kein Leichtes, einen Lehmbau dieses Ausmasses zu planen. Für die Konzeption und Umsetzung hat man sich Martin Rauch mit ins Boot geholt. Mit seiner Firma Lehm Ton Erde in Schlins in Vorarlberg ist er der führende Lehmbauexperte Europas. Für den Ricola-Bau wurde eine temporäre Produktionsstätte im benachbarten Zwingen eingerichtet und mit speziell angefertigten Maschinen bestückt. Das war nötig, um Fassadenelemente vorzuproduzieren, die ein Gewicht von 4,6 Tonnen auf die Waage bringen. Die Tragstruktur ist ein Stahlbetonskelettbau. Insgesamt wurde 16 Monate gebaut.

Der Lehmbau braucht Projekte wie das Kräuterzentrum, um an einer effizienten Produktion zu feilen und den Stampflehmbau an sich weiterzuentwickeln. So hat das Kräuterzentrum zwar 16 Millionen Franken gekostet, doch man erhofft sich durch den sparsamen Betrieb Einsparungen. Generell sagt der Bereichsleiter Technik bei Ricola, Daniel Bhend: „Das Gebäude ist ein kleiner Verbraucher. Doch wir müssen erst Erfahrungswerte sammeln.“ Die Zukunft wird die Effizienz in Zahlen giessen, denn es gibt noch kein Referenzobjekt. Klar ist: Für die Trocknung der Kräuter und Klimatisierungsaufgaben kann man vollständig auf die Abwärme aus dem naheliegenden Produktionswerk setzen.

CO2-Bilanz für jedes Bonbon

Noch veröffentlicht Ricola keinen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht. Das soll sich in Zukunft jedoch ändern. Mithilfe der Klimaschutzexperten von myclimate wird gerade zusammengetragen, welche Initiativen von Ricola welche Effekte haben. So wurde erst kürzlich durch eine Optimierung der Böxli-Verpackung 7 Prozent des Verpackungsmaterials eingespart. Insgesamt wurde seit 2001 durch Investitionen im Millionenbereich der jährliche CO2-Ausstoss um 1270 Tonnen reduziert. Strom bezieht man unter anderem auch aus regionaler Windkraft. Im Nachhaltigkeitsbericht soll dann eine CO2-Bilanz vorliegen, die auf jedes einzelne Bonbon heruntergebrochen ist. Hrvoje Tkalcec sagt: „Dabei ist das Kräuterzentrum ein wichtiger Meilenstein auf Ricolas Weg, klimafreundlicher zu werden.“

***

Die Wiederentdeckung des Lehmbaus

Mehr als ein Drittel der Weltbevölkerung lebt heute in Häusern, die ganz oder teilweise mit Lehm gebaut sind. Bis zur Industrialisierung war Lehmbau auch in Europa üblich, geriet dann nahezu in Vergessenheit und erlebt momentan eine Wiedergeburt. Im Mai 2015 wurde mit dem neuen Besuchszentrum der Vogelwarte Sempach das erste dreigeschossige Lehmgebäude der Schweiz eröffnet.

Besuchszentrum der Schweizerischen Vogelwarte
© Schweizerische Vogelwarte, Lukas Linder

Im November 2014 wurde am ETH-Campus Hönggerberg in Zürich eine Stampflehmkuppel (Bild unten) errichtet, um neue Erkenntnisse zum Lehmbau zu gewinnen. Wie beim Ricola-Kräuterzentrum war an den Projekten in Sempach und Zürich der Lehmbauexperte Martin Rauch beteiligt.

Kuppel  ETH-Campus Hoenggerberg
© ETH Zürich, Gian Salis

Generell liegen die Vorteile von Lehm als Baustoff bei seiner klimatisierenden Wirkung, einem guten Schall- und Brandschutz und seiner Schadstofffreiheit. Zudem kann Lehm sehr individuell gestaltet und beliebig oft wieder aufbereitet werden. Andererseits ist das Bauen mit Lehm sehr arbeitsintensiv. Die Bauzeit wird heute jedoch massgeblich dadurch verkürzt, indem Elemente vorproduziert und per Kran eingesetzt werden. In manchen Fällen wird auch auf eine Kombination mit einer Holz- oder Betonskelettbauweise zurückgegriffen.

 

Ricola und die Krux mit der Bio-Zertifizierung

Das Unternehmen Ricola ist biologischen Standards verpflichtet. Doch ihre Produkte sind weder Knospe-zertifiziert, noch wird für sie die Bezeichnung „Bio-Kräuter“ verwendet. Hrvoje Tkalcec sagt: „Der Hauptgrund liegt bei fehlenden Zertifizierungen der Bauernhöfe.“ So wird zwar der jährliche Bedarf von 1,4 Tonnen frischer Kräuter von allen Landwirtschaftsbetrieben unter den biologischen Bedingungen hergestellt. Doch diese sind selbst nur zu 70 Prozent Knospe-zertifiziert. „Wir können und wollen den Bauern nicht vorschreiben, wie sie den Rest ihres Hofes zu führen haben“, sagt Tkalcec. Würde man die verbleibenden 30 Prozent der Kräuter von zertifizierten ausländischen Betrieben ankaufen, stünde die Swissness auf dem Spiel. Dieser Regel widerspricht nicht, dass Ricola den Zucker für die Bonbonproduktion teils aus dem Ausland bezieht. Tkalcec sagt: „Wir weichen nur auf Zucker aus dem grenznahen Ausland aus, wenn die Schweizer Menge nicht ausreicht.“

 

Familienunternehmen mit globaler Reichweite

Ricola setzte 2014 mit Bonbons und Teeprodukten 315,9 Millionen Franken um und beschäftigt rund 400 Mitarbeitende. Ricola gilt als der grösste Hersteller von Hustenbonbons der Welt, wobei 90 Prozent des Gesamtumsatzes in über 50 ausländischen Märkten erwirtschaftet werden. 1930 in Laufen von Emil Richterich gegründet, leitet heute Felix Richterich als Verwaltungsratspräsident das Familienunternehmen, das sich laut Aussagen von Ricola komplett selbst finanziert. Im laufenden Jahr rechnet man mit einem verhaltenen Wachstum trotz der belastenden Frankensituation.

 

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 15.09.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

Links

Ricola: Firmen-Website
Herzog & De Meuron:
Firmen-Website
Lehm Ton Erde:
Firmen-Website
myclimate:
Stiftungs-Website
Schweizerische Vogelwarte Sempach:
Website
ETH Zürich:
Website Departement Architektur
Bio Suisse:
Website des Dachverbands der Schweizer Knospe-Betriebe

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Kraeuterzentrum-von-Ricola-verbindet-Natur-und-Wirtschaft.html