IKEA – a pioneer with room to improve: Interview with Thomas Breu

A sustainability expert from the University of Bern assesses IKEA’s commitment as comprehensive but also identifies some critical points.

Interview: Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

Thomas Breu

Geographer Thomas Breu has been involved in numerous research and implementation projects at national and international levels. He is currently Director of the Centre for Development and Environment at the University of Bern and also leads an international doctoral school in the field of global change and sustainable development.

To what extent do you see IKEA as a pioneer?

Thomas Breu: IKEA’s efforts, particularly in relation to the promotion of new environmentally-friendly technologies like energy-saving light bulbs, have a crucial and pioneering effect. IKEA can be seen as a “populiser”. The first generation of energy-saving light bulbs was launched around 15 years ago. This technology protects the environment but it is difficult to quantify its impact – specifically, due to so-called rebound effects, which reduce gains in efficiency through increased consumption in other areas.

Where does potential still exist regarding the environmental impacts?

It is essential to take into account that given the very considerable distances involved in its supply and distribution chains, IKEA’s mode of production consumes a huge amount of energy. The long distances travelled by the 13 million people who travel to the IKEA shops in the Swiss countryside every year must also be taken into account.

Can you identify any fundamentally critical points?

IKEA’s sustainability strategy adopts the central concerns of the recently adopted UN Agenda 2030 with its 17 Sustainable Development Goals. The contribution to the Action Agenda, which was also adopted by the UN in Addis Ababa in summer 2015, is not specified, however. A central focus of this financing agenda concerns corporate taxation, which is remains highly fragmentary and enables companies to avoid tax through legal measures. Like other multinational firms, IKEA uses legal means to optimise its tax payments in the countries where it operates. As a result, the global community and, in particular, developing countries that are very severely affected by global change are deprived of substantial tax income, which is urgently required to finance the implementation of global and national sustainability strategies.

Critics note that IKEA has made furniture into short-lived consumer goods ...

IKEA basically operates in a very difficult area between price and quality competitiveness. Through its focus on low prices, IKEA has a very stimulating impact on consumption. Compared to high-price goods, its products probably have a shorter lifecycle before being disposed of and thus contribute to the throw-away mentality. On the positive side, IKEA has enabled less affluent families in Europe and America to access furniture and fittings.

In your view, how ambitious are IKEA’s efforts for sustainability?

IKEA has actually set itself an ambitious and comprehensive sustainability strategy which clearly goes beyond a campaign motivated by mere image considerations. To a certain extent it is also exceptional and certainly achieves positive impacts on the current ecological footprint of its operations and in the use of its products. However, there is an almost inevitable fundamental conflict between IKEA’s overall business model and sustainable development in different areas. The measures it has adopted are suitable for improving the existing business model. A precondition for this, however, is the regular independent evaluation of the measures, particularly also in relation to the impacts of production in the countries of origin.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 10.11.2015

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Interview-Thomas-Breu.html

Ikea ist ein Pionier mit Verbesserungspotenzial – Interview mit Thomas Breu

Der Nachhaltigkeitsexperte Thomas Breu von der Uni Bern schätzt Ikeas Engagement als umfassend ein, sieht jedoch auch kritische Punkte.

Interview: Yvonne von Hunnius, 10.11.2015

Thomas Breu

Der Geograf Thomas Breu war international und national im Rahmen von zahlreichen Forschungs- und Umsetzungsprojekt tätig. Er ist heute Direktor des Zentrums für Entwicklung und Umwelt (CDE) der Universität Bern und leitet eine internationale Doktorandenschule im Bereich Globaler Wandel und Nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Inwieweit sehen Sie Ikea als Pionier?

Thomas Breu: Die Bemühungen von Ikea insbesondere in der Promotion von neuen umweltschonenden Technologien wie Stromsparlampen nehmen eine wichtige Pionierrolle ein. Ikea kann als „Popularisierungsförderer“ gesehen werden. Die erste Generation der Stromsparlampen wurde vor rund 15 Jahren eingeführt. Das entlastet die Umwelt, ist allerdings schwierig zu quantifizieren – namentlich die sogenannten Rebound-Effekte, die Effizienzgewinne durch Mehrkonsum in anderen Bereichen wieder schmälern.

Wo ist hinsichtlich der Umweltauswirkungen noch Potenzial?

Man muss in Betracht ziehen, dass die Produktionsweise von IKEA mit den doch sehr beträchtlichen Distanzen in den Zulieferungs- und Verteilungsketten grundsätzlich sehr viel Energie verbraucht. Ins Gewicht fallen auch die langen Anfahrtswege der jährlich 13 Millionen Schweizer Besuchenden zu den im Grünen liegenden Ikea Filialen.

Sehen Sie grundsätzlich kritische Punkte?

Die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie nimmt zentrale Anliegen der kürzlich verabschiedeten UNO Agenda 2030 mit ihren 17 Nachhaltigkeitszielen auf. Der Beitrag zu der von der UNO ebenfalls im Sommer 2015 in Addis Abeba verabschiedeten Action Agenda ist aber nicht gegeben. Ein zentraler Bereich dieser Finanzierungsagenda betrifft die Unternehmensbesteuerung, die gegenwärtig noch sehr lückenhaft ist und es Firmen ermöglicht, auf legalem Weg Steuern zu vermeiden. Ikea optimiert, wie andere multinationalen Firmen, über legale Praktiken ihre Steuerabgaben in den Ländern, in denen sie tätig ist. Dadurch entgehen der Weltgemeinschaft und namentlich den vom globalen Wandel besonders betroffenen Entwicklungsländern substantielle Steuereinnahmen, die dringend zur Umsetzung der globalen und der jeweiligen nationalen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien benötigt würden.

Kritiker merken an, dass Ikea aus Möbeln kurzlebige Konsumgüter gemacht hat...

Ikea bewegt sich grundsätzlich in einem sehr schwierigen Spannungsfeld von Preis- und Qualitätswettbewerb. Durch die Orientierung auf niedrige Kosten wirkt Ikea klar konsumtreibend. Die Produkte haben im Vergleich mit hochpreisigen Produkten vermutlich eine kürzere Lebensdauer bis zur jeweiligen Entsorgung und tragen damit wohl zur Wegwerfmentalität bei. Auf der positiven Seite hat Ikea namentlich in Europa und Amerika auch vielen weniger begüterten Familien Zugang zu Einrichtungsprodukten gegeben.

Als wie ambitioniert bewerten Sie die Bemühungen letztlich?

Ikea hat sich in der Tat eine ambitionierte und umfassende Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie gegeben, die klar über eine rein imagemotivierte Kampagne hinausreicht. Sie ist in gewissem Masse auch aussergewöhnlich und erzielt sicherlich positive Effekte ihres gegenwärtigen ökologischen Fussabdruckes des Betriebes und im Betrieb ihrer Produkte. Aber das gesamte Geschäftsmodell von Ikea ist fast zwangsläufig in verschieden Bereich in einem grundsätzlichen Konflikt mit einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Die Massnahmen sind aber dazu geeignet, das bestehende Geschäftsmodell zu verbessern. Voraussetzung dafür ist aber eine unabhängige regelmässige Evaluation der Massnahmen insbesondere auch hinsichtlich der Auswirkungen der Produktion in den Herkunftsländern.

Kommentare

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 10.11.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Interview-Thomas-Breu.html