“Switzerland could be a lot braver!”

Nobody can get by without mobility – but they can manage without a second car, says transport expert Daniel Matti from Interface, a company that provides policy studies and research and consultancy services. He sees potential in the area of collaborative mobility and calls for greater courage on the part of the federal authorities in this area.

Interview: Yvonne von Hunnius, 24.2.2016

A geographer by training, Daniel Matti is Director of Transportation and Spatial Development at the Interface policy studies, research and consultancy provider in Lucerne. He focuses on the areas of mobility, spatial development and demographic change in his work.

How can the Swiss people ensure optimum protection of the environment through their mobility habits?

This is clear to anyone who does the online-check on the Mobility Advisory Service Switzerland website. This platform is funded by public and private partners and it provides around 5,000 individual consultations each year. These consultations demonstrate, for example, the environmental impacts of individual mobility, how much time and money it costs, and what kind of alternatives are available. According to research studies, environmental issues are the most important concern of transport users, followed by issues of cost and time.

And do they really change anything based on the consultations?

In a survey, between five and ten percent of the users of Mobility Advisory Service Switzerland indicated that the consultation helped them with decisions in relation to a fleet and that they decided against running a first or second car. And car ownership is a crucial factor when it comes to mileage. A good example of this is the car sharing energy balance, which we calculated for the first time in 2006 on behalf of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy and recently updated. Thanks to Mobility car-sharing, the equivalent of 8.8 million litres of petrol were saved in 2014. This positive outcome was enabled by the relatively small proportion of Mobility users who, in addition to using carsharing, do not have a car of their own – they make such a difference that energy is ultimately saved.

What kind of people are moving from car ownership to the sharing model?

Often they are people who experience changes in their lives and move house, for example. For this reason, on the Mobility Advisory Service Switzerland website we draw attention to brochures containing information for new residents, for example in the commune of Köniz. It is at such times in life that people reorganize their mobility habits – they tend to stick to existing routines otherwise.

Where do you see major potential for sharing models?

Sharing concepts offer major opportunities, for example, in the coverage of off-peak times in peripheral regions: carsharing or car-pooling can offer the perfect complement to public transport or call-a-bus services. Many of these models are still focusing on urban areas – however, the spread of collaborative mobility services will increase in peripheral regions as soon as the major transport operators like the SBB and Postauto Schweiz develop more activities in this area.

How do you see Switzerland in general – how can mobility here be made more sustainable?

There are three starting points here, in my view. First, greater change is practically impossible without “mobility pricing”, that is a use-based levy to fund infrastructure and services in both private and public transport. This can best be implemented in the area of public transport at present, however it is important not to make public transport less attractive as a result. Second, good framework conditions are needed for collaborative mobility – for example, legal questions remain open and the role of the federal authorities needs to be clarified. We are currently cooperating on National Research Programme 71 “Sharing Economy: Hype or Promise?” which is investigating the energy-efficiency of collaborative mobility. A survey that also aims to research rebound effects is currently starting. Sharing services should enable energy-efficient mobility. Third, the authorities must focus more on pedestrians and cyclists. Non-motorised transport is the poor relation of federal transport policy and an area in which we are not pioneers in Switzerland – even when compared to states with less favourable climate conditions.

So you would make the federal authorities more accountable?

Switzerland has not had a really innovative transport project since the emergence of car sharing. Impetus from the state could get things moving here. Given that price sensitivity is relatively low in Switzerland, we could also be far more innovative and brave. And if we do not rapidly advance innovative concepts with public transport and sharing, we will be overtaken by the development of (fully) automated cars. It is clear to me that a number of appear to be most willing to invest in this area at the moment. But many fail to recognise the major challenges involved. With automated cars, almost all of the limitations relating to car use would be eliminated and mileage could explode – what’s more, at the expense of the environment.  

Federal authorities seek sustainable mobility concepts

Switzerland’s federal department for infrastructure and the environment (DETEC) supports ideas and approaches for future-proof mobility. The DZM (Service Centre for Innovative and Sustainable Mobility) was established for this purpose as part of a pilot scheme. On the completion of its consolidation phase, it shall act as KOMO (Coordination Office for Sustainable Mobility) and become established as the central point of contact for sustainable mobility projects. When it comes to improving the performance and sustainability of the overall transport system, particular emphasis is assigned to the interfaces between different transport modes. Accordingly, actors seeking funding are jointly assessed by experts from the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE), Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE), Federal Roads Office (ASTRA), Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Federal Office of Transport (BAV) and Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH).

Link (in German, French and Italian): www.are.admin.ch

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 26.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Die-Schweiz-koennte-viel-mutiger-sein.html

„Die Schweiz könnte viel mutiger sein!“

Auf Mobilität kann niemand verzichten – auf ein Zweitauto schon, sagt Verkehrsexperte Daniel Matti von Interface Politikstudien Forschung Beratung. Er sieht Potenzial in der kollaborativen Mobilität und fordert mehr Mut vom Bund.

Interview: Yvonne von Hunnius, 24.2.2016

Der Geograf Daniel Matti ist Bereichsleiter Verkehr und Raum beim Beratungs- und Forschungsunternehmen Interface Politikstudien Forschung Beratung in Luzern. Seine Themenschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Mobilität, Raumentwicklung und demografischer Wandel.

Wie können die Schweizer die Umwelt bei ihrer Mobilität am besten schonen?

Das erkennt, wer beispielsweise den Selbsttest beim Mobilitätsdurchblick macht. Diese Plattform wird getragen von öffentlichen und privaten Partnern. Damit werden jährlich rund 5000 individualisierte Beratungen durchgeführt. Sichtbar werden etwa die Umweltauswirkungen der eigenen Mobilität, wie viel Zeit und Geld sie braucht und welche Alternativen es gibt. Den Nutzern des Mobilitätsdurchblicks sind laut Untersuchungen die Umweltaspekte am wichtigsten, erst danach kommen Fragen nach Geld und Zeit.

Und ändern sie durch die Beratung tatsächlich etwas?

In einer Befragung gaben 5 bis 10 Prozent der Nutzer des Mobilitätsdurchblicks an, die Beratung als Entscheidungshilfe bei einem Flottenentscheid genutzt und auf einen Erst- oder Zweitwagen verzichtet zu haben. Und entscheidend für die Fahrleistung ist der Autobesitz. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist die Carsharing-Energiebilanz, die wir erstmals 2006 im Auftrag des Bundesamts für Energie durchgeführt haben und kürzlich aktualisiert wurde. Dank Mobility wurden 2014 umgerechnet 8,8 Millionen Liter Benzin eingespart. Diese positive Bilanz wird durch einen relativ kleinen Teil der Mobility-Nutzer ermöglicht, die neben Mobility ganz auf das eigene Auto verzichten – sie machen so viel aus, dass in der Summe Energie eingespart wird.

Welche Menschen steigen vom eigenen Auto zum Sharing-Modell um?

Oft sind es diejenigen, die biographische Brüche erleben und beispielsweise umziehen. Deshalb machen wir auf den Mobilitätsdurchblick beispielsweise auch in Broschüren für Neuzuzüger aufmerksam, etwa in der Gemeinde Köniz. Genau in diesen Momenten im Leben organisiere ich meine Mobilität neu – sonst herrscht Routine.

In welchen Punkten sehen Sie noch grosses Potenzial für Sharing-Modelle?

Beispielsweise bei der Abdeckung der Randzeiten in Randregionen gibt es grosse Chancen für Sharing-Konzepte: Zum ÖV- oder Rufbussystem kann jetzt Carsharing oder Carpooling – also das Mitfahren –als perfekte Ergänzung zum ÖV kommen. Noch konzentrieren sich viele dieser Angebote auf die städtischen Räume – doch die Verbreitung von Angeboten kollaborativer Mobilität wird auch in Randregionen steigen, sobald grosse Verkehrsbetreiber wie die SBB und Postauto Schweiz diesbezügliche Aktivitäten stärker ausbauen.

Wo sehen Sie die Schweiz generell – wie kann hier Mobilität nachhaltiger gestaltet werden?

Ich sehe drei Ansatzpunkte. Erstens ist eine stärkere Veränderung kaum möglich ohne Mobility Pricing, also eine benutzungsbezogene Abgabe für Mobilität. Das kann momentan der ÖV am besten umsetzen, doch es ist wichtig, dadurch den ÖV nicht unattraktiv zu machen. Zweitens braucht es gute Rahmenbedingungen für die kollaborative Mobilität – es gibt etwa offene Rechtsfragen und die Rolle des Bundes ist zu klären. Aktuell arbeiten wir im NFP 71-Forschungsprojekt „Kollaborativer Konsum: Hype oder Versprechen?“ mit, welches die Energiebilanz der kollaborativen Mobilität untersucht. Aktuell startet dabei eine Breitenbefragung, um auch Rebound-Effekte zu erforschen. Sharing-Angebote sollten energieeffiziente Mobilität ermöglichen. Drittens müssen sich Behörden verstärkt den Fussgängern und Velofahrern widmen. Der Langsamverkehr ist ein Stiefkind der Bundesverkehrspolitik, bei der wir in der Schweiz keine Vorreiterschaft innehaben – sogar in Bezug auf solche Staaten, die klimatisch ungünstigere Verhältnisse haben.

Sie würden also den Bund stärker in die Pflicht nehmen?

Seit dem Durchbruch von Carsharing hat die Schweiz kein richtig innovatives Verkehrsprojekt mehr erlebt. Hier könnten staatliche Impulse etwas bewegen. Man könnte auch deshalb viel innovativer und mutiger sein, weil die Preissensibilität in der Schweiz vergleichsweise gering ist. Und wenn wir nicht rasch innovative Konzepte mit ÖV und Sharing-Anbietern vorantreiben, wird uns die Entwicklung der (voll-)automatisierten Fahrzeuge überrollen. Hier sehe ich momentan den grössten Willen zu Investitionen von verschiedenen Akteuren. Dabei verkennen viele die grossen Herausforderungen. Durch automatisierte Fahrzeuge fielen fast alle Einschränkungen im Gebrauch eines Autos weg und die Fahrleistungen könnten explodieren - auch zu Lasten der Umwelt.

Bund sucht nachhaltige Mobilitätskonzepte

Das Infrastruktur- und Umweltdepartement (UVEK) unterstützt Ideen und Ansätze für eine zukunftsfähige Mobilität. In einem Pilotversuch wurde hierfür das Dienstleistungszentrum für innovative und nachhaltige Mobilität (DZM) gegründet. Nach der Konsolidierungsphase soll es als Koordinationsstelle für nachhaltige Mobilität (KOMO) wirken und sich als zentrale Anlaufstelle für nachhaltige Mobilitätsprojekte etablieren. Gerade den Schnittstellen der verschiedenen Verkehrsträger wird dabei grosse Bedeutung beigemessen, die Leistungsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit des gesamten Verkehrssystems zu verbessern. Beitragssuchende werden somit gemeinsam beurteilt von Experten des Amts für Energie (BFE), für Raumentwicklung (ARE), Strassen (ASTRA), Umwelt (BAFU), Verkehr (BAV) und Gesundheit (BAG).

Link: www.are.admin.ch

Kommentare

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 26.02.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Die-Schweiz-koennte-viel-mutiger-sein.html