Shoulder to shoulder with the natural environment

The concept of a green economy is a modern one. However, due to economic pressures, a sparing approach to scarce resources has always been part of everyday life in the Alpine region. In many cases, what appears to represent an ideal today amounts to the ‘green economy’ of yesteryear.

By Manuela Ziegler, 15.12.2015

p_00063706
Haymaking around 1900, Engadin, Switzerland.
© CC Gemeinfrei

High up on the Alpine pastures, nature appears to have remained unspoiled. However, like many other natural beauties in the Alpine region, the Alpine pasture is, in fact, a cultural landscape formed by humans. The intactness of the Alpine pastures is down to sustainable management, an approach that our ancestors would not necessarily have designated as such. In many cases, adapting individual lifestyles to the scarcity of resources was simply essential for survival.

Natural forest, as if!
Since time immemorial forests were not just a habitat and living space but also part of the basic food supply. They acted pastures for cows and goats.

p_00071942
© BAFU/Markus Bolliger

Overgrazing was not uncommon due to the attempt to increase yields. Soil erosion arose as a result. “The farmers affected by this were forced to restore a natural balance,” says Paul Messerli, a retired cultural geographer of the University of Bern. He also quotes the Grindelwald valley agreement (Taleinungsbrief) of 1404, which became world-renowned thanks to Elinor Ostrom, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics in 2009. Based on this example, the American economist and political scientist showed how the community-based management of scarce common goods like water, pastureland, forests and air can succeed.

In search of balance
The valley agreement studied by Ostrom was an accord between Interlaken Monastery as the landowner and the farmers as land users. The two parties agreed that the number of cows to be allowed to graze on the Alpine pasture in summer should not exceed the number that could be sustained in winter by the fodder produced in the valley. “This strategy aims to strike a balance between the use of the Alpine pasture and valley, and highlights the fact that the reproduction of resources must be taken into consideration in production,” explains cultural geographer Messerli. For as long as our ancestors were unable to leave their locations to find and use new resources, the circular economy was vital for their survival.

Optimum use of terraces
Human interventions in nature did not always require the adoption of a new approach as in the case of the Grindelwald valley agreement. It has been shown that the field terraces near Guarda in the Unterengadin region have been used as productive land since 2000 BC.

Guarda
Guarda, Grisons, Switzerland.
© Schweizer Luftwaffe

“These are an example of how the transformation of nature and long-term land use do not automatically result in the destruction of nature,” says Werner Bätzing, also a retired cultural geographer from the University of Erlangen. The same applies to vineyard terraces as found in Valais, the Aosta Valley and Valtellina. “The steep slopes were stabilized so well and permanently.  At the same time a habitat formed for specialised animals and plants,” says Bätzig.

Suonen irrigation channels under pressure
Bätzing stresses, however, that the Alpine cultural landscapes were generally unstable and required constant ecological stabilisation measures in the course of their use. In his view the principle of balance is too static. Our environmental conditions are changeable. This is demonstrated by the suonen, the irrigation channels found on the slopes of the low-precipitation Rhone valley. This form of agricultural irrigation using mountain and glacier streams has been in operation for at least one thousand years.

1280px-Bisse_de_Montorge_(4)
Suone in Valais, Switzerland.
© Pelerin CC BY-SA 3.0

But for how much longer? The globalised economy does not call a halt at the overexploitation of water resources. According to the predictions  of National Research Project NFP61 on the topic of sustainable water management, which is led by hydrologist Christian Leibundgut, global energy scarcity, climate change and continuous economic growth could lead to conflicts regarding the use of water in future. The aim of the research is to balance economic, social and ecological considerations in the context of water use.

Switzerland’s forests are changing
However, sustainable management is extremely complex in the context of global trade flows. This is demonstrated by the example of Swiss forests. For centuries they were the country’s most important energy source. They were threatened with collapse in the 19th century due to the demand for wood from a rapidly expanding population. “The pressure on the forests did not decline until the large-scale import of foreign energy sources. This also paved the way for sustainability,” says Martin Stuber, an environmental historian at the University of Bern. This trend proved to have a downside, however, as the income from wood production became increasingly precarious from from the 1960s.

“The forestry sector responded with better access to forest roads, more greater operational efficiency and more technical support,” says the environmental historian. Around one quarter of the Swiss forest is now FSC-certified. Forests also fulfil an important function through their social use as leisure forests and conflicts with economic objectives are not uncommon in urban areas, in particular. Even on a small scale, green management is a big project.

"Suonen" distribute the scarce water

The dry climate of the region of Valais was probably what forced its original inhabitants to irrigate their crops. The possibility of Roman influences are also discussed. The suonen (suoha in old high German, i.e. ditch) run along the northern and southern slopes of the Rhone valley and are supplied with water by the mountain and glacier streams. Most suonen are up to two kilometres in length while the longest is over 30 kilometres long. Their gradient was crucial to their functioning. The channels, which were traditionally built in wood, run through the soil but in some cases were cut into stone or walled. Their course is stabilised by laterally erected stone slabs. Building and maintaining the Suonen was a dangerous task. Many of them are still in operation today for sprinkler irrigation. They also assumed a secondary function as hiking paths.

Comments

*
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will be published with your comment.
*
Will not be published.

* Click here to access the Netiquette and Editorial principles. Your data are stored on a federal administration server for 60 days so that we can process your comment.

Last modification 15.12.2015

Top of page

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/en/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Auf-Tuchfuehlung-mit-der-natuerlichen-Umwelt.html

Auf Tuchfühlung mit der natürlichen Umwelt

Der Begriff Grüne Wirtschaft ist modern. Aber der sparsame Umgang mit knappen Ressourcen war im Alpenraum schon immer Alltag – eine Folge wirtschaftlichen Drucks. Was heute idyllisch wirkt, ist oft „Grüne Wirtschaft“ von gestern.

Von Manuela Ziegler, 15.12.2015

p_00063706
Heufuhr im Engadin um 1900.
© CC Gemeinfrei

Hoch droben auf der Alp scheint die Natur noch unberührt. Tatsächlich aber handelt es sich bei der Alp, wie auch bei vielen anderen Naturschönheiten im Alpenraum, um vom Menschen geformte Kulturlandschaften. Ihre Intaktheit verdanken sie einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaftsweise, die unsere Vorfahren nicht unbedingt als solche bezeichneten. Vielfach war es überlebensnotwendig, die eigene Lebensweise den knappen Ressourcen anzupassen.

Von wegen natürlicher Wald
So wurden von alters her auch die Hanglagen der Alpen als Lebens- und Wirtschaftsraum genutzt: Bewaldet lieferten sie Holz und stabilisierten die Hänge. Aber auch als Weiden waren sie kostbar, denn mit Kühen und Ziegen erwirtschaftete man wichtige Nahrungsmittel.

p_00071942
© BAFU/Markus Bolliger

Zur Steigerung der Erträge kam es nicht selten zu Überweidung, Bodenerosionen folgten. „ Die Betroffenen waren gezwungen, wieder ein natürliches Gleichgewicht herzustellen“, sagt Paul Messerli, emeritierter Kulturgeograph der Universität Bern. Und er zitiert den Taleinungsbrief von Grindelwald von 1404. Dieser wurde durch Elinor Ostrom, die 2009 den Wirtschaftsnobelpreis erhielt, weltberühmt. Die amerikanische Ökonomin und Politikwissenschaftlerin zeigte, wie die Bewirtschaftung von knappen Gemeingütern –   Wasser, Weiden, Wäldern oder Luft  – gemeinschaftlich gelingen kann.

Auf der Suche nach einem Gleichgewicht
Der von Ostrom untersuchte Taleinungsbrief ist eine Vereinbarung zwischen dem Kloster Interlaken als Grundeigentümer und die Bauern als Bewirtschaftern. Beide einigten sich darauf, sommers nur soviel Kühe auf der Alp weiden zu lassen, wie im Winter mit der Futterbasis des Tales durchgefüttert werden können. „Dieses Konzept zielt auf ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Alp- und Talnutzung und sagt aus, dass bei der Produktion die Reproduktion der Ressourcen mitgedacht werden muss“, so der Kulturgeograph Messerli. Die Kreislaufwirtschaft war für unsere Vorfahren überlebensnotwendig, solange sie ihre Standorte nicht verlassen konnten, um neue Ressourcen zu nutzen.

Terrassen optimal genutzt
Aber nicht immer forderten menschliche Eingriffe in die Natur Kurskorrekturen wie im Taleinungsbrief festgehalten. Die Ackerterrassen bei Guarda im Unterengadin werden nachweislich seit 2000 v. Chr. als produktive Flächen genutzt.

Guarda
Guarda, GR
© Schweizer Luftwaffe

„Es sind Beispiele dafür, dass Naturveränderung und langandauernde Nutzung nicht automatische Naturzerstörung bedeuten müssen“, sagt Werner Bätzing, ebenfalls emeritierter Kulturgeographie der Universität Erlangen. Das gelte auch für Weinbauterrassen wie im Wallis, im Aosta-Tal oder im Veltlin. „Die steilen Hänge wurden so gut und dauerhaft stabilisiert und gleichzeitig entstand Lebensraum für spezielle Tiere und Pflanzen“, so Bätzig.

Suonen unter Druck
Doch Bätzing betont, dass die alpinen Kulturlandschaften generell instabil seien und im Verlauf der Nutzung ständig ökologisch stabilisiert werden müssten. Das Gleichgewichtsprinzip hält er für zu statisch. Denn unsere Umweltbedingungen sind veränderlich. Das zeigen die Suonen, jene Wasserleitungen an den Hängen des niederschlagsarmen Rhonetals. Seit mindestens tausend Jahren funktioniert diese Art der Bewässerung von Landwirtschaftsflächen mithilfe von Gebirgs- und Gletscherbächen.

1280px-Bisse_de_Montorge_(4)
Suone im Wallis
© Pelerin CC BY-SA 3.0

Aber wie lange noch? Die globalisierte Wirtschaft macht nicht Halt vor den Wasserressourcen. Weltweite Energieverknappung, Klimawandel und dauerndes Wirtschaftswachstum könnten in Zukunft zu Konflikten um die Nutzung von Wasser führen, so die Prognosen des nationalen Forschungsprojekts NFP61 zum Thema nachhaltige Wasserwirtschaft, das unter Leitung des Hydrologen Christian Leibundgut steht. Ziel der Forschungen ist es, wirtschaftliche, gesellschaftliche und ökologische Überlegungen der Nutzung gleichberechtigt zu integrieren.

Schweizer Wald wandelt sich
Doch das nachhaltige Wirtschaften ist äusserst komplex angesichts der weltweiten Handelsströme. Das lässt sich am Schweizer Wald nachvollziehen. Während Jahrhunderten war er die wichtigste Energiequelle des Landes. Dann drohte im 19. Jahrhundert durch den Holzbedarf der stark wachsenden Bevölkerung der Kollaps. „Erst die Zufuhr von Fremdenergie wie Erdöl oder -gas im grossen Stil entlastete die Wälder und ebnete den Weg zur Nachhaltigkeit“, sagt Martin Stuber, Umwelthistoriker an der Universität Bern. Eine Weichenstellung mit Kehrseite. Sie führte seit den 60er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts zu einer prekären Ertragslage in der Holzproduktion.

„Die Forstwirtschaft reagierte mit verbesserter Erschliessung der Waldwege, mit effizienterer Arbeitsorganisation und mehr technischem Hilfsmitteln“, so der Umwelthistoriker. Rund ein Viertel des Schweizer Waldes ist inzwischen FSC-zertifiziert. Bleibt noch die gesellschaftliche Nutzungskomponente als Freizeitwald: Vor allem im städtischen Umfeld komme es hier nicht selten zu Konflikten mit den ökonomischen Zielen. Auch im Kleinen bleibt grünes Wirtschaften ein grosses Projekt.

Suonen verteilen das knappe Wasser

Das trockene Klima im Wallis zwang vermutlich schon die Urwalliser zur Bewässerung der Landwirtschaftsflächen. Auch römische Einflüsse werden diskutiert. Die Suonen (althochdeutsch „suoha“; Graben) verlaufen entlang der Nord- und Südhänge des Rhonetals, gespeist von Gebirgs- oder Gletscherbächen. Die meisten Suonen erstrecken sich bis zu zwei Kilometer, die längste misst über 30 Kilometer. Entscheidend für die Funktion war ihr Gefälle. Die Kanäle, traditionell aus Holz, führen durch Erdreich, mussten aber auch in Stein gehauen oder aufgemauert werden. Ihren Lauf stabilisieren seitlich aufgestellte Steinplatten. Bau und Unterhalt waren gefährlich. Zahlreiche Suonen sind auch heutzutage noch in Betrieb für die Sprinklerbewässerung. Eine zweite Funktion erhielten sie als Wanderwege.

Kommentare

*
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird mit dem Kommentar veröffentlicht.
*
Wird nicht veröffentlicht.

* Hier gelangen Sie zur Netikette und den redaktionellen Grundsätzen. Ihre Daten werden auf einem Server der Bundesverwaltung für 60 Tage gespeichert, damit wir Ihren Kommentar bearbeiten können.

Letzte Änderung 15.12.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.gruenewirtschaft.admin.ch/content/grwi/de/home/Gruene_Wirtschaft_konkret/Auf-Tuchfuehlung-mit-der-natuerlichen-Umwelt.html